We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quiet place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great quiet place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I recently stayed at GAIA hotel for my honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed my time. The staff is excellent and great service. The office will help you book tours and make reservations anywhere. Also on the days spent by the pool the bartender David was the best! Took care of everything and very friendly and insightful of the area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jallen031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are thrilled our recent guests had a wonderful time at our resort. Thank you for choosing our destination for your honeymoon......

Gaia is a magical place and we are certainly glad to share it with you during this very special time in your lives.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    137
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
155
1,005
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This resort really made our honeymoon. We had the suite (King bed, Jacuzzi tub, private porch) and were amazed at how kept and clean and modern everything we in the middle of the jungle. We were extremely happy we went with the suite and not the rooms with the "private pool" since it seemed that many of those pools could easily be seen from the restaurant and lounge areas. The Hotel staff was great! The housekeeping service was awesome, coming twice a day to tidy and make sure everything was clean. We would leave for dinner and come back with the room spruced and ice in our bucket without having to request it. The reception staff was also very friendly and extremely helpful with arranging the taxis and transportation for our activities. They always asked how our recent activity was whether it was fishing or horseback riding or a tour, they knew what each customer was doing that day and seemed interested in our "adventures" and always trying to improve our experience. One of our favorite activities was the Manuel Antonio Park tour that they arranged for us with our guide Jason who was absolutely terrific and would highly recommend requesting him if possible. But what truly made our stay there over the top amazing was the restaurant staff. Our favorite waiter was John. He made every dinner special, making conversation with us about our day and giving us recommendations and joking with us. He is a great guy and waiter, never letting our glasses get empty while waiting on the whole restaurant it seemed. The morning breakfast is great too. We always had the breakfast room serviced since we had early activities almost every day and regardless of how early we requested, the staff was always more than happy to bring it to us with a smile.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Wow...thank you for your very kind review. And thank you for choosing our Gaia Hotel & Rreserve for you honeymoon.

Being an adults and teens only hotel, we attract lovely honeymoon couples, anniversary couples and a multitude of singles.

Thank you for sharing with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very, beautiful surroundings and superior staff without the pretentious attitude.
We stopped at Gaia hotel to visit the 20 Scarlet Macaws they have in their breeding program. “Just drop by and ask them to show you their parrots and if possible make a donation to this great program” The gentleman that showed us around was super friendly and very informative about the parrot breeding program. He asked if we would like to see the hotel and grounds and were chauffeur around on a golf cart. We then stayed for coffee and breakfast at the restaurant. The service was beyond excellent. The food yummy “I had Mango Pancakes and the view was to die for! All and all we loved our visit here! Visited second week of March 2014

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFelt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We do have a lot going on at Gaia and we are thrilled you were able to see our scarlet macaws.....This is a very special project in conjunction with the Government of Costa Rica.

Thank you for your visit and thank you for your comments on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This is definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed at period. It's a boutique hotel with about 26 room and a wait staff of about 70 to cater to your every need.

We were there in Feb2012 and split our stay between here and the Tulemar (bigger rooms, access to private beach but no where close to this level of service) . While the hotel is not close to the beach, they run regular taxis to drop and pick you up from the main beach which is great.

The on premise restaurant has very high quality food. It was the Super Bowl while we were there and the owners set up a room with a large screen projector, popcorn, chips snacks and beer / drinks for the guests. That was awesome!

They have a great infinity pool and a nice reserve to walk around.

Our particular room wasn't great, but we barely spent anytime in the room so it wasn't an issue. The hospitality was terrific and that's how a hotel should treat its guests. They also have a nice spa for those interested.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kbpk2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanking our recent guests for their very kind review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are very happy that you were well taken care of and our staff treated you with the service that you certainly deserve.

Please come back and see us again.....we would love to spoil you all over again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

The last area on our itinerary and a lovely hotel to spend it in. About a fifteen minute drive from Manuel Antonio national park. We had done a self drive holiday which gave us lots of freedom to do as we pleased. The Gaia Hotel is set in lovely grounds on a hillside overlooking the surrounding area. Beautiful views from the restaurant and bedrooms.The food was very good but with a set menu, we did feel that it would have been nice if there was a "special of the day " to ring the changes a bit if staying for any length of time. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. Large comfortable rooms. Ours had its own roof terrace which was lovely for watching the sun go down with a glass of wine in hand. The Spa was very good too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumierah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanking our recent guests for taking their personal time to write on this TripAdvisor forum.

We love receiving such wonderful feedback and we will take your suggestion to our chef on daily specials.
I agree, a very good idea.

Thank you for choosing Gaia Hotel & Reserve. We hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ks
Level Contributor
331 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Clinging to the top of a high hill in Manuel Antonio, Gaia offers lovely rooms and views, a tiered pool, the excellent food, music, and open terrace of the "La Luna" Restaurant, a nice spa and a most exceptional staff who make you feel welcome and pampered from the moment you arrive at the gate.

Most of the staff speak excellent English, and all of them -- from the security man at the gate, to the cleaner, the pool barman, the concierge, the waiters, everyone! are intelligent, friendly and helpful. Their suggestions made our stay in Manuel Antonio so much better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I have said it several times in the past but our staff are our best kept secret.

They will never cease to amaze you with their service, knowledge and warm welcoming attitude.

Our staff are truly a wonder on our property and we thank you for recognizing this.

Hoping you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

One of the best experiences by far! From the moment I entered the property with my daughter, we were greeted by Roy. Eager to please and show us around this beautiful property. He gave us a tour, showing us all the amenities and answered all our questions. You could tell from the second we met him, that he loved what he does. We were then brought to the restaurant, room and finally the spa where we were given complimentary treatments.....fantastic! This hotel is one of the best I've ever been to....the staff, the rooms, the pool, the restaurant, the nature trail and, most importantly, the service! This is a solid 5 star....hats off to making our vacation extra special.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbnewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Wonderful!!

We succeeded in spoiling our recent guests. Thank you so much for choosing Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are truly set apart from the other local resorts and pride ourselves in spoiling our guests.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing