We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In LOVE with Gaia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“In LOVE with Gaia”
Reviewed January 3, 2008

If you are headed to Quepos this hotel is a MUST!

My husband and I just returned from an amazing stay at Gaia. Let it be known that we have VERY high standards when it comes to hotels, and Gaia met and surpassed each and every one of our criteria. It simply oozes cool…

From the car service that picks you up at the airport (and will take you wherever you need to go during the day) the personal tour you receive upon arrival, and the fantastic poolside service – this hotel has thought of everything to ensure maximum luxury and comfort for its guests. I am still trying to work out how I can replicate the hotel beds in my home…it felt like sleeping on a cloud.

The service from maintenance crew on up is OUTSTANDING! “No” is simply not in their vocabulary. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful - be careful what you wish for because even at the slightest mention it will be yours. These people bend over backwards to ensure that their guests have everything their heart desires and more.

The grounds are breathtaking – it is on a hill so you have gorgeous views of the jungle and ocean. From the Jacuzzi you can watch a fabulous sunset over the ocean…very romantic. Since the hotel sits on a reserve you can enjoy a guided nature tour of the grounds, or do as we did and simply sit by the pool to enjoy an afternoon show put on by the titi monkeys while you sip your afternoon cocktails.

The food is fantastic! I am missing my morning breakfasts! Gaia also has delicious afternoon tapas for a light snack and a melt in your mouth steak should you decide to remain on the grounds for dinner. We had a fabulous New Year’s Eve celebration at the hotel equipped with 4 course meal, band with 4 saxophone players, dancing, dinner and fireworks.

Quepos is a little touristy so after doing the tours, etc the first few days of our trip we did not leave the hotel grounds for 2 days. It is a great way to see Manuel Antonio and still come home relaxed and refreshed.

  • Liked — Views, rooms, service
  • Disliked — LOVED IT ALL!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank amrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    141
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
160
1,033
32
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Gaia is by far the BEST hotel I have ever stayed in. My husband and I arrived on the first night of our honeymoon. We left Boston at 4am, got stuck in Atlanta, then, of course, had to drive down from San Jose. We arrived at Gaia at 8pm local time (10pm Boston time) and were dead exhausted, starving, and over all, unhappy campers.

Driving up the street, we were thrilled to see the gate for Gaia... the look from the street is impressive before you even pass the gate! Checking in was smooth and easy, everything was ready for us by the time we arrived in the lobby. We were given wet cloths and quickly shown to our room. It was obvious how exhausted we were and we were told to come back in the morning for more details and the tour, if we wanted them. Our concierge showed us to our gorgeous suite, while a porter set up our bags, and a waitress arrived with drinks. When we asked about room service, the waitress immediately reappeared with menus. Room service arrived quickly and was delicious!

The next morning we were up early for a canopy tour. Waking up we were amazed with the view from our room (rain forest AND ocean) and from the restaurant where we went for breakfast. As other reviewers have commented, the breakfast is to die for. Lots of options, and you can get local fare or basic American, whichever you choose.

When we got back from our canopy tour, we asked for a tour of the resort. We were quickly introduced to one of the owners (forget his name). He gave us a tour of the resort and answered all of our questions, taking his time.

The pool bar is another must mention. Though I agree with other travelers opinions that the pool isn't the type of big resort action type pool, it is gorgeous in its own right. It is a series of 4 or 5 pools that waterfall into one another. Around the pool there are 2-3 locations to relax, some of which are fairly private. The swim up pool bar is always manned by one of their superb staff. (As mentioned by someone else, Danny is the best, ask him for recommendations for anything to do in CR!).

The kind of service we received here is something I haven't ever experienced at another hotel. The staff goes out of their way to cater to your needs, all the while chatting with you and making you feel comfortable. They aren't stuffy, they are relaxed, friendly, but yet overly efficient. We stayed at two other hotels in CR (Arenal Kioro and Paradisius) and both had great service. But the staff at both of these hotels lacked the personality that put Gaia over the top.

Try it, you won't regret it!

  • Liked — The service.
  • Disliked — Nothing - loved it all!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank picturepages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2007

Stayed at Gaia for three nights the week of Thanksgiving (suite). The room and property, generally, were quite beautiful/amazing - what one would expect from a pricey/modern hotel in a major metropolitan city.

I found the service to be lacking, however. The private concierge, which sounded great, was no more personal than a regular concierge at a larger hotel. I did not feel we received special or more personal attention once we arrived. The service (at the restaurant and pool bar specifically) was quite lacking. On one visit to the pool we waiting a good half hour for someone to turn the spa jets back on, and about 45 minutes before we were given towels. Generally speaking we had to get up and ask for things like a second or third round of drinks, food menus, and the bill, repeatedly. Would have expected more attentive service from a property of this caliber, but unfortunately this was lacking in ways I would have expected from a bigger/less pricey hotel.

We dined at the restaurant for our Thanksgiving dinner. It was perhaps the worst Thanksgiving meal I have ever eaten -- poorly designed (who has a potato hash/salad as the first course?) and trying to hard, and unfortunately failed miserably. We had room service afterwards because we were still hungry.

Despite the lacking food experience and the poor service, this was by far one of the better hotels, room-wise, that we stayed in during our trip to Costa Rica. Would recommend it highly, just be forewarned that if you're expecting to be waited on head-to-toe, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank relucanttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2007

We stayed at Gaia for the first part of our honeymoon and it was fabulous. Our suite was beautiful and spacious. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom and toiletries were first class. We had a couples massage at the spa and the experience was unforgettable. The massage room looks out on the most fabulous view. We also loved the restaurant and a delicious breakfast was included and I;m not talking about a continental breakfast - I am talking real food!! Also, the personal concierge was great and made sure that all of our excursions were booked. We really had a great time and meet alot of great people there.

  • Liked — Room and Food
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brina24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2007

I stayed at the resort for 5 nights in the Gaia Suite, needless to say being upgraded to their "Presidential" suite makes my review a bit skewed. Danny, Oscar and Elliot are exceptional members of their staff; they really know how to provide service to their guest. One night my girlfriend was sick and not feeling very well, we left in the middle of dinner and it was not a problem to move everything back to our suite. Oscar even brought in some medicine for her to help with the headaches. The owners were there during our stay and introduced themselves and welcomed us to the resort while we were having drinks by the poolside bar (thought that was nice). He even drove us to the airport on our way to our next city.

The only blemish I would say about the resort is the concierge service. Booked us on the wrong tour, but we adjusted as we were fine with the change. They forgot to pass along information to the afternoon staff that we were to be picked up at a certain location after a tour of the rainforest.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacay4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights last week and I have never had better service in a hotel. My wife and I stayed in a deluxe suite which was amazing. The bed was super soft, the TV was flat screen with a DVD player (they had a decent selection at the front desk free of charge), and the bath and shower was incredible. We had a sitting room, a patio, and our own personal verandah with a reflecting pool and a cabana.

We ate all of our meals on the property. Breakfast was included and you can eat in your room or patio or in the restaurant. Lunch and dinner are in the restaurant which had great service and selection, but was casual. I wore shorts every night. We met the chef on the first night and he said he could customize any meal, so we ordered off the menu a couple of times.

I am a huge planner and the main reason I selected GAIA was for the personal valet. Our valet Christian took care of everything for us, from excursions, to spa treatments, to getting our flights changed when he thought our connection was too tight.

I could ramble on for a long time about how good we felt about our stay. Send me a message if you have any specific questions. We had a driver on the way down and we took Nature Air on the way back so I can comment on both experiences. Take the plane if your schedule permits! We did a park tour, a canopy tour, and went white water rafting. I charged everything directly to the hotel.

I am sure you can find better prices in Costa Rica for the meals, tours, and massage treatments that we had. But if you are looking for the royal treatment without pretentious service and you would like to have no worries, Gaia is for you.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank memphis_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We recently stayed at the Gaia Hotel and unfortunately were not impressed. For a member of Small Luxury Hotels it left alot to be desired, and we certainly wouldn´t rate it 5 stars. The hotel looks and feels like a big white modern industrial warehouse plopped on a hill near the jungle. (see pics on their website!) For being fairly new, the hotel needs some serious maintenance repairs, such as paint, scratched floors, stained walls all would be a good start. They also have serious mold issues, which made my girlfriend´s asthma go crazy and made everything slippery and dangerous. We did not have this problem at any other hotel in Costa Rica, so they need to address it. Altho Gaia totes ocean views, that means far far away in the distance, so don´t plan on getting a true feel of the wonderful beaches there, as they are not even close to the hotel. A 5 star hotel should have a 5 star location and this one did not. On a positive note...the staff was very friendly and accommodating, the area offers many fun activities, and we enjoyed the food at the hotel very much.....tho a bit pricy and inconsistant, but nonetheless, very good. We did not dislike the hotel overall, it just was not worth the price and felt like it should be located in the outskirts of Los Angelesand not beautiful Costa Rica. We can¨t wait to visit the country again though, it is incredible.

  • Liked — Manuel Antonio area has great tours
  • Disliked — The hotel is like a modern warehouse
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lighteningrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,154 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
968 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,401 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
511 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Reserve

Property: Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Address: Km 2.7 Carretera Quepos a Manuel Antonio, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#1 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gaia Hotel & Reserve 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaia Hotel, Manuel Antonio's only 5-star resort and dining. Bask in our infinity-edge pools, dash Aveda bath salts into your Jacuzzi and relax enjoying the jungle and ocean views. Rooms feature A/C, cable, flat screen TVs, portable phones, home entertainment units, internet connectivity, coffee-maker, mini-bar, safety box, hairdryer, 24/7 room service and full spa services. Your personal valet sees to your needs, and our Nature Guide hosts an exclusive tour of our 12-acre Nature Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel And Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing