We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Vacation of a life time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Luxury Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, Michigan
2 reviews
“Vacation of a life time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was my first trip to Costa Rica! Staying At Buena Vista Villa's was absolutely wonderful. Everything was top of the line. The Villa was first class. The view was stunning, The staff was very accomodating. You can not go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank havingfun49058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your review! I couldn’t say it better except to say please come back! Pura Vida, The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    113
    19
    13
    4
See reviews for
508
272
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My family just traveled to CR for the first time and stayed in Buena Vista Villas. It was so gorgeous and first class. The people are so nice and always willing to help. Brian; the concierge was so helpful and always willing to do anything we needed. He even checked on us on his day off! Daniella at the family pool bar was so kind and patient with us and made wonderful drinks for the kids and adults. All the staff was so amazing! We had the most beautiful view and the wildlife was incredible. Monkeys playing on our porch and drinking from hot tub! Sloth hanging right off porch! We loved every minute of the week and would definitely stay there again! We miss it already!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and I’m glad we are achieving our potential in terms of our concierge staff. It’s what we aim for: good views, good service and when we can lots of monkeys. Thanks again and please come back, Pura Vida! The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our room was a 2 BR Premium villa #401 - at the very top of the property. We stayed with our 2 boys in this gorgeously decorated 2 story home with a new granite kitchen, huge terrace with hot tub and unbelievable view (we were told best view here). The sunsets were out of this world!

One amazing thing we didn't know about in advance was that it has it's own washer dryer! We were so excited to have this - after 4 very wet adventure days at Arenal. Was great to have clean dry clothes again!

Eduardo (a buena vista staffer) was there to help us every step of the way with great restaurant recommendations, reservations, answering all our questions, etc! The hotel is on a very steep hill - so you need a lift to the pool and beach. The staff is there within minutes to give you a lift within the hotels grounds.

The private beach at the hotel is beautiful (although i would not recommend the restaurant down there). They have boogie boards and kayaks free for use.

The location of the hotel is great - you can walk to many of the best restaurants in town.

Truly a memorable stay - especially after the monkeys finally showed up!

Room Tip: Our villa #401 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyNYer246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for the nice review and I’m glad the monkeys did their job and visited! The washer and dryer are features of the Premium Villas and a wonderful thing to have considering how easy it is to get dirty in Costa Rica. Thank you Eduardo for your quality work and thank you PickyNYer246 for your review. Pura Vida, The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

First; I want to say the property could not have been any nicer. EVERYTHING is top shelf, the actual Villa itself, the view, the location in proximity to activities available.

The staff could not be any more accomodating. Every member was curteous as if they were a partner in the ownership and wanted you to enjoy every second of your stay. The frequently called drivers were Johnny-on-the-spot. The servers at the bar never bothered you to sell you a drink, but all I had to do is get their attention and one was there in an instant - every time. I'm not sure who was the concierge if there was one, because they all were! Never was I directed to see someone else with a question or for a recomedation..

The property is on the side of a cliff or mountain that ends at a beautiful sandy beach, so yes if you could find yourself walking up a steep incline. But if you do, it's because that's what you want to do. They swiftly will pick you up downhill from your villa, and drive you up... When you are coming up from say the beach, they drive you to a spot above your villa and you walk down to your unit.

Beautiful place with a great staff and a lot of activities that just plain require a WELL DONE

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for the great review! So glad to provide a “well done” vacation experience! I can’t recommend enough the walk up from the beach, but understand it’s not for all=). Thanks for staying with us! Pura Vida, The Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We just returned from a 9 day family vacation which was pure perfection thanks to the Buena Vista Luxury Villas! The location, staff, service, scenery, wildlife, private beach and beautful villa all surpassed our high expectations. The staff were all so friendly and provided such impeccable service that we felt like celebrities. The views are stunning, the villa was lovely and comfortable with all the amenities we could ask for. Victoria's resteraunt delivered delicious food when we didn't feel like dining out. We loved the many options for shopping and dining within walking distance or taking a short cab ride into Quepos. The monkeys were so fun to watch and it was great to be at tree level to enjoy them. I sat on the large veranda every morning taking in the stunning views! We couldn't have asked for more and we are so thankful to the Buena Vista for giving us memories to last a lifetime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Wow! From my perspective I sound like a broken record, but that’s good. Glad to be able to create good, and good memories too! Thanks for staying with us, Pura Vida! The Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a perfect vacation spot...for families or couples alike. The grounds are gorgeous and well maintained. The beach is clean and the sand seems endless. The nearby restaurants serve amazing food and deliver right to the villas. Quepos is a lovely town where the locals are very friendly and eager to share their culture. I could honestly go on and on.... But, the thing that really made the trip was the service on the resort. From the front des, the drivers, the bartenders, the beach boys, and last but no least the concierge. Our concierges name was Bryan. He was spot on! We were able to enjoy our vacation....while he took care of the planning, rides, groceries, etc etc. He knew about local activities, and went as far to meet us in Quepos to show us the in and outs of the yearly festival that happened to be taking place during our stay. (When we first arrived he gave us his cell phone number and said to call if we needed anything 24/7.... We thought he did this to only be polite...but when HE called us ON HIS DAY OFF to see if we needed anything we knew he was THE REAL DEAL. THANKS BRYAN and thanks Buena Vista Luxury Villas! PURA VIDA

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesounds101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for the great review so glad to hear that our concierge staff is blossoming into the guest service amenity that future guests can enjoy! Thanks for spending your vacation with us, Pura Vida! The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford NH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great location, staff, accommodations, shuttle service, scenery, wildlife, private beach. Grocery and restaurants close by. Manuel Antonio Park and beach close by.

Downside is the steep hills - it was difficult to walk any lengthy distance but felt like I got a decent bit of exercise in with all the walking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sls970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Buena Vista Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for the review and glad to hear you appreciated the exercise (good for the heart)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Luxury Villas

Property: Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buena Vista Luxury Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Vista Villas is a small, luxury boutique resort located inside Tulemar, a 33-acre gated resort community. Nestled in the jungle with stunning views, our villas offer luxury and privacy with all the amenities of a high-end beach resort: concierge and daily maid service, three pools and our private sandy beach. Breakfast is available daily at the pool with lunch, snacks and drinks at the beach in the afternoon, among monkeys and sloths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Buena Vista Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing