We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we'd hoped for and more...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 30, 2008

My husband and I chose the Gaia as the destination for our first vacation together without our children in ten years - and could not have been happier with our experience. Simply put the Gaia provides an opportunity to enjoy the beauty of Costa Rica in a beautiful yet unpretentious setting, with whatever extent of service you desire without it being overbearing.
Here is a basic list of why we enjoyed our visit: we slept very comfortably in our room/the suite (the bed, pillows, and quiet were all conducive to a great night sleep); enjoyed showering while looking out the open window at the jungle and Pacific view (the water pressure was terrific and the 2 person jacuzzi was also fun); the view from our room was georgous; the food at La Luna was not only delicous but presented simply, elegantly and with impeccable service (thanks due to our servers Marlon and Steven and the chef!) - which leads me to the most important aspect of the Gaia... the people working there were lovely.
We must also give special thanks to Eylin, who arranged all of our tours and made sure all the details were taken care of; Willian who was our eagle eye on our tour of Manual Antonio National Park as well as our tour of the Gaia Reserve; Tracy who re-introduced me to Yoga and who got my husband newly hooked; to Mikaol who often drove us in the electric car up the hill; I am forgetting the gentleman's name who shuttled us back and forth to the beach etc ...and everyone else we encountered! We also enjoyed a couples massage in the spa. (Javier you are doing a great job managing the spa.)
We knew which type of tours we wanted to take and Eylin connected us with people who made sure we had amazing experiences. Fabian was our guide for white water rafting on the Savagre with Amigos Del Rio Tour (Plus we got to swim in a waterfall before lunch, that plus rapids...Pure Vida!) and we were surprised because he enriched the experience by also showing us various plants/spices etc on the drive to the river; Rodolfo was likewise informative during the Titi Canopy Tour and dealt well with me as I was conquering my fear of heights; Iguana Tours horseback riding to the waterfalls was beautiful and swimming in the water hole of the waterfall amazing; and of course the tour with Willian who made sure that our walks weren't just pleasant nature walks but full of detail we never would have noticed on our own. (making sure we saw not just the 3 species of monkeys and the 2 species of sloths but also all the bugs, the frogs and even bats sleeping)
Finally, we could also feel good about choosing the Gaia because of its status as a "Green Hotel" (even the lights go out automatically when you take the key card out of the slot by the door), and the fact that the owners funnel a significant portion of the proceeds into the community. (they do work with the elderly, pay for flood damage/issues, etc).
I didn't bother posting pictures taken inside our room or basic views of the Gaia because the website's are accurate but I hope you enjoy these few of the thousands (literally) that I shot.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank manyinterests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,350 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2008

Our stay at Gaia resort was nothing short of amazing. La Luna restaurant is wonderful. We stayed in the Gaia Suite which is well worth the money. Everything is beautifully appointed, sleek and chic. Can't even begin to describe it all. We were blown away by the staff. We feel like we left Quepos with friends that we miss very much! We fished several days with Good Day Fishing and the captain and mate were awesome! If you choose Gaia for your vacation, you won't be disappointed--and stay a while--there's plenty to do!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank captroynsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

My mother and I spent a long weekend at the Gaia over Labor Day weekend. We booked the Gaia through the Small Luxury Hotels of the World website. As a result, we were upgraded from a Jungle Suite to a Luxury Suite. In addition to a spacious bedroom, bathroom and living/dining room with a sofa bed, our suite also had two private terraces. One was attached to our room and sheltered so that we could sit out even when it rained. The suite also had a private room terrace one floor up from the suite. This spacious terrace included a table and chairs as well as tented lounge chairs, an outdoor shower, and a water feature. We followed the advice of our concierge and had breakfast there one morning. In addition to the complimentary room upgrade, we also received a complimentary bottle of wine and fruit and cheese tray in addition to welcome fruit drinks.
The food at the Gaia was wonderful. The complimentary, cooked to order breakfast offered so many options that it was hard to choose each morning. We also had dinner in the restaurant and used room service another night. On our final night, the Gaia staff arranged for a pizza delivery - reasonable and delicious.
The setting is as beautiful as the pictures on the website promise. In addition to seeing the wonderful wildlife in the Manual Antonio park, the electric cart drivers (no cars are allowed on the mountain) would stop and point out wildlife within the reserve. The pool was lovely and the views from the restaurant as well as the suite were stunning. The staff was consistently friendly and eager to help. The free shuttle service into town during the day is a nice feature as the hotel is several minutes from Manuel Antonio. If you do go to the Manuel Antonio National Park, it is well worth the money to hire one of the local government trained guides - they will help you see wildlife that you would never spot on your own.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank eakcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We had planned to stay at Gaia for 3 nights, but couldn’t bear to leave this paradise and ended up staying for 5. We hardly left the premises and loved the pools, the spa, the restaurant, the bar and our rooms. The service was personal and outstanding. And can’t give this place enough recommendations.
Thank you, Thomas, Dave, Boris and your entire team!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Travle_cph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We were in Costa Rica from August 20 - 27, 2008. The last 3 days we flew to Manuel Antonio Beach and unfortunately spent only 1 night at Gaia. This hotel is world class. The rooms are very clean, decent size, modern,(Ian Shrager like) and well appointed. Beautiful tile in the bathroom, large shower with great water pressure, comfortable beds, 24 hour room service, beautiful gardens, and cool looking pools. Listed on the Conde Nast 2007 Best Hotels. The restaraunt is beautiful, with Ocean views, great service, and consistently the best food we had in Costa Rica at fair prices. We ate there 3 times: dinner when we arrived, breakfast, and lunch before we left. The staff is professional, gregarious, and speak English well. We paid only $255. with tax for a Standard Room, this hotel is a bang for the buck. A world class breakfast is included. You can book on Hotels.com.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sarac_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Quite simply this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Manuel Antonio is one of the most naturally stunning places on earth and to enjoy its wonders whilst staying in a hotel as welcoming, luxurious and beautiful as Gaia was a fantastic experience.

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very special. Every single member of staff we spoke to or encountered appeared to be genuinely happy to do anything they could to be helpful during our stay. One of the owners came to meet us on arrival and also took time to catch up with us on our last night which was a nice touch.

One of the nicest things about the hotel, and this has been mentioned in other reviews, is that the rooms are exactly how they are portrayed on the website. You know exactly what you will be getting.

I first visited Costa Rica in the early 90's and have seen Manuel Antonio change throughout the years. There was no such thing as a 5 star hotel when I first visited and whilst I hope very much that there wont be many more hotels built in the future, Gaia does nothing but compliment the breath-taking beauty of this amazing place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Redrob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in mid Aug, 2008...The hotel was super clean, people and staff very friendly and accomodating, ambiance and food excellent, room and panaromaic views above expectations and eco friendly

If you have a chance to stay at this reserve it is well worth it..We didnt want to leave

Irwin and Maxine Brand

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WINNMAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
592 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,498 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $240 - $773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing