We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to experience it to believe iti”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Basking Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You have to experience it to believe iti”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I am a skeptic about reviews but this place is the real thing. First the views. This place is high on a hilltop overlooking Quepos and the road to Manuel Antonio. In the distance are trees and the Pacific. The sunsets are amazing. One day we sat in floating chairs with drinks looking out of the infinity pools and it was heaven.
What everyone says about service is incredibly true. I don't know what the resident owner Boris instills in his employees but it works. Impeccable service from every level of employee. We mention Joshua and Glenn but not the others only because we can't recall their names. You walk into the office, they stand. Their response is always friendly and willing.
The reserve on the property is a great walk where we were greeted by a family of squirrel monkeys. Last evening we saw a family of capuchins while in the pool. The spa was also terrific and the arrangements with other vendors such as zip lining or even Mary's place at the public beach are seamless.
The restaurant La Luna is a crucial part of this equation. Breakfast is superb- in your room or with a view at the restaurant. As are other meals. In fact we had a cooking lesson with the chef- translated by Glenn - and I did my best Guy Fieri in mutation when I slipped up some awesome cerviche, which I will now make myself (secret ingredient ginger ale)
One caveat. This place is on a hillside and is full of stairs. If you are not mobile, not a good decision. If you are and can afford this pampering, don't miss it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
It appears our recent guests received the magic that was created especially for them.

Service, ambiance, great food, fabulous location are all part of what goes on at Gaia.

Thank you for choosing us and please come back.. Having been open now for just over 7 years, many of our guests have become part of the Gaia family and return year after year.

Each guest is unique and special to us. We are thrilled we made you experience "some kind of wonderful".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    141
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
161
1,035
32
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I went to Gaia after purchasing a deal through TravelZoo. We are SO excited to return as soon as possible. As all of the other reviewers state, the food was amazing, the spa beyond compare, the views incredible... But I will never forget the incredible service. They made every effort to accomodate every wish, including booking an excursion last minute when the weather turned out to be beautiful. They knew I was eager to see the monkeys on the reserve - so I was delighted when the concierge called our room to let us know that the monkeys were visible from the restaurant! They even went out of their way to allow us to convert our couples' massage into 2 individual massages for me (which my husband is now regretting, but that's just one of many reasons why we'll return someday).

What takes the cake, is that months later, I'm pregnant with our first child. When asked to envision one moment of absolute relaxation and happiness, the only thing that comes to mind is Gaia. Since we're encouraged to recreate this happy, relaxing memory while in labor, we contacted the Gaia staff about the lovely music they play in their restaurant. They went above and beyond to send us lists of their music so I can relive those blissful moments!

To me, that sort of service is beyond compare. We are eager to return to Gaia once our little one is old enough to leave with the grandparents for a long weekend. I truly cannot imagine any other hotel ever topping our experience at Gaia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maneesha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Wow....we are truly humbled by your review of our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We thank you so very much for sharing with others on this TripAdvisor forum your very special and somewhat intimate remembrances of your Gaia experience.

Please, do come back once again. We will serve you as you so richly deserve. Magic will be created once more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We loved Gaia. In fact, we spent an entire afternoon at the pool and ate two out of two dinners in Manuel Antonio at the hotel restaurant.

We are the type of travellers who do not spend much time at our hotel. There are monkeys and crocodiles to see! So for us to spend an afternoon at the pool, and all of our local dinners at the hotel restaurant, says a lot.

Pools = Excellent
Service = Excellent
Food = Tasty!
Room = comfy!

Also, I am a small and cheerful person. The Gaia spa is the only place, EVER, that actually gave me a deep tissue massage that was not insultingly gentle. Thank you!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DaviY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for choosing Gaia Hotel & Reserve for your recent holiday.

We are thrilled your expectations were met and we certainly welcome you back on our property.

Our pools are certainly one of a kind and have been noted in many architectural design magazines.

And as you note, our Terra Spa is the very best in the entire Manuel Antonio area having won numerous awards.

Thank you for sharing with others your wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This place was fabulous! We stayed five nights in January 2014. It's situated in a beautiful jungle atmosphere with wonderful sunsets and ambiance. The staff was the nicest that we have ever encountered everywhere we were. The food was amazing, as were the cocktails. We had the jungle suite and it was spacious and beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Our recent guests are very kind to write such a wonderful review.

We thank you for that and thank you for choosing Gaia for your vacation. Recognizing you have a choice in hotels, rest assured that we work tirelessly each and every day to ensure you that your
decision was 100% correct.

Thank you for sharing with other readers on this TripAdvisor forum. And please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We loved our stay at Gaia. We stayed for 8 nights, just relaxing and enjoying many activities near Manuel Antonio. The staff was wonderful - super nice and helpful. Our studio room was small but perfect for what we needed. The pool was wonderful and the food was great. The restaurant has stunning views. We would be delighted to return to Gaia!

Room Tip: If possible, I would book something larger than a Studio room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spaenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Terrific.....and we would love for you to return to us.

Thank you for choosing Gaia for your recent travel experience in Costa Rica. Your experience captured all that we represent in terms of service and genuine hospitality.
Our 5 star experience is no mistake. It is the real deal.

Having been open now 7 years, we have guests that return to us many times over and their experience keeps getting better. We would love to count you among them.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few days during the first week of June 2013 and we still talk about how this was by far the best place we've ever stayed. After a long flight, we drove in from San Jose more than three hours in the pouring rain so we were exhausted. Immediately after we arrived on the grounds we were treated to a refreshing fruity drink and ushered to our room under a big umbrella. The room was clean, well appointed and decorated with a modern flare. Before we left on our trip, we'd researched a variety of restaurants and planned to eat at La Luna our first night and try the others later during our stay. But after encountering the first-class culinary experience and super accommodating, friendly waitstaff at La Luna, we never did eat anywhere else. I've got to mention the complimentary breakfast. My husband and I are used to having continental breakfasts - usually muffins, cold cereals and maybe some pre-heated scrambled eggs and bacon - at other hotels so we were surprised to see a full-service breakfast made to order at Gaia. After our trip, I'd gotten used to my morning fresh papaya and my husband had the "Costa Rican breakfast" every morning, he loved it so much. And wow, the dining view was breathtaking! Everyone from the front desk personnel to the restaurant waitstaff to the groundskeepers and housekeeping staff always had a smile and a kind greeting for us whenever we encountered them. We met one of the owners, Boris, during our walk around the grounds and he was very friendly and welcoming. We saw him again later in the day at the infinity pool, which is gorgeous. We had a few drinks at the pool bar, which was a fun experience as well. We took the nature hike at Gaia's private reserve and learned a lot about the flora and fauna from the guide, who was very nice and knowlegeable. On our last day and as we were making it down the hill with our luggage to our car, the driver stopped the golf cart to show us Gaia's resident sloth high up in one of the trees on the grounds. Needless to say, we did not want to leave! We'll never forget our wonderful adventure to Manuel Antonio and Gaia played a big part in our memories. The price we paid was very reasonable for the quality of service we got.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank truffle731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are over the top thrilled that you enjoyed your Gaia experience so much.

As a 5 star resort, we take the time and concern for all of our guests needs. Needless to say your experience seemed to have captured what Gaia is all about.....great service, sincere friendliness and a vacation experience not to be forgotten for a very long time.

Thank you for taking your personal time to share with others on this TripAdvisor forum.

And come back and see us.......we miss you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a wonderful time watching the sunset with delicious drinks in hand. The service was amazing, thank you David for making our couple hours so delightful. Would highly recommend a visit. Even if you aren't staying at the hotel, the staff are professional, helpful and kind.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Indeed, we love to have guests from other hotels and villas join us for our happy hour and breathtaking views of the sunset over the Pacific Ocean.

Our happy hour consists of all drinks discounted 25% and live Latin music. Bar snacks are provided complimentary.

We always have a mix of Gaia guests, outside guests and locals join us for the very best sunset viewing in all of Manuel Antonio.

Thank you for your kind visit and your wonderful review on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,163 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
971 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,403 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
512 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing