We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and nature in harmony”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury and nature in harmony”
Reviewed March 2, 2008

Our first trip to Costa Rica was truly a wonderful experience. Our stay at Gaia was above and beyond our expectations. The staff was friendly, happy and extremely accomodating. The rooms couldn't be cleaner, the food was delicious, and the drinks were fresh and well made.
We took advantage of the tour through the beautiful reserve and enjoyed walking the trails and seeing different wildlife. Also enjoyed yoga and full body massages.
Gaia is designed with privacy in mind, and we appreciated the thought that was put into the entire layout.
The views from our room, the pool and resturant were spectacular.
Can't wait to get back!

  • Liked — beautiful views and privacy
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wol01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    141
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
161
1,035
32
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Gaia for three nights last week and really enjoyed it. The staff is professional and very attentive. We were even welcomed by the owners, which is rare these days. My personal favorites were: fresh fruit by the pool, breakfast overlooking the tropical forest, and the bed! There was something special about the bed and/or linens . . . .so comfortable!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Ztex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2008

This is an amazing property: contemporary, sleek decor and architecture combined with the beauty of Costa Rica and all served up with impeccable service and attention. The hotel sits in the middle of its own reserve which can be explored alone or with a guide. From the moment you arrive, you are surrounded by an absolutely gorgeous property with the most amazing and attentive staff around. Nothing is omitted.The dining room is not only attractive with a killer view of the sunset, but it serves extraordinary fare with wonderfully diverse options. The pool and bar are equally impressive, as is the shop, which features local art and gifts. The staff will arrange tours with the best guides around and make sure you are treated well. The spa is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen and is well staffed. We had absolutely no complaints with the visit other than it was not long enough.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

If you are headed to Quepos this hotel is a MUST!

My husband and I just returned from an amazing stay at Gaia. Let it be known that we have VERY high standards when it comes to hotels, and Gaia met and surpassed each and every one of our criteria. It simply oozes cool…

From the car service that picks you up at the airport (and will take you wherever you need to go during the day) the personal tour you receive upon arrival, and the fantastic poolside service – this hotel has thought of everything to ensure maximum luxury and comfort for its guests. I am still trying to work out how I can replicate the hotel beds in my home…it felt like sleeping on a cloud.

The service from maintenance crew on up is OUTSTANDING! “No” is simply not in their vocabulary. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful - be careful what you wish for because even at the slightest mention it will be yours. These people bend over backwards to ensure that their guests have everything their heart desires and more.

The grounds are breathtaking – it is on a hill so you have gorgeous views of the jungle and ocean. From the Jacuzzi you can watch a fabulous sunset over the ocean…very romantic. Since the hotel sits on a reserve you can enjoy a guided nature tour of the grounds, or do as we did and simply sit by the pool to enjoy an afternoon show put on by the titi monkeys while you sip your afternoon cocktails.

The food is fantastic! I am missing my morning breakfasts! Gaia also has delicious afternoon tapas for a light snack and a melt in your mouth steak should you decide to remain on the grounds for dinner. We had a fabulous New Year’s Eve celebration at the hotel equipped with 4 course meal, band with 4 saxophone players, dancing, dinner and fireworks.

Quepos is a little touristy so after doing the tours, etc the first few days of our trip we did not leave the hotel grounds for 2 days. It is a great way to see Manuel Antonio and still come home relaxed and refreshed.

  • Liked — Views, rooms, service
  • Disliked — LOVED IT ALL!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank amrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Gaia is by far the BEST hotel I have ever stayed in. My husband and I arrived on the first night of our honeymoon. We left Boston at 4am, got stuck in Atlanta, then, of course, had to drive down from San Jose. We arrived at Gaia at 8pm local time (10pm Boston time) and were dead exhausted, starving, and over all, unhappy campers.

Driving up the street, we were thrilled to see the gate for Gaia... the look from the street is impressive before you even pass the gate! Checking in was smooth and easy, everything was ready for us by the time we arrived in the lobby. We were given wet cloths and quickly shown to our room. It was obvious how exhausted we were and we were told to come back in the morning for more details and the tour, if we wanted them. Our concierge showed us to our gorgeous suite, while a porter set up our bags, and a waitress arrived with drinks. When we asked about room service, the waitress immediately reappeared with menus. Room service arrived quickly and was delicious!

The next morning we were up early for a canopy tour. Waking up we were amazed with the view from our room (rain forest AND ocean) and from the restaurant where we went for breakfast. As other reviewers have commented, the breakfast is to die for. Lots of options, and you can get local fare or basic American, whichever you choose.

When we got back from our canopy tour, we asked for a tour of the resort. We were quickly introduced to one of the owners (forget his name). He gave us a tour of the resort and answered all of our questions, taking his time.

The pool bar is another must mention. Though I agree with other travelers opinions that the pool isn't the type of big resort action type pool, it is gorgeous in its own right. It is a series of 4 or 5 pools that waterfall into one another. Around the pool there are 2-3 locations to relax, some of which are fairly private. The swim up pool bar is always manned by one of their superb staff. (As mentioned by someone else, Danny is the best, ask him for recommendations for anything to do in CR!).

The kind of service we received here is something I haven't ever experienced at another hotel. The staff goes out of their way to cater to your needs, all the while chatting with you and making you feel comfortable. They aren't stuffy, they are relaxed, friendly, but yet overly efficient. We stayed at two other hotels in CR (Arenal Kioro and Paradisius) and both had great service. But the staff at both of these hotels lacked the personality that put Gaia over the top.

Try it, you won't regret it!

  • Liked — The service.
  • Disliked — Nothing - loved it all!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank picturepages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2007

Stayed at Gaia for three nights the week of Thanksgiving (suite). The room and property, generally, were quite beautiful/amazing - what one would expect from a pricey/modern hotel in a major metropolitan city.

I found the service to be lacking, however. The private concierge, which sounded great, was no more personal than a regular concierge at a larger hotel. I did not feel we received special or more personal attention once we arrived. The service (at the restaurant and pool bar specifically) was quite lacking. On one visit to the pool we waiting a good half hour for someone to turn the spa jets back on, and about 45 minutes before we were given towels. Generally speaking we had to get up and ask for things like a second or third round of drinks, food menus, and the bill, repeatedly. Would have expected more attentive service from a property of this caliber, but unfortunately this was lacking in ways I would have expected from a bigger/less pricey hotel.

We dined at the restaurant for our Thanksgiving dinner. It was perhaps the worst Thanksgiving meal I have ever eaten -- poorly designed (who has a potato hash/salad as the first course?) and trying to hard, and unfortunately failed miserably. We had room service afterwards because we were still hungry.

Despite the lacking food experience and the poor service, this was by far one of the better hotels, room-wise, that we stayed in during our trip to Costa Rica. Would recommend it highly, just be forewarned that if you're expecting to be waited on head-to-toe, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank relucanttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2007

We stayed at Gaia for the first part of our honeymoon and it was fabulous. Our suite was beautiful and spacious. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom and toiletries were first class. We had a couples massage at the spa and the experience was unforgettable. The massage room looks out on the most fabulous view. We also loved the restaurant and a delicious breakfast was included and I;m not talking about a continental breakfast - I am talking real food!! Also, the personal concierge was great and made sure that all of our excursions were booked. We really had a great time and meet alot of great people there.

  • Liked — Room and Food
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brina24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,164 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
971 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,403 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
514 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing