We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the hype!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lives up to the hype!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Recently traveled to Gaia Hotel and Reserve and had a perfect experience. The views and accommodations were great but what really impressed us was the attentiveness of the staff. Every request and need was handled wonderfully. We had a brief Wi-Fi outage and the IT manager was in our room fixing it within minutes. Most our needs were anticipated in advance. The breakfast in the restaurant was a super meal and a wonderful way to start the day. The drinks at the pool were made from fresh juices and served to us while we rested on rafts by the pool. The live music in the evening is a great way to catch the spectacular sunsets and they even let my son jump in for a few minutes and play. The complimentary massage that came with our booking was also excellent. The owner of this resort has assembled a world class service team.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1safaripro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Wonderful guests who truly captured for themselves the magic of Gaia.

Thank you for sharing the experience.

Our staff is indeed unique and they create a wonderful experience for each and every guest on an individual basis.

You are welcome back anytime.........

Thank you for using this TripAdvisor forum to share with other readers and thank you for choosing Gaia Hotel & Reserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    141
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
161
1,034
32
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Gaia is pure paradise. From the moment you arrive (or get picked up as we did) you will feel instantly welcome. The staff are incredible. All of them! They couldn't do more to please you and ensure that you have the most memorable time there. The shuttle service is awesome and ensures value for money as you never once have to worry about cabs whilst at Gaia! And the drivers are lovely. The restaurant is also delicious with a great menu full of variety and everything we ate was wonderful! Not to mention 10/10 service. The rooms are beautiful, extremely clean and well-maintained with everything you need. We loved it. The spa, I used twice, and the second treatment I had (hot stone massage) was amazzzzzzing. Facial was ok. The only thing that slightly annoyed me here was, the same with all spas really, they cut my treatments approx 10 mins short! Of course I could have said something but I am silly and feel awkward having to say that. So yeh, only sour point. Otherwise Gaia is perfection, absolute luxury!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaBee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanking our recent guests for taking their personal time to share with others their wonderful experience here at Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are truly blessed having such special guests on our property and allowing us to spoil them in so many different ways.

We understand there are alternative places to stay in the Manuel Antonio/Quepos area and we always feel privileged that our guests chose Gaia.

It allows us to create something truly unique and share the magic that we have created here.

Thank you for using this TripAdvisor forum to tell your story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here for two very short nights while in Manuel Antonio. From the first moment we were picked up by our gracious, friendly and now life long friend/driver, Albaro, we knew we were going to feel like we were going home. We were greeted with welcome juices and seated in an Air conditioned office. What a welcome huh? That is the beginning of their friendly service. The hotel location is without a doubt the best. The property is stunning to say the least from the views, the cleanliness of the hotel, the unique layout on the hilltop, its very own reserve with amazing animals (we had a muddy walk through the reserve with Dennis who was so much fun) and the fact that it just feels so very special. They only have 20 rooms or so, therefore the property never felt overcrowded. We met so many nice people on the property. It is serene, peaceful and a secret oasis. This is a perfect hotel for adults, honeymooners, couples and even friends looking for a unique experience.

The staff is beyond friendly and accommodating to everything you may need. They arranged all of our transportation needs which was so amazing considering we were two girls travelling alone and wanted peace of mind. They really came through with style. Our concierge Alex, Mauricio at the bar, the staff at the hotel restaurant and all the drivers were like family in no time. I travel quite often and have never had such a memorable experience at a hotel. I cannot wait to return to Gaia and make more lasting memories. It was truly heaven.

Room Tip: Every room is amazing. Breakfast is included. The BBC drink at the bar is not to be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanking our recent guest for allowing us to share the magic we have created here at Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are so happy you chose us for your vacation spot and our entire staff wishes to see you again.

Indeed, we are 5 star service and ambiance without any attitude. Friendliness and attentive service is our goal for each and every guest.

And with your personal concierge, there is no mistaking the amount of personal attention our guests receive.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Unbelievably nice folks who will go the extra mile for you. Room, spa service, restaurant service all top notch. Pool and office staff great. Excellent and helpful drivers. Loved the live music with dinner and fabulous views from the open air dining room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryfromCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
So nice to hear from our recent guests again!

Thank you so much for your very kind words and taking the time to share with others on this TripAdvisor forum.

Gaia is indeed heavenly and we would love to have you back on our property to once again show you the kind of service and attention that you deserve.

Thank you for choosing Gaia for your recent holiday and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent a week at GAIA and have to say this place was amazing. The wildlife was fantastic – like a rain forest canopy tour right from your room balcony. The monkeys were coming through almost daily; sloths hanging in the trees, fabulous birds including toucans and beautiful red and black trogons! Big bright orange male iquanas just sun baking in the tree tops! Amazing treatments at the Terra Spa, rejuvenating our tired bodies after all the hiking. Best of all, unbelievable customer service, the crew at GAIA (all of them) take care you like you are part of their family! Super Kudos to Darien Andres Vindas who went out of his way to make sure our vacation was the best ever and to Alex for being the best driver in Costa Rica – we have stayed at a lot of world class resorts having traveled to over 30 countries, but I can’t remember being treated better anywhere in the world than at GAIA. Special thanks to everyone who works at GAIA for making our trip a most memorable time! We can highly recommend doing tours with Manuel Antonio National Park Tour company that is booked from the hotel- they delivered outstanding adventures every time. We will definitely come back – Joe & Sofi -Richmond, VA

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SofiLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Wonderful guests! thank you so much for choosing Gaia Hotel & reserve and thank you for posting this very complimentary review of our hotel.

Indeed, Gaia in truly unique and our staff are the best around.

The rainforest abounds in a tremendous amount of wildlife which is one of the major attractions of Costa Rica.

An unspoiled oasis of natural beauty and habitat, Gaia is one of the unspoiled wonders of the central Pacific Coast.

Thank you again for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum and you are indeed welcome back.

Let us spoil you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is the BEST place to vacation! From the moment you arrive, you don't have to think about a thing, as you have many people catering to your every need in a way that is truly incredible.

The people at GAIA are the best in this industry. They are all sincerely helpful, friendly and kind. From Sandy in Reservations to Alex our concierge, they bent over backwards to accommodate us.

Everything was as perfect as it can be...the food, tours, spa, beaches were all A+.

My family said that it was definitely the very best vacation ever, and yes, without question, we'd return in a heartbeat.

Sue

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa that was truly breathtaking with a rooftop veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your A+ rating.

We truly loved having you on our property and so happy your experiences were so wonderful.

Our two bedroom/two bathroom villas are truly unique and perfect for family or friends to share. They accommodate up to 8 persons and the rooftop terrace on the 4th level is truly special.

Thank you for allowing us to spoil you and thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I started planning this trip several months prior to leaving in early December, which was perfect timing: just after the rainy season, just before the holidays. Staff from the reservations desk was extremely helpful from the beginning of our research. They provided answers to our numerous questions, useful information and plenty of recommendations from transportation to excursions, which helped our planning tremendously, even with the second leg of our CR trip to Arenal. When Delta Airlines threw us a curve ball mere weeks before our departure, we had to rearrange some of our plans. As infuriating as that was, the folks at Gaia were more than accommodating to our last minute changes.

The shuttle driver greeted us at the local airport with cold bottled water, which was very well received after a day spent travelling. The golf cart driver pointed out some sloths on our drive up the mountain to the front desk building, that was pretty exciting. Arrival drinks were delicious, check in was quick and seamless, the room (jungle view studio) was clean and spacious. I'll admit, the TV was tiny, but I think we can all agree you don't go all the way to CR to watch TV. We settled in and had a quick tour of the property, and before you know it, we were in the pool.

Due to the hotel's hilltop location, the peaceful infinity pool and La Luna restaurant offer spectacular views of the jungle and the ocean in the distance. Their complete breakfast was a fabulous way to start every morning. Happy hour was the best: excellent tapas (ceviche to die for!) and fun cocktails. Dinner à la carte dinner was on the pricey side but the talented musicians added a little charm to the experience.

We hit up the spa for their complimentary 20-minute treatment and a 60-minute massage. My husband came back from snorkelling with a bad sunburn and the spa staff gave him freshly extracted aloe vera, which was greatly appreciated.

While the hotel isn't beachfront, the proximity was totally fine for us and the fact that their shuttle service will drive you around the area is a nice touch. Adults only premises, stunning beaches, the lush jungle and a few adrenaline pumping adventures, that's my idea of a perfect honeymoon.

I was really sad to have to leave at the end of our week's stay, but this trip was certainly unforgettable, and we have Gaia to thank in part for that. Their staff members were fantastic, very friendly and pleasantly attentive. Their partners on our excursions/tours were extremely knowledgeable guides and very entertaining.

I look forward to returning one day...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for remembering us and writing your wonderful and complete review of our property.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our expansive views of the rainforest and the vast Pacific Ocean from the pools and our La Luna Restaurant. Indeed, we are so well located on top of Gaia Mountain that the views are always spectacular.

We would love to have you return and allow us once again to show you more than you expect and all that you deserve.

Thank you for choosing us for your honeymoon destination and thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,161 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
971 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,403 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
511 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing