We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We read review after review. Spent hours looking at all the different beach options. Waffled back and forth for days. Booked Gaia and never looked back! This little hotel absolutely lives up to the reviews, and every expectation we had. I cannot say enough nice things about the grounds, the rooms, and the staff. If you want to know what it feels like to be waited on hand and foot, to have an attentive concierge at your service, and to gaze over an infinity pool into the rainforest of Costa Rica, then this is the place for you. The rooms are very clean and the deluxe Jungle Suite had just enough room for us to feel luxurious and spread out without the hefty price tag. They clean your room twice a day and provide a turn down service. Within one day at this hotel most of the staff knew us by name. The drinks are absolutely delicious and there was not one meal we had that we did not enjoy. Our favorite drinks were the Pura Vida, and the caipirinha. The mushroom risotto and stuffed chicken are the meals we talk about now that we are back at home. La Luna (the restaurant on site) has an amazing view with beautiful sunsets each evening. The waitstaff at the restaurant replies to everything with "mucho gusto" and you FEEL like they truly ENJOY their job and giving you a wonderful experience. The beach is a 10-15 minute drive, which worried me when booking, but they will provide a shuttle there and back without batting an eye. Honestly, after seeing the beach hotels in Manuel Antonio I was glad we didn't book directly on the beach. It was much more crowded and noisier.....Gaia affords you the possibility to feel immerse you in the rainforest experience but still be very close to town. Beautiful place, beautiful experience!

Room Tip: Regular suite might be a bit small, the deluxe sweet was a great size for two people wanting a splur...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BeckieF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Thanking our recent guests for posting such a wonderful review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

Your comments mean a lot to us and our staff as well as the owners recognize that you took your personal time to share with others on this TripAdvisor forum.

Hoping to see you again so we can spoil you once again in the paradise called Gaia........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,581)
There are newer reviews for Gaia Hotel & Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel gets a million thumbs up! Our concierge, Alex, was amazing and very helpful for all we were looking for in the hotel and excursions we were interested in. The food was amazing, all staff were very friendly and inviting; attentive would be an understatement. The room and private roof top were incredible, however there doesn't appear to be a bad room in the entire hotel. The spa was very quant and my therapist, Milton was the best. I highly recommend that you request him for spa treatments; one of the BEST massages I have ever had and I have had hundreds in various spas around the world!

This is a very romantic, private paradise nestled into the rain forest with incredible views to the ocean! The pools are over the top and the vanishing edge overlooking the views was remarkable. We will absolutely revisit the Gaia and would recommend it highly to anyone who is looking to stay in Manuel Antonio.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to get a private roof top; it is well worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

On behalf of the entire staff, we can't wait for your return visit.

We are so pleased that your entire experience was beyond your expectations and our staff succeeded in spoiling you during your stay.

Our staff are our best kept secret and we can not create the magic that Gaia is all about without them.

Thank you so much for all your comments and taking the time to share your experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

From the moment we were picked up at the airport we were treated like family. I cannot say enough about how wonderful the staff treated my wife and me, and the hotel is beautiful. It is also convenient to get to the most popular park in Costa Rica as well as to the beach with the free shuttle service. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a wonderful get away to a beautiful country.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zach R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

The entire staff is certainly humbled by your excellent review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are thrilled you choose us and we got the chance to spoil you with surprises and a degree of luxury that is truly exceptional.

I hope to see you once again on our property and give us a chance once more to share the magic that we have created here.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was amazing...from the moment we walked in and they handed us a welcome drink to the moment we checked out.
The only regret we have in choosing this hotel is that we didn't stay longer...
Complimentary breakfast is a huge bonus as we...also, the free shuttle down to the beach every day was great.
The beds are very comfortable, I honestly wished I could have slept in them longer! We got a massage at the spa that was also wonderful. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillary78d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Gaia Hotel & Resort.

We certainly miss you already and we look forward to you returning to us one day soon.

Our object is to spoil our guests and we indeed succeeded with you both.

Thank you for taking your personal time to rate us on this TripAdvisor forum and sharing with other readers your wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is the first review I've ever written about anything but my wife and I just arrived back from our 4 night stay at the Gaia Hotel and we both agree this is an awesome hotel. We arranged for the hotel to pick us up at Quepos Airport and they were right on time. That was the first in the timely and attentive service. Our room was clean modern and beautiful and our view consisted of the water and the rain forest. Prior to arriving, I had several conversations with the staff to set up our tours. All the tours that the hotel recommends were wonderful. We did the national forest tour, white water rafting and horseback riding. All tour vans arrived on time, the staff made sure we were on time in a friendly way and the experiences were better than the actual description of the tours. To start the day, we did the complimentary breakfast that consisted of fresh fruit, breads, juice and then we got to pick our entree. My wife did the "typical Costa Rica" breakfast which consisted of eggs, black, beans, rice wrapped in a banana peel and I had the Americano breakfast which was the bacon, eggs and toast. It was a great way to start the day. We usually ended our day back at the restaurant with dinner or the very reasonably priced happy hour which was enough food to actually be dinner. The really hard part to explain in a review is the atmosphere but we felt like everyone on staff wanted us to have a great time. When we got back from a full day of sight seeing, it felt like we were coming home. All the way up to the end of our trip, where the hotel shuttle took us back to the airport. I've read the negative reviews and they are a joke. If you don't want the staff to be attentive, don't stay at an upscale 5-star hotel. Also, don't bring your kids to an adults only hotel. We picked the Gaia because we were celebrating my wife's big birthday and left the kids at Grandmas. I surprised my wife with the trip and the Gaia helped make me a hero. We will be back. It's a beautiful hotel and country. Thanks to Alex, Jesus, Joshua, Aldo and Anthony. Just a few who made our trip special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thanking our recent guests for choosing us and thank you for recognizing our wonderful staff that made your stay with us so very special.

We create magic every day at Gaia and we are thrilled to have done so for you and your wife for your very special occasion.

Thank you for telling your story on this TripAdvisor forum and we look forward to seeing you once again on our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We selected this hotel due to TripAdvisor reviews. I cannot compare to other lodging in Costa Rica, since I had never been to CR before. I also am rating in comparison to other resorts at a similar price point. We estimated that our stay here cost about 20% less than a stay with an equivalent room at a good resort in Hawaii. It also costs half of what the Lizard Island resort in Australia costs - and the Lizard Island resort got 5 stars from us. (So, this is a cost-adjusted 5-star rating.)

We had a Deluxe Suite, which is very large. It was on the 2nd floor of the building, and had access to the roof deck. The room had a living room area, with separated bedroom and large bathroom. The living area had a couch, 2 chairs, coffee table, and square dining table, plus a small balcony with two lounge chairs. The room was very large - we had more than enough space. The bathroom also was quite large.

There was a ton of drawers in the closet space, and a shoe rack, and an area to hang clothes. The only problem was the automatic lights weren't triggering by the door sensors so we had to manually turn them off. We just left them off because there was still ample room to see our things.

The bed was comfortable but I wasn't thrilled with the pillows.

The bathroom had a double-size whirlpool tub with a shower-type enclosure and shower head (along with tub faucet). There were two sinks and enough counter space. A big plus was there were a lot of towel racks. These were great for hanging towels and also all our wet swimsuits and clothes!

The living area couches were not the most comfortable we've sat on, but we did enjoy hanging out there. The lounge chairs, which were repeated on the roof deck, were fabulously comfortable. The chairs had little slide-out side tables for your drink or a snack. The deck chairs were surrounded by a curtain to provide privacy from the other buildings while retaining a fabulous view of the ocean.

The resort is located on a hill. You have a view of the ocean but you are not going to walk to the beach from here. The roads in this area are well-paved but have almost no shoulder so walking is not facilitated at all. The grounds are lovely - the resort is only a few buildings but they have about 18 acres of land. Nearly all the land is completely undeveloped with some trails. The trails have a map and are absolutely worth a hike. Wear mosquito repellant! You can do a guided hike in the morning about 3 days a week. The resort also is doing a Macaw restoration project, and there is a cage with a few of them. About 3 free macaws were loitering outside the cage. While we were there they released a mated pair into the wild and had a party for it. We saw a few of them flying around as well.

The lodge building has a reception area, which is currently sharing space with the business center and gift shop things. I think they are remodeling the reception on the first floor. The restaurant is in the lodge building - you get breakfast and dinner here. The breakfast, included with the room, was excellent. There was always fresh fruit and breads for you to get, plus the menu items. We had nearly all of them and were happy with the selections and preparation. The coffee was good and the fruit juices were great.

We were lazy and ate dinner there every night. Everything we tried was very good. The cocktails also were quite good - we tried a bunch of them and liked all!

The swimming pool is really interesting. There are basically two infinity pools cascading down the hillside with waterfalls connecting them. The pool bar is between and there is a nice little seating area there. There are multiple small decks around the pool. What's neat about the design is that you can often find one of the small decks empty and thus get some serious privacy. One afternoon the group around the pool was quite sociable, but other afternoons everybody did their own thing. We had lunch at the pool one day and it was quite good, and another day we order appetizers, which were excellent (chicken satay and ahi). The mojitos were great, and service attentive.

The housekeeping was excellent, the room and grounds very clean.

They will drive you in golf carts from the main gate, which is at the bottom of the hill, to the main lodge. You can walk if you want - there are stairs. Once at the gate, you can meet tour guides or the hotel shuttle which will take you to the beach. The shuttle leaves the resort at the top of the hour to Mary's, which is a beach vendor who has chairs, can bring food & drinks, etc. (The owner there is very nice!) The shuttle will pick you up at 15 minutes after the hour but you need to ask the folks at Mary's table to radio them so they don't waste gas coming if nobody wants to leave. We were totally confused by the need to call ahead, so now you know.

We did multiple tours - the zipline tour (run by MidWorld), private hike in the national park (with Saul, who also does the hike of the Gaia's trails), mangrove kayaking, and jet skiing on the ocean. All tours were excellent with good guides, good food, and reasonable pricing. The zipline system was exceptionally safe - great guides. And Saul was incredible as a guide. We saw things with him we'd never have noticed on our own. Absolutely you should get a guide to hike in Manuel Antonio.

We agreed we would highly recommend this place for a getaway for which you are not there just for the beach, and for which you aren't bringing kids. The lack of kids was a plus for us (since this was a getaway from our own kids), and the included breakfast and attentive service all made us very happy with the place.

Room Tip: Spring for a suite if you can.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoKnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you.....thank you......We are overwhelmed by your very comprehensive and extreamly positive review of our resort.

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and share with other readers on this TripAdvisor forum.

We are certainly thrilled you rated us with 5 stars. As one of only two resorts in the Manuel Antonio area out of 48 with 5 stars, we are truly privileged to have guests such as yourselves.

Please come back and see us again. We are in to mood to spoil you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at Gaia Hotel and Reserve 6/22-6/29/14. We were extremely pleased with the level and quality of service and amenities. First, we were greeted at the airport (SJO) by Milton who made the 3 hour trip to the hotel pleasant. He stopped for lunch and a bathroom break upon our request. Once we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by our personal concierge. We stayed in a deluxe suite with a private roof top terrace. The reflection pool on the terrace, as described on Gaia's website isn't a pool at all, but a blocked off water reserve (that was the only disappointing part of our stay because we were expecting some kind of accessible pool on our terrace). The room was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. Once settled in Alex, our concierge, helped us book our tours and guided us to places around town to eat.
During our stay my husband become violently ill and Alex (and Carlos) called a doctor to the hotel where my husband was cared for in the privacy of our room. The house call was not an additional expense and we appreciated the level of care that was provided.
The food and the drinks at the hotel are not cheap by the food and the drinks are AMAZING! The costa rican breakfast, vanilla pancakes, and mango waffles were my favorite. The costa rican soup, chicken casados, and the seafood pasta were also my favorite. But our most favorite menu item, the beef pastales - YUM! We tried just about everything on the breakfast, lunch, and dinner menus and enjoyed every bite.
The pool is very relaxing and you can't beat the view. The spa services are not cheap but we were very pleased with the quality of services. We had a hot stone, terra, and thai massage during our stay. Milton (who was also our driver) has paws for hands and he put me in a very relaxing state. I would recommend the spa but be willing to spend money.
From the time we arrived to the moment we left, everyone we came in contact with that worked at the resort was extremely friendly, helpful, and made our trip even more relaxing.
The only thing to take note of is this hotel, though within walking distance of a few restaurants, is a 5-7 minute drive from central Manuel Antonio and Quepos. The hotel provides free transportation to MA (small fee to Quepos) until 5pm. After that, you'll need to take a taxi (not cheap, $6 to either town central).

Room Tip: This hotel only has 20 rooms. The smaller rooms (the studio's) are the farthest from the pool, s...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your fabulous 5 star review of our resort.

We are so very happy that your overall experience was truly spectacular and the level of service exceeded your expectations.

Our entire staff enjoyed being with you on your holiday and look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future.

Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $203 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing