We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildcat Friendly”
Review of Tulemar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tulemar Resort
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Wildcat Friendly”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our family of 4 enjoyed every moment during our time at Tulemar. The resort is breathtakingly beautiful, the staff was very warm and helpful, and our bungalow was comfortable and well appointed. We had an amazing time. Extra bonus was when we watched our KY Wildcats make their way to the final 4 in the NCAA basketball tournament from the poolside bar.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
A.S. thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed the game with us! Thanks for your stay with us too and I hope you will come back! Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    122
    19
    13
    4
See reviews for
679
338
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our travel agent selected Buena Vista and I am delighted she did. The five of us arrived late at night after a long trip from London and even then were bowled over by the villa with its spacious and stylish living area upstairs and very comfortable bedrooms down below. When we woke the next morning we appreciated our accommodation even more. The cabins are all well spaced and hence very private and each is built on stilts attached to a steepish hill and has a dramatic view of the ocean beneath. The sunsets were spectacular. The grounds are beautiful and we actually saw as much wildlife as in the National Park (monkeys, sloths etc). There are also some lovely shortish walks around the property and at the bottom there is a beautiful private beach which has body boards and kayaks to use and a nice little restaurant/bar. There are also four separate pools each of which has fantastic views and are beautifully quiet (we had the family pool to ourselves most of the time). The food in the restaurant was very good and the staff very friendly. The menu options were a bit limited but that is inevitable given it is only a small resort and there are loads of other food options nearby if you need variety.

In summary we stayed in 3 places in Costa Rica. We liked all of them but this was easily the best and in fact the most magical place we have ever stayed as a family.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianne5582016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Marianne558, I’m so glad you stayed with us and enjoyed! Thank you for your fantastic review it is most appreciated both by management and the staff. Yes the wildlife on property is extraordinary, yes the beach is perfect yes, the grounds are “stunning”; we work very hard! Glad you liked the restaurant, what a view eh?! Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is our second time staying on the property! Yes, I would go back again. Tulemar has small bungalows or larger rentals with kitchens. If you don't want to eat out for every meal, get a unit with a kitchen. Dining out around Manuel Antonio can be expensive. However, groceries from the local store are also expensive, so take your pick. Tulemar is absolutely beautiful. The beach, the jungle and the pools make for a relaxing stay. Yes, the property is steep, but you can always call to be van to pick you up. We loved seeing the monkeys, sloths and lizards.

The staff at Tulemar is awesome. Orlando, Danny, David and the bar staff are so hospitable! Thank you all for a wonderful stay once again!

We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujuyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Jujuyan, thank you for writing a review; I’m glad the experience you had with us is worth repeating. Most of our units in Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas have kitchen or kitchenette facilities, but not all so ask when you book. Thanks for your stay- Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our family of five (kids ages 16, 14, and 12), spent three nights here in condo #415 and loved it. Pros: view is amazing, saw many monkeys (the different groups of them follow a sort of "path" through the property so ask when you arrive if seeing them is a priority) and a few sloths, our place was roomy and beautiful--loved having a full kitchen, the beach is stunning and so relaxing, Michael (driver) and Orlando (in reception) were terrific, only experienced the family pool (which is right by this condo) but it was wonderful and rarely had many people (bigger than it looks in the pictures), grocery store is close and walkable (but expensive, by the way).
Cons: Yes, it's a very steep property, so we opted for rides to and from the beach and restaurant. We personally did not like the condo design of the toilet being in the "outdoor" part of the bathroom with the shower. Biggest complaint was our "personal concierge" Andres. He made a special trip down to the beach to check on us the night before departure and see about making a dinner reservation as well as confirm 6:30 a.m. pickup time in the morning. We said that we would be eating in our room, but the two things we would need were a 6 p.m. pickup from the beach (it gets dark early in CR) as well as the morning pickup. After handing him a nice tip, he "promised" he would do those two things. Long story short, no car came to the beach (my kids all had respiratory problems on this trip so the walk uphill was rough), and no car came in the morning. When I tried calling him upon our hike back to our room to complain, he was curiously absent. I truly hope that management reads this and sets him straight.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Happymomma, Thank you for writing a review and staying with us. Sounds like you enjoyed your stay but were unhappy with Andres at the end. I looked into this and am glad I can defend him. Turns out he did not forget to tell the van to pick you up at the beach there were van “issues” that evening and the next day we and Andres had confirmed your ride back to SJ, but the transport company was at fault. I’m truly sorry you experienced this; I hope you’ll give us a chance to make it up, Pura Vida- Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I am so grateful to our travel agent (Edina Travel Leaders) for recommending Tulemar / Buena Vista Villas. I told her we didn't want to stay in a typical US-style resort. We wanted something uniquely Costa Rican in a lush, rainforest setting. We wanted a kitchen and room for our family to spread out. And we wanted to stay in a place where we could walk to restaurants and shops. We got all that and so much more!

The setting - Manuel Antonio is a winding 2 1/2 hour drive from San Jose. Very glad we had an experienced driver navigating the roads! As soon as we pulled into our resort I knew without a doubt the drive was worth it. Buena Vista Villas resort is stunning - lush rainforest gardens and amazing ocean views. The villas are built into the hillside, so everyone has great views. Plenty of restaurants and a good grocery store within walking distance. Even more restaurants toward the public Manuel Antonio beach are just a $6 cab ride away.

Our bungalow - We stayed in 119, Casa del las Flores. It literally took my breath away when we walked in and saw the view. The pictures on their website don't do it justice. We liked the location of our villa because it was a quick walk to the main restaurant and an easy hike down to the beach. We always took the shuttle to get back up to our bungalow though! The bungalow has a separate lower level suite that was perfect for our two teens (17 & 13). Note: you can only access this lower suite from the outside - there's no interior staircase.

The monkeys - We saw more monkeys up close from our villa then we did when we toured Manuel Antonio National Park! We had a group of about 8 squirrel monkeys hanging out and playing on our deck one afternoon for at least 15 minutes! Another morning we had a couple capuchins stop by. We also saw a troupe of howler monkeys swinging across the trees by the beach. Saw two sloths in the trees by the beach as well.

The beach - We spent a good chunk of each day playing in the surf. How amazing to share this beautiful beach with just a handful of families all week! We boogie boarded, kayaked, explored the trails, and lounged in the shade. David took great care of us with shade umbrellas, towels, kayaks, etc. He had the day off our last day there, so we didn't get to say goodbye. Thank you David! And thanks to our concierge Brian for setting us up with stand-up paddle board rentals one morning. That was a blast! Nice to have food and drinks right at the beach too. The kids loved the limonada.

We booked the Canopy Safari zipline tour through Buena Vista Villas and just charged it to our room. Very convenient. We absolutely loved the tour (see separate review). They also set up a guide (including transportation) for our visit to Manuel Antonio National Park.

I will definitely recommend this resort to family and friends!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
KLwrites, So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our accommodations at Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas mostly have kitchen or kitchenette facilities, ask when you book. We are centrally located so right outside the property there are a number of restaurants, shops and groceries. I agree with you that ride over is better if someone else does it! The wildlife on property is astounding many often say better than the park. And our beach with the kayaks, boogie boards, towels, umbrellas, food and drink make it a very relaxing and unique place! Thank you for your stay and please come back! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The Hospitality was amazing and we would definitely like to visit again. Our stay was made more delightful with the great hospitality of Andres, Mike, and Orlando. They were one of the reason our trip was rememberable. Plus the location and the quality of the resort is truly remarkable. We would definitely recommend this resort and anyone visiting Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aditya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Aditya, Thank you for the review and for staying with us! Glad you enjoyed the service and the accommodations! We look forward to your return! Pura Vida- Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We've stayed in Buena Vista Luxury Villas several times - but once again for a week in March 2014.

This trip - we took a 2 families - 4 adults and 5 teen-age kids.

We fit very easily into a Villa 414 - a 2 bedroom villa and had tons of room, full kitchen, showers that make you feel outdoors, private hot tub, a wrap-around balcony with a perfect sunset view every single night.

The beach is minutes away by walking through a beautiful nature trail - or a quick car ride if you prefer. You can go to the public beach in about 10 minutes by car too.

The new restaurant has spectacular food - and perfect sunset views there too.

But - the most amazing thing about this location is the wildlife. This isn't some stuffy hotel. It's a luxury treehouse in the middle of the jungle. Plants and animals are everywhere. We found a sloth in the parking lot. We were entertained by monkeys running through the restaurant. Nearly every day - we had monkeys on our own balcony. They came up the windows (when they saw the bananas inside - but we knew better and didn't feed them). One day we saw marmosets there. There were iguanas on the sidewalks, butterflies everywhere, wild parrots flying over head.

On our last day - we asked our friends if they wanted to go to the Manuel Antonio National Park. They asked what we would see there. We told them sloth, monkeys, marmosets, butterflies.... well you get the idea. We saw all of that from the comfort of home!

Room Tip: Villa 414 - great view of sunset every night - monkeys playing on the balcony every day we were ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you Ray! You said it all- I’m grateful to hear we provided an extraordinary experience. The property is its own bastion to the animals in the park and we are fortunate not to have the traffic the park does. The Premium Villas are spacious and perfect for travelers lodging together. Glad you enjoyed Buena Vista del Sol; sunset in the pool with beverages and snacks is Pura Vida! Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the great review! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,428 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Resort

Property: Tulemar Resort
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Buena Vista Luxury Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulemar Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tulemar Resort The Premier Resort Hotel in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Rated as the number 1 resort hotel in Central America and Costa Rica and number 9 in the World by Trip Advisor Tulemar Resort is a full service resort set in the peaceful 33-acre gated and secure Tulemar Gardens Condominium. A wide variety of standalone accommodations are available for our guests, including the famed Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, as well as our luxurious 1, 2, and 3 bedroom Buena Vista Luxury Villas. The property itself is spectacular, nestled in a lush rainforest overlooking the beautiful Manuel Antonio coastline. Surrounded by nature, Tulemar Resort features incredible gardens, walking paths, thriving wildlife, and the ONLY exclusive sandy beach in the region. At Tulemar Resort you will enjoy the luxury and privacy of your very own villa, along with the amenities of a high end resort, including concierge service, daily maid service, 4 swimming pools, beach bar, spa services, tour desk, and the best sunset bar and restaurant in town. We invite you to review our website for photos and details, then book one of these magnificent villas or bungalows and experience the most unforgettable vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Tulemar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas
Tulemar Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing