We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

There is nothing not to like at the Gaia. The service is excellent, the food wonderful, the spa facility and massages are all first rate but the best part of the Gaia has to be the staff. All are helpful, knowledgeable , pleasant, eager to be of assistance and generally appear to enjoy their task of making the guest have a trouble free and relaxing visit. When you visit, take advantage of your concierge's knowledge for everything from day activities to local restaurants.

The only drawback to a Gaia visit would be that I had to go home to rest. There are too many activities that are not to be missed so that one has little time to kick back and relax. Of course you don't have to hike, fish, kayak, raft and zip line and you can just lie around the pool or beach. That is the beauty of a Gaia experience; there is something for every taste or whim and after the full day away, the wonderful bartenders will ease you into the evening.

The food at Gaia is excellent and there are good restaurants nearby. I would suggest doing both. If you are a seafood lover, every place we ate had great, fresh seafood that must have been caught that day. I had the best tuna ever at Gaia as special for dinner. The breakfast which we always had on our deck is very very good and always came right on time. There is nothing like the sights and sounds of a tropical morning while enjoying good healthy food.

Costa Rica is a lovely country for any traveler but particularly if you enjoy outdoor adventure. The people appear to genuinely welcome tourists unlike some other tropical destinations. They are educated, interesting, and fun to be with. San Jose might be a different story but we did not do anything but pass through the airport.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a delux double or better if possible because the view and patio,deck area is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I appears our recent guests did it all......and all was good! There really are so many activities to do in the surrounding area and you are so correct as to seek out the expertize of your personal concierge. They know all the local tours and activities and know the individuals operating them.
All the activities are thoroughly vetted by the owners personally or the senior staff and we insure the insurance papers and permits are all up to date.

Thank you for sharing you experience with other readers here. Costa Rica is truly a special place where tourists are genuinely welcome. And the magic we create here at Gaia for our guests is second to none in the entire Central Pacific Coast region.
Thank you very much for coming and experiencing that magic with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    126
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
132
889
25
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of a four-night stay at Gaia in early November. We had wonderful weather the whole time, with only a couple of brief showers in the late afternoon or early evening, and plenty of sun early in the day. Although I am a seasoned traveller, I usually don't get the chance to stay at such an upscale location. Thanks to a great travelzoo deal, my husband and I got to experience this first-class resort. Every aspect of the service at Gaia was exceptional - front desk/concierge, restaurant and bar, housekeeping, and spa. We had expected to be staying in a studio room as described by our travelzoo deal, but were pleasantly surprised upon arrival to find that we had been upgraded to an ocean view suite. We especially enjoyed watching the spectacular sunsets from our balcony (I even watched from the sliding window over the tub/shower one night). The breakfasts, which are included, were wonderful, and the afternoon tapas, at about $3 per plate, were a great deal and even more enjoyable when served at the in-pool bar. We ate dinner at La Luna two of the four nights, including a three course dinner with wine that was part of our package. The package dinner had a somewhat limited menu compared to the regular dinner menu with tiny-sized dessert options, but was delicious nonetheless. We dined with another couple, with each couple receiving a bottle of wine. Since I was the only regular wine drinker at the table, Aldo nicely allowed me to take one of the two bottles (unopened) with me. The other two nights, we dined at local restaurants, taking a cab at $7 each way (the Gaia drivers are only available until 4:30 pm each day). We had drinks and dinner at El Avion one night (we knew not to expect much from the food, but the airplane bar and the breathtaking sunset views made it worthwhile). On the reccommendation of several people, we also had dinner at Raphael's Terrazos. The food and service were both great (this restaurant mostly serves seafood, which was clearly extremely fresh), and it definitely has a more relaxed vibe with a clientele that was a mix of tourists and locals the night we were there. Two couples massages (one regular and one hot-stone) were included in our package, and both were wonderful (and the shower in the changing room was a bonus). We spent one day at the beach and rented our chairs from Mary's, as suggested by Gaia, and at $10 for two chaises, an umbrella and a table for the whole day, the price couldn't be beat. The attendant at Mary's, Ray, also took care of our belongings when we took a walk and called the driver from Gaia when we were ready to leave. You can have drinks or food delivered to you on the beach, but the prices were outrageously expensive, so we walked to one of the little grocery stores along the main drag and bought beer and snacks for a fraction of the price. Our guide for our Manuel Antonio reserve tour was Dennis, who was fantastic - knowledgeable, polite, well-spoken and extremely accomodating. Don't forget to take or wear your bathing suits and take towels on your Manuel Antonio tour, as there are three beautiful, sparsely populated beaches in the park where you ask your guide to wait while you take a swim, or linger at the end of your tour. We also did the Midworld canopy tour, which we loved except for the fact that since we were two of the few in our group who didn't do the Superman line, we ended up having to wait an extra hour and a half for the bulk of the group to finish (we would have gone back for more beach time that afternoon if we had returned at the expected time). Midland did send us a free photo cd of our adventures as a bit of compensation. The only negative from our stay at Gaia (aside from the fact that the rooms would benefit from a better quality of hair dryer) was a very cheeky iguana on the pool deck outside our room - it bit my toe (not seriously, but hard enough to draw blood) while we were having our afternoon drinks, and apparently had bitten another woman earlier in the day and climbed/jumped on the lap of another woman while she was laying on a chaise on the same deck the next day! None of us were highly upset about the iguana incidents, but clearly Gaia needs to trap and relocate the little bugger!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookbug57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanking our recent guest for such a comprehensive review of our hotel. You covered just about everything and we thank you for taking your personal time to share with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Indeed, as an adults only property, we are perfect for a getaway couples form the four corners of the world. There is everything to do or nothing. Our recent guests seemed to take in both the adventure part and a good part relaxing at the beach and our pool.......good for you!
As for the iguana situation, that unfortunately comes about by guests feeding them food which is totally a no-no. They become brave and expect food all the time.
Under the circumstances, we have relocated the larger iguana's to a peaceful place in our wildlife reserve on the property. They are happy there now.
Thank you again for sharing your wonderful moments with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Although we went during the "green" season, the weather was relatively nice--with just a few rainy days during our week. Great weather to lounge by the pool or travel to Manuel Antonio Park.

The studio rooms are definitely quite compact. Don't expect a bathtub or large area for your clothes or toiletries. Sliding doors hide the closet-like sink/toilet/shower area, but the quality of materials used are quite nice and two can easily fit into the large shower. The TV is also small, but I suppose most people don't go to CR to watch tv ;)

The linens on the beds and covers are softly luxurious and high thread count. Great sleeping with the sound of the rain and great A/C.

If you're looking for a huge hotel/spa, this place may not be for you... but if you frequent lovely, small boutique hotels, try Gaia with it's super friendly staff, great service, and wonderful views. This is not a hotel on the beach in Hawaii, but has it's own charms nonetheless.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpchristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Yes indeed, monkeys in the trees. Three different varieties in fact including the endangered mono titi which now thrive in our private 14 acre reserve. These can be seen daily during our complimentary guided tour by our in-house nature expert.

Thank you for your kind words concerning your experience here at Gaia. You have captured the magic we intend to create here for our guests.

And having only 20 rooms we are truly boutique in every sense of the word. It allows us to spoil our guests with amenities not available in the larger impersonal hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our welcome was exceptional with a tour of the property. Alex did a great job as our assigned concierge. He arranged a great tour of the National Park with Eric our personal guide. Sandy and the front desk staff went out of their way to get my wife's camera working with the loan of a memory card. Spa was excellent. All staff throughout the hotel (pool, housekeeping, restaurant, etc) were first class. Complimentary transportation to beaches and town was punctual. This is one hotel to which I would return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are thrilled your experience here at Gaia Hotel & Reserve was a great experience.

Our guest captured all the wonderful aspects for which Gaia is now known. After 6 young years in existence, we continue to strive each day to make our guests experience truly memorable and special.

Gaia is a 5 star property without any attitude and this is demonstrated in kind words such as written above.

Thanking our guest for sharing their experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed at the Gaia in April and had an excellent experience. The owner Tom meets you on arrival. The hotel sits on top of the hill. The staff is extremely professional, accomadating and friendly. We went to the pool several days and were the only one there. We often felt we were the only people staying there. The room wasn't big but well appointed. We used the spa and the staff and rooms were top notch. We had a problem with a tour guide we arranged through the Gaia and Tom the owner went out of his way to resolve the situation. If you want to vaction at a romanatic beautiful spot this is the place. Had outstanding breakfast on our patio every morning watching the iguanas and tropical birds. The staff will take you to the beach and Mary will set you up with chairs and umbrella. Can't beat it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomz363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Our guests are our number one priority and any question about a difficulty will be dealt with immediately. This is nothing short of what one would do to their own family members. It was our pleasure to resolve the tour issue.

We are very happy your Gaia experience was great. Thank you for sharing with others on this TripAdvisor forum your very kind words. And thank you for your high recommendation.

Please come back and experience once again the romance we have created here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

First of all, Andres at the desk was a 10 when it comes to customer service. also, when one of the owners is present, ( in our case, Boris) they take a personal interest in their guests. Denis, the reserve guide, also did a fantastic job when it came to the nature hikes. Jorge, our driver, did a fantastic job by keeping our attention and pointing out trivia along the way. Room service ad the hotel restaurant offered excellent selections and over all, for a boutique hotel, we have nothing but positive things to say. Thak you Gaia for an awesome expeience!

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Markus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We are very happy you had an awesome experience at Gaia. Thanks for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum with other readers.
Our staff indeed make the difference in the quality experience. And each one considers our guests as a part of their family while spending time at Gaia.
We provide service way beyond expectations and consider that the basis of your holiday experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

a nice hotel for couples (also g. friendly). play is nice, and probably the best property in town. I'm afraid it's too expensive for what it is. Staff is very helpful and food was good. Didn't like to be so far from the beach though..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your visit here at Gaia Hotel & Reserve. We strive to make each and every guests experience as magical as possible.
We do this by offering complimentary shuttle service to the local town and beaches of Manuel Antonio. The shuttle service is a 7 minute drive to the beaches and National Park and are at the time required by the guests not the hotel. This serves also the return pick up back to hotel. We feel this is important.
Along with that we offer complimentary spa treatments in our Terra Spa and property wide wi fi. Our pools and fitness facility are open 24 hours for our guests use.
We are pleased you enjoyed our food as our restaurant is available also to our guests 24 hours each day.
We have posted here on this TripAdvisor forum very special discounted prices for it's readers and encourage our prospective guests to take advantage of these offerings. These are not available anywhere else.
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking your personal time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 931 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing