We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Nearby Hotels
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Bada(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$194
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $361/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$239
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $250/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$271
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$238
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$120
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$385
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,782)
Filter reviews
1,782 results
Traveler rating
1,568
160
34
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,568
160
34
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reservela lunatapaspersonal conciergecosta ricaprivate rooftopdeluxe suitefree tourgolf cartscarlet macawsour honeymoonpool barmoment you arrivenature preservespa servicesnational parknature walk
Filter
Updating list...
1,069 - 1,074 of 1,782 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My fiancé and I traveled to Costa Rica in July and had an amazing experience. We happened to purchase a Travelzoo deal for Gaia, knowing only what we read on Gaia's website. It was perfecto and even more exclusive than we expected. La Luna, their restaurant, was absolutely scrumptious (breakfasts, lunches, and dinners!) and had a gorgeous view. Our servers, Alcione and Aldo, were a true pleasure to get to know and incredibly efficient. Great Happy Hour specials too :)

The rest of the staff (including Fernando, Andre, Jorge, Karen, and Fabio) were available at any time and incredibly helpful. It was truly a 5-star resort, without the uppityness. Everyone knew our names and we even had multiple conversations with one of the owners.

The spa was a.m.a.z.i.n.g. Juan Carlos is a wonderful and knowledgeable man - both in kindness and masseusery skills! We ended up going to the spa 5 times - it was that great.

On top of everything I've already mentioned, the staff drove us to/from any spot in Quepos and to/from the airport. Being built in such a steep area, they were there to drive us around in golf carts at a moment's notice. Thanks, guys!

Additionally, they are eco conscientious and socially responsible. The nature reserve is beautiful and I recommend a guided tour. When we were there, they were hosting and sponsoring a charitable event - in which we were able to attend as well.

We truly thank all of Gaia's staff who made our trip so wonderful and relaxing and romantic. We hope to return someday soon!

Pura Vida!
Todd & Michelle

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToddInMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

We are truly honored that you chose Gaia Hotel & Reserve for your honeymoon. And we are super happy that your experience was much more than you expected.

Indeed, we provide a service that is second to none in the surrounding area. And the genuine attitude of our staff of professionals is a welcome attribute for our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Gaia and we welcome you back in the near future to once again experience the magic we have created here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I am writing this review prior to leaving Gaia. The staff is amazing and really helped a situation with a tour vendor issue to no fault of Gaia. Top notch and the food is awesome! Highly recommend staying here when in Manuel Antonio. Thank you for a wonderful time!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ronningtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Well, on behalf of the entire staff, you are very welcome.

We are happy to have assisted you with the tour company. As a guest on our property and part of the Gaia family, there is nothing we would not do to make sure your entire experience while here on our property and in Costa Rica was nothing short of wonderful.

Magic is part of what we create here for our guest and we are so very pleased to have created that for you.

Thank you for this mention on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I always read Tripadvisor but have yet to post, but after staying at the Gaia, I just felt compelled to start! This place is simply fantastic. From the moment you walk through the entrance, all the staff at Gaia go out of their way to help make your stay an unforgettable one.
The location is wonderful, nestled in amongst the trees on a hillside, with views across the rainforest to the ocean- picture perfect!
The food is out of this world, a fusion of many different cuisines. I personally thought the tuna and mango wrap for lunch was out of this world, but we ate breakfast and dinner here too and they were of equal quality.
The pool is beautifully landscaped into the surroundings and because of that it's not uncommon to see Iguanas and white faced capuchins.
Small touches like a 20min spa credit (which for me was a back massage) left me feeling thoroughly relaxed and pampered and the owners saying hello made it feel very personal.
I have gone to many boutique hotels and have left feeling underwhelmed, but in this case, I cannot rave about Gaia and the staff enough.
You have truly made our trip to Costa Rica end on a high note. Thank you.
Katy

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Our recent guest truly captured what Gaia is all about...service, luxury and pampering.....all in a very relaxed and laid back atmosphere.

We are thrilled that we were able to spoil you and exceed your expectations on staying at Gaia. Please do come back and allow us to do it again. It would be our extreme pleasure.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I live in Manuel Antonio and I often visit Gaia to eat, have drinks and watch the sunset. I'm always impressed with the service, the staff are very attentive and never leave you with an empty glass. The food is delicious, happy hour tapas are cheap and wonderful. Can't get a better view either! If you really want to see a tropical sunset I would recommend Gaia to anyone visiting or living in Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lynzr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words here in this TripAdvisor forum.

We do indeed strive for unparallelled service to both our local friends and hotel guests alike. It is a great testament to what we have created here when our neighbors come frequently to experience what Gaia is all about.

Great Food - Great Service - Great Prices - Flip-Flops Welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Gaia to celebrate both a birthday and anniversary. From the moment we entered the property, we were greeted by Kim wishing us a Happy Anniversary. We then went to check-in and were greeted by our personal concierge Fabio, who made us feel so very welcome. Fabio gave us a tour of the property and introduced us to the staff and showed us our room. Once we entered our room, I knew we had made the perfect decision and the views were absolutely breathtaking. From our patio and roof top terrace we had views of the mountains and the Pacific Ocean. The pool area is absolutely beautiful and the waterfall is very nice. I might mention that while at the pool we were also able to see Iguanas and a Monkey. During our stay everytime we came into contact with the staff they greeted us by name, and on the morning of my birthday wished me a Happy Birthday! Now that is what I call customer service! I would also like to mention we used the spa services and it was like our own little bit of heaven. If you are looking for a truly amazing resort, the Gaia is that place! The owners were also present (Boris and David) and they were very gracious.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

I want to thank our recent guests for sharing their memorable experience.

Our staff provide a service way beyond normal expectations and their goal is to spoil our guests.

Thank you for allowing us to do just that......spoil you. And thank you for sharing your wonderful birthday experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews