We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful scenery/cool experience”
Review of Tulemar Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tulemar Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery/cool experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our concierge Andres was absolutely wonderful!! He was so nice a knowledgable about everything and anytime we wanted anything we just called him and he made arangements for us. The property is beautiful and there are trees everywhere and the private beach was also very wonderful saphire blue water backing up to jungle. There are free kayaks and boogie boards and the water is so warm. A friend from college and I stayed in a Bungalow and it was clean, quaint, and rustic. The floor to ceiling windows around the entire bungalow were awesome. The one complaint I had was the very thin somewhat scratchy lone bed sheet that was the only thing separating me from the matress. Also, the breakfast we had at the beach was the worst we had in Costa Rica. But, Cafe Milagro (right across the street) had one of the best breakfasts so if you can I would suggest eating breakfafst there. Lunch at the beach was good. Again the beach here is so warm and the people were very friendly. Andres was a huge help as well as the rest of the staff. We were given a house to change in after a day at the beach because check out was at 11 and our flight wasn't until two and the house they gave us to change in was spectacular!! For 800 a night we couldn't quite afford this option but it was cool to see nonetheless. AC in the bungalow was really good. Good enough to dry out our suitcases enitrely which did not happen anywhere else we went in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Livelif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the comments on breakfast; we are working to make both our breakfast and lunch service at the beach equal to the area they are presented in- FYI for future guests the Bungalows are a cost effective opportunity for guests to stay within the spectacular Tulemar Gardens and the main difference between Tulemar Bungalows and Buena Vista Luxury Villas is age and the fact that Tulemar Bungalows have no outside space. BVLV are younger and all have outside space of some kind. Thanks for staying with us and come back soon! Pura Vida, The Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    120
    19
    13
    4
See reviews for
650
335
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at Tulemar in August of 2012 . Our three story home had three bedrooms and three and a half baths. The home was very nicely furnished and impeccably clean. As soon as you enter, you are captivated by the most amazing views of the ocean and lush vegetation. There are other houses nearby, but it feels very private. Every bedroom has a beautiful view as well. Our house had a hot tub on the deck which was wonderful at the end of a day at the beach. The beach is within walking distance but we took the van because our four boys complained it was too far. The van was always there within 5 minutes of calling. The beach is private, beautiful and convenient. The attendants make sure you have chairs, towels, umbrellas, sand toys, kayaks, etc. You can also get drinks and food so it is the perfect beach. Our kids never wanted to leave. But when we were ready, the van was there to drive us back.
This place also has amazing service. My son got a rash one night and we called the office and they brought us hydrocortisone cream immediately. They were always helpful with setting up tours and guides as well.
Overall, we had an amazing time and loved our villa. The views, the private beach, the service and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chumba888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! Always nice to see guests taking full advantage of all the perks of our property that make us so unique to other possibilities in the area. Yes our beach “is the perfect beach”. Glad to do what we can when guest have medical issues too. Thanks for staying with us and come back soon! Pura Vida, The Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place was amazing! There were 8 of us...all grown women...we had plenty of space therefore no attitude!! Our villa was 3 stories of luxury. the accommodating Living area, had a great kitchen, beautiful patio w/sitting area, outdoor dining table and a jacuzzi. The bathrooms were open (screened in) to the rainforests! Monkeys, birds,and the Pacific were included in our view daily. Your personal concierge is an amazing feature. we did not worry about anything. Andreas was awesome!! The only issue, was at night, the Air Conditioning was not as cool as it was in the day. it was on it's own timer...not ours. we were too warm at night. Great location close to Manuel Antonio and shopping. Overall, I would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! Thank you Andres for exceeding their expectations! Next time let us know if the AC is giving you trouble we can usually get in there while guests are out enjoying MA. Thanks for staying with us and come back soon! Pura Vida, The Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

What a great vacation experience! We stayed in one of the Tulemar Bungalows. We had awesome Pacific views and peaceful jungle views from our bedroom and living area. Our Concierge was Brian, and when he wasn't available Andres. They both took great care of us! On our last night there as we were packing my daughter realized that she had rolled up a swimsuit in a towel and left if on the floor, obviously it was now in the laundry! Andres called the laundry they found the suit and he hand delivered it at 9:00pm for us! David the beach attendant was always there to help the kids with boogie boards or kayaks. The beach is so much nicer than the website shows! The beach was never crowded and the water was perfect! Everyone on the property was so friendly and helpful even the gardners! From the monkeys playing in the trees and on the bungalow roofs, to the fabulous flowers, geckos, lizards, iguanas, beautiful swimming pools and rides whenever you want around the property...this was just perfect!

Thank you everyone at Tulemar for making this a trip we will always remember!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for you for taking the time to write such nice review. Glad we could participate in your “great vacation experience”! I’ll pass the kudos on to Brian and Andres. David may have one of the best jobs in the world and thus is very nice and helpful. Thank you for the complement on the beach, yes pictures can only do so much. Thanks for staying with us and please come back. Pura Vida! The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The villas are what appear to be owner time shares and owner units for rent. The property is very lush with wildlife everywhere (last day had about a dozen monkeys on our balcony, roof etc and a resident sloth just off our balcony every day). They did cleanup service everyday. The property is VERY steep and you need to rely on the shuttle to take you to/from the private beach or to the front so you can walk to nearby restaurants,etc. Even climbing up to our 2nd floor villa was a very steep upward (maybe 50+ ft true vertical) walk up - this may be very difficult for young children, unfit, or elderly to say the least. Rooms are comfortable but a little dated, the main thing we did not like was the entry door was flimsy with half the door a glass panel that could almost be bumped open or glass broke for quick access - more secure entrance doors should be installed

The private beach is very nice and complimentary beach towels, kayacks, boogie boards etc. The bar service was poor and food/drinks very expensive.

Although the website shows an inhouse restaurant, this is closed as the restaurant moved out of the property across the street. For dinner consider nearby Agua Azul (turn right out of entrance) for a laid back atmosphere with an ocean view but great food, or Mar Luna (turn left) for fantastic generous seafood but a bit more pricier. Other travellers raved about Avion (has an actual old airplane on site). If you go left from front for say 100 yards there is a supermarket on other side of the street.

You can take the bus to the park for only .50 cents or 250 colones - it is clean and very efficient and the bus stop is right across from Cafe Milagro - a VERY highly recommend spot for a great breakfast! If you take a cab for the 1+ mile for a family of 4 this would be about $16 dollars round trip. Would not recommend walking to park as parts are very steep. Bus runs from Quepos to the park every 15-20 minutes roudtrip. Can also take to area restaurants- runs till 10:00 pm.

As for the park, the beaches are AMAZING!!! The hike in is not far, and many quite frankly go just for the beaches, not to observe wildlife. At the entrance, many sell their services for $20 per person as guides ($80 for family of 4). Almost all who did regretted it. The hike is not far, if you get there early its like the Oklahoma land rush with the mob of people entering all at once, and most of the wildlife you see happens when the crowds disperse or head to the beach. Would recommend you pack for beach as overall trails not arduous.

Overall, if your fit a good family place in a beautiful setting. Balconies are really nice and well furnished to hang out.

Room Tip: There are a smattering of private homes built within the property that can be 3 stories tall - this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgurutx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your interesting and creatively thought out report on our business and property. From my perspective I need to do some… polishing and sandblasting in some places. Yes our property is very steep this is common knowledge and thus the reason we put the van service in, but you (future guest) will still need to navigate some steep climbs with our without the van. The room doors are built for jungle living and people from the US could find them unfamiliar or in this case flimsy. If fearful of theft please use the safes which are bolted down in the rooms. Glad you enjoyed the beach sorry you didn’t like the beach food and drink. Drinkwise we don’t typically get complaints, foodwise we are working to improve are staff and pricewise we are on average with the entire area.
Our website says nothing about an on-site restaurant it did maybe 4 years ago. We are quite clear both online and verbally that our partner restaurant is directly across the street and they do room service. There are many restaurants walkable from just outside our front gate.
Lastly I should mention that hiring a guide is quite useful since the guides have telescopes and an uncanny ability to find the animals in the forest canopy. For you this will provide up close views and great pictures! The beaches in the park are very nice!
Thanks for staying with us, Pura Vida- The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panama city, panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and in-laws several weeks ago, so we wanted something big enough to feel like we had some elbow room. Our villa was near the family-friendly pool and had the bedrooms downstairs and living area upstairs. I don't think I've ever seen such a nicely appointed kitchen in a villa. For just 4 guests, there was enough space, hangout areas and quiet nooks for us to all really feel like were were in a much larger home. The bathrooms with indoor/outdoor showers are very unique and the entire villas was very nicely decorated. The jacuzzi on the deck overlooking the rainforest was used frequently. We could stare at those views of the ocean, jungle and national park all.day.long. The beach area is OK but the real benefit is the privacy. It's a quiet little cove with gentle waves. The service is very good and staff were all very attentive. Breakfast was tasty and not overpriced. The shuttle service inside the complex gets you up and down the hill and there are plenty of nearby restaurants. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VillaBuenaOnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed all the unique architectural aspects of the villa and yes the kitchen and the Jacuzzi make for both a fantastic and unique stay. I’m guessing that the beach was only “ok” in your book since it is not a brilliant white; this is because the area, most of Costa Rica is a result for volcanic activity thus our sand is to the tanner side! Thanks for enjoying our resort, Pura Vida, The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was our second stop in Costa Rica, right in the middle of our stay. We were pleasantly greeted by the staff and led to our villa for a brief introduction to the resort. Upon seeing the kids in our group, the staff immediately installed a safety screen around the main veranda so our kids couldn't slip through the railing. That was a great extra. Our villa was amazing!! Our group consisted of 3 families (10 people total) and we never ran out of space. It was very clean and the air conditioning worked well. My only complaint was that if we didn't have the air conditioning running high enough there was a damp smell that permeated through the villa. I don't know if that is normal in a humid climate or not but there was a leak in the basement stairwell that was fixed as soon as we told the staff. Maybe that was the cause. At any rate it wasn't enough to affect my stay. The beach was beautiful and there were plenty of boogie boards and towels to go around. They even had shovels and pails for our young ones. The sand was silky smooth. The pools were amazing too! We didn't have a car so the shuttle service was a must. We called 10 minutes before we needed to leave and the shuttle was at the front desk when we got there. The place is so hilly it's hard to get anywhere except the pool without it. However, the hills provided the AMAZING view we had. We didn't feel trapped not having a car because there was a grocery store within a 5 minute walk and plenty of restaurants close by. We walked, with kids, about 1/2 mile away to eat and came back in the dark without feeling unsafe. We did keep our eyes open though!
Just a little note, the food/drinks supplied by the resort are not free. So don't take them unless you know how much you are paying for them!
Oh, I also loved watching the monkeys swinging in the trees while taking a shower! The laundry was a definite plus too.
I would not hesitate to stay here again. It was a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa with a view. Some are better than others. We had a travel agent so I'm sure they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTraveler690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at Tulemar Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. You are quite right the 2 and 3 bedroom villas easily accommodate large groups! As far as the in-door humidity goes in the 3 bedrooms if we get a bout of extreme humidity the 3rd level can get musty, but a shot of the dehumidifier usually takes care of that as it seemed to with your visit. Good tip to noncar people, a car in MA is definitely not necessary between taxis and the onsite shuttle you’ll be fine. I’m not sure I understand the “food/drink supplied by the resort” comment. We do not supply any food or drinks; I’m thinking this guest could be referring to the mini bar which is replenished everyday if need be. Plus there are plenty of food/drink concessions around the property and nearby too. Thanks for staying with us! Pura Vida, The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,511 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
511 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
995 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulemar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulemar Resort

Property: Tulemar Resort
Address: Tulemar Gardens, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Buena Vista Luxury Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulemar Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tulemar Resort The Premier Resort Hotel in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica Rated as the number 1 resort hotel in Central America and Costa Rica and number 9 in the World by Trip Advisor Tulemar Resort is a full service resort set in the peaceful 33-acre gated and secure Tulemar Gardens Condominium. A wide variety of standalone accommodations are available for our guests, including the famed Tulemar Bungalows & Villas, as well as our luxurious 1, 2, and 3 bedroom Buena Vista Luxury Villas. The property itself is spectacular, nestled in a lush rainforest overlooking the beautiful Manuel Antonio coastline. Surrounded by nature, Tulemar Resort features incredible gardens, walking paths, thriving wildlife, and the ONLY exclusive sandy beach in the region. At Tulemar Resort you will enjoy the luxury and privacy of your very own villa, along with the amenities of a high end resort, including concierge service, daily maid service, 4 swimming pools, beach bar, spa services, tour desk, and the best sunset bar and restaurant in town. We invite you to review our website for photos and details, then book one of these magnificent villas or bungalows and experience the most unforgettable vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Tulemar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Luxury Villas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Buena Vista Hotel And Casas
Tulemar Resort Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing