We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Gorgeous!”
Review of Tulemar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tulemar Resort
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We are a family of four. We spent 8 nights here and it was spectacular. It's a very small place with only about a dozen villas. You get to know most of the other people in the villas when meeting at the main pool & restaurant/bar. The view from the room windows is breathing!!! Not to mention all the wildlife all over the villa grounds! Howlers, Sloths, Spider Monkeys all over! The property landscaping alone would be reason to stay here! You are literally living in the middle of a rain forrest! Manuel Antonio State Park is literally 15 minutes away. The walk to the front entrance is only 5 minutes away where you come to a street full of restaurants and even 2 supermarkets. I probably didn't need more than 5-6 nights there but I wasn't complaining on the last day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is lower down to the ocean. I was in Room 114 which was perfect!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PositivePest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thank you PositivePest for reviewing us and staying with us at Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas the only and official hotel in Tulemar! Little explanation for future guests- the hotel is Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas and we are roughly a little more than 40 units comprised of Standard rooms, One Bedroom Villas, Bungalows and two and three bedroom Premium Villas. We are set in the 33 acres of Tulemar Gardens where there are a number of private homes. Those 33 acres are meticulously maintained which both guests and wildlife appreciate. Beyond that we are perfectly situated in the heart of the hotel zone on the prime road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio making us moments from tours, beaches, stores and restaurants. Thank you again and Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
There are newer reviews for Tulemar Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

807 - 813 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

From the moment of arrival until signing out and heading to the airport, everything was spectacular. Our concierge Danny happily greeted me upon arrival and gave me a tour of the beautiful property. He had Luis the driver handle all my luggage and then walked me thru resort, introducing some staff members.

I must say walking thru this spacious property I couldn't get over the cleanliness and the other wordly views.

Danny took me to my room and informed me he would be escorting the rest of our party's arrival later in the day and that he would be there for us all week 24/7 for any needs. He definitely came through on that promise. He even went so far as to buy a cake for one of our group's 40th birthday dinner. A positive energy and resource throughout the trip.

Danielle and Arlen the bartenders, Luis and Joshua the drivers along with many other staff and reception were out of this world. Danny set up our water rafting and zip line tours which were both awesome as well.

The view from our room 206 Buena Vista suite was amazing. The beach was wonderful, secluded, tropical and just took your breath away


Thanks again for a bucket list trip that exceeded all my expectations and made me want to come back again. Next time I plan on spending some time at Arenal and Fortuna hot springs at Tabacon and more time at Tulemar. Hopefully all the same wonderful staff will be there. Pura Vida!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

ChrisHarte, Thank you for the review and for staying with us at Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas the only and official hotel in Tulemar. We strive to make each guest feel welcome and “on vacation” when you stay with us! Glad to hear you enjoyed Buena Vista del Sol! Thanks again! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife, four-year-old daughter, and myself had the pleasure of recently spending five nights at Tulemar. The place is truly beautiful and the staff are all very helpful and nice. Our concierge Danny went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. Pura vida!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with a bungalow.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoMercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

RoMercy, Thank you! One questions were there 3 or 4 of you?... I answer a lot of these and have to make it fun and interesting for both of us=). Glad you enjoyed and thank you Danny you’re a star. RoMercy thank you for staying at Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas the only and official hotel in Tulemar Gardens. Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Andres was very helpful with giving us ideas on where to eat and how to contact transportation. A little chilly with the air conditioner in the Bungalow. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Loved seeing a sloth in the tree at the entrance. Also loved the beach!

Room Tip: Loved the views in the bungalow.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you Mary F for your great and concise review and for staying with us at Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas the only and official hotel in Tulemar. Not to sound too cheeky but if the AC is making you chilly turn it down a little=). Glad you enjoyed the wildlife and our very private beach! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

If you are looking for exciting things to do, good food to eat and drink, relax,or explore and find animals that you have never seen before then this is the place for you. We not only had a great concierge that helped us achieve everything we wanted,but also was a great guy and friend. Thanks Danny for a great week.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick7166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Pura Vida Nick7166, Thank you for an awesome review and for staying with us at Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas the only and official hotel in Tulemar. You said it all: views, food, unique wild life, exciting adventures and I’ve got to say it… Danny! Thanks again, Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I had an absolute blast last week! Our concierge Danny was so much fun. He had great recommendations for places to eat and for excursions to take. Nothing he recommended disappointed and I thought it was great that he had only recommended places he's actually tried himself. Everything was fantastic from the zip lining tour - I was dead set on choosing the more kid friendly tour due to my fear of heights but we wound up going for the more adrenaline packed tour and I wound up loving it- to all the local restaurants. He made us feel right at home from the moment we got there and he kept us laughing the entire week. Luis was also a blast to be around. He made every ride enjoyable and was there to lend a helping hand. Get him and Danny together and you are in for one hilariously enjoyable trip!

The view from my room was amazing! The private beach was a nice little tucked away place to relax. It was nice to be on a beach and not see buildings lined up along the shore. The trails that led to the beach were a nice change from walking down the roads- so many hills!! Everything was extremely well kept on the property and our room was always spotless when we got back in the afternoon. This is by far the greatest vacationing experience I've had and I am looking forward to coming back next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asweeney0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Wow! Thanks Asweeney0, thanks for an awesome review and for staying with us at Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas the only and official hotel in Tulemar! Yes Danny and Luis are awesome, thank you guys! We try to thoroughly vet any tours we recommend (tough job)! Glad to hear the maid service was quick and efficient it can be difficult when we are so full; they work very hard and have my deep gratitude. We look forward to seeing you again! Pura Vida, Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a great 4 days at Buena Vista! The entire staff was extremely helpful and did a great job. Andrés was our concierge and he really made our trip the best! He went above and beyond to insure that our trip was exceptional. Thank you Andrés for all you help and attentiveness. You were great! We were a family of 5 staying in 2 Bungalows. #112 was the "Grown Ups" unit and was the nicest. The boys (19,17, & 16) stayed in #110 and #116, they had to switch rooms the last day. They were both very nice also, but not quite as updated as 112. The views were fantastic and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The beach was gorgeous. We swam and went kayaking from there. The whole complex is really very nice and the amenities were excellent. I thought the location was good also as there are restaurants and stores within walking distance from the complex. I do wish the main road outside had sidewalks though. That would have made walking a bit easier. I would definitely recommend Tulemar Bungalows!

Room Tip: Room 112 was really beautiful with sunset views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank higgins5163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you Higgins50163 for staying at Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas the only and official hotel within Tulemar. Thank you also to Andres who does such a great job with all our guests! Glad to hear you enjoyed our sea kayaks free for guests to use. Our location is very central which negates the need for a car and that’s a nice thing to leave behind on vacation. Thanks for the review, Pura Vida! Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,477 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Resort

Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Buena Vista Luxury Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $162 - $865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulemar Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tulemar Resort The Premier Resort Hotel in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Rated as the number 1 resort hotel in Central America and Costa Rica and number 9 in the World by Trip Advisor Tulemar Resort is a full service resort set in the peaceful 33-acre gated and secure Tulemar Gardens Condominium. A wide variety of standalone accommodations are available for our guests, including the famed Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, as well as our luxurious 1, 2, and 3 bedroom Buena Vista Luxury Villas. The property itself is spectacular, nestled in a lush rainforest overlooking the beautiful Manuel Antonio coastline. Surrounded by nature, Tulemar Resort features incredible gardens, walking paths, thriving wildlife, and the ONLY exclusive sandy beach in the region. At Tulemar Resort you will enjoy the luxury and privacy of your very own villa, along with the amenities of a high end resort, including concierge service, daily maid service, 4 swimming pools, beach bar, spa services, tour desk, and the best sunset bar and restaurant in town. We invite you to review our website for photos and details, then book one of these magnificent villas or bungalows and experience the most unforgettable vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tulemar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas
Tulemar Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing