We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$239
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$216
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Makanda by the Sea(Manuel Antonio)
$285
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$331
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$352
$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,624)
Filter reviews
1,624 results
Traveler rating
1,446
137
22
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,446
137
22
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuena vista villasprivate beachconcierge michaelbedroom villaboogie boardsjungle housecosta ricapura vidaselect villatule cafeshuttle servicefamily pooldinner reservationsthree bedroombeach barevery morningsquirrel monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
1,322 - 1,327 of 1,624 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in a 3 room villa and it was just beautiful! Our view of the ocean was great. The maids even did our dishes and laundry which we weren't expecting. There were monkey on the beach and the food at the beach bar was good. I feel like when I am on vacation I want to stay some place at least a little nicer than my home and this was perfect! I even get some decorating ideas! The swimming pools on site were great too! Make sure to use your map to find them all!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for the great review glad you enjoyed your stay and yes our maids are the best! Isn’t it great to go out to have fun and come home and even the dishes are done?! Good observation to explore for all the swimming pools too! Pura Vida, The Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Buena Vista Luxury Villas during our anniversary trip to Costa Rica. It was our first time to Manuel Antonio.

Upon our arrival we were informed that they'd upgraded us to a lovely villa (#305) with a kitchen and living room area. The front desk/concierge staff was very accommodating on the few occasions that we dealt with them.

The villas are perched on the side of a steep hill. There is shuttle serviced offered to/from any point within the resort for those who don't wish to climb up and down the hills, but note that you will have to do a bit of steep uphill (or downhill) walking to get to the shuttle meeting point from your villa. Having said that, however, my husband and I had absolutely no issues walking to the main road for breakfast, lunch and dinner each day. We also walked down the nature trail to the beach each day. It's a bit of a workout, but really not that big of a deal if you just take your time. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, so it makes for a pleasant stroll.

The villa itself was a bit dated (it looked as though the last major renovation may have been done 10+ years ago). However, it was clean and everything in the room was well maintained and functional. The balcony had a panoramic view of the ocean and jungle, as did the bedroom.

We noticed quite a few creepy crawlies throughout our stay, which I fully understand is part of the territory in a tropical, jungle area. However, it is something to be prepared to see. In our villa we had a constant stream of little lizards on the ceiling, spiders scurrying across the floor, and cockroaches popping up in random places (one day I turned on the wall-mounted air conditioning unit and 2 large roaches came tumbling out). I don't know that the resort could really do much to prevent this given the setting, so I merely mention it as an FYI.

During our stay there was only one restaurant and bar open for service and that was at the beach. This was the resort's weak spot. We ate lunch there upon our arrival. 4 of the 10 items on the menu were not available. What we did order was of average quality and a bit under seasoned. The portions were huge and the prices were surprisingly steep. For two Imperials and two lunch entrees our tab was approximately $50 USD. Service was extremely slow and we waited approximately 30 minutes for our check after requesting it. The staff members spent a lot of time chatting with one another. One inconvenience was that the food tab had to be paid separately from the bar tab. Considering this whole beachside restaurant concept consists of 6 tables and a tiki-hut bar, this seemed really odd.

The next two days we spent a bit more time on the lovely beach, which is picturesque and extremely secluded. At any given time there were 4 or 5 other guests on the beach with us. The first day we used their complimentary kayaks to explore the nearby beaches. The water was so warm it felt like bathwater. After our little adventure we picked out two lounge chairs down the hill from the bar and hung out for an hour or so. My husband walked up the hill to order drinks (they don't take your order from the beach, which is a bit of a bummer.) After about 20 minutes of waiting we looked up the hill to see what the hold-up was. I saw the bartender casually leaning against the bar having a conversation with the other staff members. It was only 10 minutes later that I finally heard the whir of the blender, and a gentleman brought our drinks down to us. The following day our drinks came faster, in maybe 10 or 15 minutes.

Overall we would still recommend this resort to others, with the caveat that you avoid the beach restaurant. The rest of the staff was very friendly and accommodating and the panoramic views are hard to beat. The proximity to Manuel Antonio Park was terrific (maybe a 5 minute drive down the road), and there were dozens of great little restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RunaroundSueLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for writing a review of our resort. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the extraordinary grounds and made use of the nature trails. I encourage future guests to take the tour of the nature trails too! The Select Villas are all less than but close to 10 years old and we update them as our individual owners prefer. All visitors to Costa Rica should be prepared to see “wildlife” of every species and phylum. As to the food vending situation; our beach restaurant is undergoing updating and admittedly in the off season especially the ultralow season of September, October and half of November things can move slower than usual. We are improving this and will work to make sure future guest are better served. There is food service at the adult pool year round also, I add this comment as a correction that there are two food vending service on property currently and of course Victoria’s our partner restaurant across the street from us. Again thank you for taking the time to review us and to future guests we are working to improve the service at the beach and for guests in the slow season you will experience less people and a slower atmosphere than guest who stay with us in the high season. That is simply the nature of Costa Rica itself. Pura Vida! The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our concierge Andres was absolutely wonderful!! He was so nice a knowledgable about everything and anytime we wanted anything we just called him and he made arangements for us. The property is beautiful and there are trees everywhere and the private beach was also very wonderful saphire blue water backing up to jungle. There are free kayaks and boogie boards and the water is so warm. A friend from college and I stayed in a Bungalow and it was clean, quaint, and rustic. The floor to ceiling windows around the entire bungalow were awesome. The one complaint I had was the very thin somewhat scratchy lone bed sheet that was the only thing separating me from the matress. Also, the breakfast we had at the beach was the worst we had in Costa Rica. But, Cafe Milagro (right across the street) had one of the best breakfasts so if you can I would suggest eating breakfafst there. Lunch at the beach was good. Again the beach here is so warm and the people were very friendly. Andres was a huge help as well as the rest of the staff. We were given a house to change in after a day at the beach because check out was at 11 and our flight wasn't until two and the house they gave us to change in was spectacular!! For 800 a night we couldn't quite afford this option but it was cool to see nonetheless. AC in the bungalow was really good. Good enough to dry out our suitcases enitrely which did not happen anywhere else we went in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Livelif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the comments on breakfast; we are working to make both our breakfast and lunch service at the beach equal to the area they are presented in- FYI for future guests the Bungalows are a cost effective opportunity for guests to stay within the spectacular Tulemar Gardens and the main difference between Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas is age and the fact that Tulemar Bungalows have no outside space. BVLV are younger and all have outside space of some kind. Thanks for staying with us and come back soon! Pura Vida, The Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at Tulemar in August of 2012 . Our three story home had three bedrooms and three and a half baths. The home was very nicely furnished and impeccably clean. As soon as you enter, you are captivated by the most amazing views of the ocean and lush vegetation. There are other houses nearby, but it feels very private. Every bedroom has a beautiful view as well. Our house had a hot tub on the deck which was wonderful at the end of a day at the beach. The beach is within walking distance but we took the van because our four boys complained it was too far. The van was always there within 5 minutes of calling. The beach is private, beautiful and convenient. The attendants make sure you have chairs, towels, umbrellas, sand toys, kayaks, etc. You can also get drinks and food so it is the perfect beach. Our kids never wanted to leave. But when we were ready, the van was there to drive us back.
This place also has amazing service. My son got a rash one night and we called the office and they brought us hydrocortisone cream immediately. They were always helpful with setting up tours and guides as well.
Overall, we had an amazing time and loved our villa. The views, the private beach, the service and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chumba888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! Always nice to see guests taking full advantage of all the perks of our property that make us so unique to other possibilities in the area. Yes our beach “is the perfect beach”. Glad to do what we can when guest have medical issues too. Thanks for staying with us and come back soon! Pura Vida, The Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place was amazing! There were 8 of us...all grown women...we had plenty of space therefore no attitude!! Our villa was 3 stories of luxury. the accommodating Living area, had a great kitchen, beautiful patio w/sitting area, outdoor dining table and a jacuzzi. The bathrooms were open (screened in) to the rainforests! Monkeys, birds,and the Pacific were included in our view daily. Your personal concierge is an amazing feature. we did not worry about anything. Andreas was awesome!! The only issue, was at night, the Air Conditioning was not as cool as it was in the day. it was on it's own timer...not ours. we were too warm at night. Great location close to Manuel Antonio and shopping. Overall, I would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! Thank you Andres for exceeding their expectations! Next time let us know if the AC is giving you trouble we can usually get in there while guests are out enjoying MA. Thanks for staying with us and come back soon! Pura Vida, The Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews