We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,696)
Filter reviews
1,702 results
Traveler rating
1,519
141
23
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,519
141
23
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buena vista villas private beach concierge michael bedroom villa boogie boards jungle house costa rica pura vida select villa tule cafe shuttle service family pool dinner reservations three bedroom beach bar every morning squirrel monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
851 - 856 of 1,702 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2016

Our family had a wonderful stay in CR at BVLV. The villas are situated in the mountain that plunges down to the Pacific Ocean. The views are truly amazing, especially sunrise and sunset. I was travelling with my two daughters on a family trip ad it was a fantastic experience. Beautiful beaches, views with monkeys, sloths and iguanas right at your door.

Also cannot say enough about the staff and our concierge Alex. They were always there for us and made our trip memorable. My daughter was injured in a surfing accident and Alex and the staff could not have been more helpful and kind in making sure she was ok. The beach Manager David was a great guy, so helpful and friendly. Unique location with incredible landscapes and wildlife and an amazing staff. We will be back........

Room Tip: Best views and walking distance the higher up you are........villas down the mountain more privacy and closer to the beach.
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alphad35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2016

Thank you Alphad35 for you review and family stay with us at the Tulemar Resort. Always glad we can augment a family outing. Often when families travel together they look for locations and accommodations that will provide unique, interesting and comfortable experiences; this is what The Tulemar Resort specializes in through our people, location and unique accommodations. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

Really Buena Vista/Tulemar is the same place. We stayed in a small villa with a king bed for 4 nights #205. The service provided was excellent. From Michael our concierge who was very attentive and putting us with the best services for extra activities, to Louis who shuttled us around. Very steep property so you could hike up yourself (we saw more wildlife this way) or if you weren't wanting to, the shuttle was there right away to take you wherever on the property. All of the staff was great at pointing out wildlife to all of the guests. They try very hard to provide personalized friendly service. No need to bring umbrellas. They provide for you. There are many places to charge your electrical devices wherever you are! Even at the beach! Our only disappointment was the restaurant. We gave it two tries, the first try it was in edible (do not order beef in costa rica!) We also tried for breakfast, no bueno. We did get a chicken BLT sandwich once at the beach with fries and that was good, and the drinks and juices at the restaurant were delicious. Otherwise we ventured off property for meals. Never took a taxi. All within walking distance Cafe Milagro (pollo caribe), Falafel, Emilios cafe (awesome views!), cafe agua azul and Barba Roja (our favorite with good live music! - very americanized restaurant owned by an American if you're craving something familiar) were very good. We enjoyed our stay immensely, and can't wait to return again and watch the mischievous monkeys!

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Beachydix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2016

Thank you Beachydix, the Standard rooms are great low cost rooms while staying in the Tulemar Resort. Glad to hear you enjoyed them. Good tip on walking up from the beach it usually affords candid views of the area wildlife, though you will work for it walking up that hill. That's the reason we provide the shuttle service. Thanks for the stay and review. Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016

Our villa was in an amazing location and we found it to be very clean with comfortable beds. We were near the beach and just steps away from a fabulous pool complete with a waterfall. We were delighted with seeing numerous squirrel monkeys, howler monkeys, macaws and sloths each day. The staff was knowledgeable on the approx. location of some of the wildlife and were able to point them out to us. We loved the private beach, kayaking and relaxing with our every need met.
We took our 14 year old granddaughter for her first trip to Costa Rica and she did not want to leave! I'm looking forward to taking our other grandchildren to this amazing resort in the future.
Michael was our private Concierge and he did everything possible to make our stay wonderful. The shuttle van drivers are the nicest men, speak good English and so very helpful with tips to make your stay enjoyable.
There are two grocery markets within walking distance of the resort, both offer a good selection of fresh fruits, veggies, drinks, snacks, basic needs and more. There are a few costly gift shops, but the grocery markets offer some trinkets and t-shirts.

Room Tip: Room #209 has a large veranda with a jungle view, kitchenette, spacious bathroom and located close to the amazing pool.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SpencerIndianaMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2016

Thanks SpencerIndianaMOM for your stay and review! Glad we could provide a special vacation for your extended family. The private beach really makes the difference and the services there make it that much better! We look forward to seeing you again with the rest of the extended family. Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016

We had Villa 305, a wonderful two room Villa with a fantastic view of wildlife and the ocean. Overall was very happy with the service people including our concierge Michael and all of the drivers. We never got a chance to take advantage of the beautiful private beach due to rain during our free time, but we spent plenty of time on the porch. The local restaurant is good quality but it is a bit slow with service but we were not usually in a hurry anyway! There are good local supermarkets, shops, and restaurants all within walking distance. Overall I highly recommend this resort for the Pacific coast, outstanding in every way.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd story if possible for the view!
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2016

Neal, glad you enjoyed the One bedroom select villa. It's perfect for couples looking for a luxurious jungle experience. Our central location is nice for being able to walk out the front gates and have everything close by and at the same time return "home" to your private luxury villa. Thanks again for the stay and review, Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

Just got back from our first trip to CR. We have never stayed at such a luxurious resort before in our lives. The 2 story condo was beautiful, with breathtaking views of the jungle and the ocean from the front deck. Howler monkeys woke us up nice and early everyday and the white faced monkeys were always putting on a show. Many, many sloths on the property, too. The private beach here is paradise! The most incredible part of the resort has to be the service. The people there were so accommodating and friendly. Special shout out to our personal concierge, Gary. Gary helped us out a lot, getting us reservations for different outings and recommending loads of things to do there. He even got us the right medicine when my wife got stung by a scorpion! In short, I highly recommend CR and of course, you must stay at Tulemar. Pura Vida!

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank KevinMcGuinnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2016

Thanks Kevin for your stay with us and your review. Glad you had a great vacation with us at the Tulemar Resort! Gary, is new on our staff but he's making a hit and we're glad to have him. Thanks again and Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews