We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing...Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My 15yr old daughter and I, along with another family just came back from staying at the Gaia Hotel. This is a first class hotel! The staff is amazing. The owners set the tone who are present and engaging! They will take care of your every need. This hotel pays attention to every detail. Shout out to Andreas our personal concierge. The location is great, the restaurant is 5*. No need to look any further. Stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanking our recent guest for their review of our Gaia hotel & reserve.
We are thrilled that we met your every expectation......and a bit beyond?

Please visit us again so we can spoil you again and deliver to you a Paradise found!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    124
    26
    11
    8
See reviews for
129
864
25
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Pura Vida! There's not much more I could say that has not already been said about Gaia, but I will say that I was overwhelmed by how accommodating they were to my boyfriend, who is on crutches. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by the owner who told us that anything we needed or if my bf need any help, they were there for us. I would give the service more than 5 stars if I could! From the tours we went on to the dinners at the hotel, it was a vacation from heaven. We really enjoyed the boat tour and riding the ATV's. Also, we had a private tour of Manuel Antonio rainforest and our guide was incredible. The food was amazing also! The daily breakfast (included in the price) was 5 star everyday. The only thing I will warn is that Costa Rica, particularly Manuel Antonio, is not cheap, but the quality we received was worth the price. The service at this hotel is truly unmatched anywhere. I would go back in a heartbeat and will always be grateful for the incredible week we spent at Gaia. You need to go!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank licia1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
The entire staff at Gaia is so happy your holiday with us was memorable.

Thank you for your kind comments on our service and staff helpfulness. We take special care with each of our guests and welcome them back with open arms.

Having been now open for 6.5 years, we have numerous guests who return year after year and send their friends and family to experience the magic of Gaia and what we have created here.

We would love to count you and your boyfriend among those guests who return to us once again.

Your comments on this TripAdvisor forum and very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We just returned from a four night visit here and are very sad to be back in reality. The service here was amazing, and all the extras they throw in just made it fantastic. The mini-spa session was wonderful, and the breakfasts were pretty good. The shuttles were very convenient and useful to go to the beach or to downtown quepos. We saw a sloth and squirrel monkeys on the morning hike through the resort's protected area. The sunsets were beautiful from almost any place in the hotel area. The front desk staff went above and beyond to make everything go smoothly. On the downside, we ate at the restaurant several times and it was good, but not necessarily a great value. The fitness center really only has a few machines. But we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slizsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We would very much love to see you back at Gaia. Thank you so much for spending your precious holiday with us.

As you pointed out, service is our best kept secret. We pride ourselves on providing our guests more than they expect and all that they deserve.

Providing a complimentary spa service to each and every guest during their stay is just one of the many surprises that await our guests.

Thank you for coming to Gaia and thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We can't say enough good things about Gaia. It's a bit more money but it's worth it. The staff is great and helped us with everything. They made recommendations about dinner, and things to do. They have a free shuttel to town, the beach and the National Park, otherwise they would arrange a taxi. You could spend you're whole vacation at Gaia if you wanted, the restaurant was fantastic, lots of selections and very good. Live music every night. Great views. We almost always had the pools to ourselves, and when there were other people there is plenty of room. It's hard to get a feel for this place from the pictures, but it's just great. This is the place the locals want to work because it is so well run. The spa is small, but still a full set of treaments. The tour of their Reserve as fun and we say a sloth and monkeys. Our family of 4 went for a week, and we all made friends with the staff. Everyone speaks very good english and would always help us with our spanish. Everything is super clean. Again, spend the extra $$ and stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dacel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanking our recent guests for their wonderful review of our resort.

We are thrilled you had such a good time. Quite unique, Gaia offers special amenities not found in other hotels in the area. 5 star service starts from the moment you enter our property. From there, the service follows service followed by more service.

We understand what needs to be done to make a guest happy. And we understand that our guests are here for a fairly short stay and we want to make that stay as memorable as possible.

Thank you for sharing and taking your personal time to comment here on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at Gaia for 3 nights in a Jungle View Suite. We had a fabulous time! The hotel is beautiful, sitting on top of the rainforest with fabulous views, especially from the onsite bar and restaurant, La Luna. The food was delicious and Josh, our bartender, was so friendly and efficient. They had live music every evening we were there which really added to the ambience. They assign you a personal concierge when you arrive who takes care of your every need 24/7. Ours was Jose, and he was great. He booked all of our excursions and my spa treatment and was always pleasant and helpful. We loved the tiered pools and they really cooled you off during the heat of the day. They are actually open 24 hours and there is a phone at the pool bar which you can use to order drinks at any time even when the pool bartender isn't officially on duty. The included breakfast is delightful with fresh fruits, fresh juices, coffee, breads and a selection of main courses ranging from Eggs Benedict to Belgian waffles or even traditional Costa Rican fare. Can't say enough good things about this wonderful place. Excellent customer service, very friendly and welcoming, great rooms and food, and a magnificent view. What more could one ask for? We will be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTraveler1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
My thanks to our recent guests who recognized all that we do at Gaia to make our guests experience truly wonderful.

24 hour service is what we do. Recognizing that our guests are here for a short time, we want to make sure every hour is spent being pampered.

Thank you for sharing with others on this TripAdvisor forum. And please, we look forward to welcoming you back once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

At the last minute, we changed our plan and decided to check our Manuel Antonio. After having a mixed experience at our last hotel, we decided to splurge. And it's worth it. You park the car at the base of a hill, and you are taken by golf cart to the resort. After a trip uphill, you are greeted by wonderful check in staff and taken on a tour of the premises. The pool is the best part - 5 levels, waterfalls, floaty chairs, monkeys, views. And they make a mean smoothie at the pool bar. The restaurant is excellent as well, with views to the ocean over the entire Manuel Antonio area. The rooms are large and comfortable, with down pillows and comforters. This place is well worth the money. We didn't take a tour of the onsite preserve, but I assume that would be great as well.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alexmainmast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
The Wow factor indeed!

We are thrilled you had such a great time at our Gaia hotel. Thank you for deciding to come and spend some time with us. We always love to spoil our guests with the unexpected.

At Gaia, it's more than you expect and all that you deserve.

Please do come back and visit us. And thank you for sharing your experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Gaia. The rooms were luxurious, the cascading pool perched on the hill breathtaking, but most memorable was the happy hour. Live music and Guaro sours while we watched the sunset every night! Adults only so that was nice. The food was delicious, the fesh fruit and home baked goodies each morning gave us a lot to look forward to! Coffee and boats in the distance, ahhhh, spectacular. We especially enjoyed meeting the owners, the Frenchie Tory Fiona whom resides there, and watching the local iguanas bask in the sun poolside.

Room Tip: Hmmm, there are only 20 rooms here. Not sure you can go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We are so very happy that you had such a wonderful time at our Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

There is fun around the pools, at the sunset tapas hour, at the restaurant, at the fitness center, at the spa etc.

Every aspect of Gaia is geared to having a fun time in the most tranquil surroundings of the rainforest overlooking the vast Pacific Ocean.

Thank you so much for coming to Gaia and thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum. Please come back.....you are very welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 917 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing