We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location and friendly staff”
Review of Cabinas Espadilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Espadilla
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Very clean and basic room. Enjoyed a corner room with private outdoor seating area. Refrigerator and a/c were a plus. Best feature of this hotel was location. 1 minute to beach (with private walkway) and 2 minutes to entrance of Manual Antonio Park. The grounds are beautiful with a lovely pool and many private outdoor seating areas. Loved seeing squirrel monkeys right outside our door along with iguanas and many birds. The breakfast was at a sister hotel (again just 1 minute away) which featured made to order omlets and a big buffet with fresh fruit. The ocean had amazing sunsets each evening and was perfect and uncrowded. The town was small but offered many excellent dining options. Highly recommend paying the extra for a guide in Manual Antonio Park - he showed us many things we never would have seen. This is not a luxery hotel but a very clean and basic room - very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 182 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

I really enjoyed las cabinas! The rooms need a bit of renovation like the windows, but overall it's a clean and nice place. the garden is amazing and the pool is clean. I saw monkeys and iguanas right on the site.
The breaksfast is really good and the staff more than helpful !

The wifi doesn't work that much in the rooms but it worked when I was around the pool or near the reception.

I recommend this place but keep in mind that the rooms are small and basic.

The location is perfect because you have a small path at the end of the parking that goes straight to the beach and it's about 2minutes from the entrance of Manuel Antonio national Park.

Room Tip: if you want tranquility, it's better if you take the farthest cabinas (not near the entrance and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were guests at Cabinas Espadilla for four nights in March 2014.

We learned of Cabinas Espadilla from our trip planner Pura Vida! Eh? (who we highly recommend, by the way). We had some concerns about Cabinas Espadilla based on some negative reviews we had seen online, but our experience was very positive, and we would recommend this property to others.

The rooms at Cabinas Espadilla are basic, and small. Don’t expect anything fancy inside the rooms. That said, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and perfectly adequate. These really aren’t cabinas, in the sense of individual cabins. Rather, this is more like a series one-story 6 room clusters – probably 30 rooms in all.

We were traveling with two children, and had booked one room (which was presented as able to hold 4 people). Upon arrival, we found that the room with a kitchenette and two double beds was really too small for four people and suitcases – there was literally no room to open up four small bags on the floor.

The management was very courteous and responsive, and offered to move us to another room with a 3d bed instead of the kitchenette, and this worked much better for the four of us.

Cabinas Espadilla is set back from the main commercial area along the beach, so there’s a sense of quiet and privacy. The grounds are very pretty and well maintained, with flowering plants and fruit trees – theres no avoiding you're in the middle of a tropical paradise. The pool is basic, but very clean and well maintained.

From Cabinas Espadilla, it is a two minute walk to Playa Espadilla beach, which you can access via a private, flat pathway through the back of the property, or along the main road.

A note about accommodations in Manuel Antonio – and this is something I had a hard time visualizing as we were making our plans. Most of the hotels in Manuel Antonio are located along the 8 km curvy road that runs along a mountain ridge between beginning in Quepos and ending at Playa Espadilla beach and the national park. Most of the higher end hotel properties and restaurants are located along this ridge. Some of the properties along the ridge may have lovely views, but they aren’t within walking distance of a beach. The road is hilly and curvy, and not easily walkable, especially with young children. There are plenty of cabs and buses available to take you to the beach and national park, but if you want to be near the beach, or within walking distance, you need a hotel at beach level.

The Manuel Antonio road comes back down to beach level at Playa Espadilla, a beautiful, long beach. Although there is a small strip of restaurants and gift shops across the street from the beach, there are no hotels directly on the beach. Most of the hotels at beach level are located on the 1 km road that runs back away from the beach and toward the entrance to the national park. For hotels, Cabinas Espadilla is about as close as you can get to the beach. While there are several hotel options available at beach level, most of them are small and none are really “resort style” -- frankly, the lack of glitz is one of the attractions of Manuel Antonio.

Cabinas Espadilla has a sister property, Hotel Playa Espadilla, which is located a two minute walk further away from the beach. Breakfast is part of the package, and the sister hotel is where the buffet is served: made to order omelets, fresh fruit, sausage, plantains, rice and beans, baked goods. Lots of food, and good quality. The hotel pool and hot tub are also available to guests of the cabinas. The Hotel Playa Espadilla is billed as a superior property to the Cabinas, with larger and more modern rooms, but at a higher price. While the rooms at the hotel may be bigger and better decorated, I would recommend the Cabinas due its close proximity to the beach, beautiful grounds and value.

For lunch or dinner, we recommend the restaurant across the street from the Cabinas – the Costa Linda. It has much the same menu as most other area restaurants, but they serve up a particularly good version of the fish casado (the typical Costa Rican plate of rice, beans, salad, and either fish, chicken, beef or pork), they have great prices (about $7 for the casado and $2 for rum and cokes and beer) and are very friendly. Their fish casado was one of the best meals we had in Costa Rica.

In addition, don't miss the ceviche vendors along the beach.

We came to Manuel Antonio after 4 days in the La Fortuna/Arenal area, where we did most of our adventure activity (river rafting, zip lining, hanging bridges, volcano tour, waterfall), and were looking forward to some relaxation time. Manuel Antonio is a great place to relax. The only activity we scheduled for Manuel Antonio was the national park tour, which is a must-do for Manuel Antonio. We weren't sure about the value of paying $35 each for a guided tour of the park when the entrance fee is only $10, and our hotel is a 5-minute walk from the entrance. After taking the tour, I can tell you that having a having a knowledgeable guide is key to this tour. Our guide was Juan, with Aguila tours, and he helped us spot howler monkeys, toucans, sloths, iguanas and snakes, which we never would have seen without him. He used his high powered scope to help us get great views of the animals, and he even helped us get amazing quality photos by aiming our point and shoot cameras through his high powered lens. It was a great tour.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milena C, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2015

Hello Rich!

Thank you for your detailed explanation of our property. We appreciate your valuable input.

I just wish to clarify that Cabinas Espadilla constructed property is approximately 500 square meters. It contains 16 units - not 30.
 
I am glad that you liked the proximity to the beach, national park tour, the great breakfast, pools we offer and others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Where we had originally planned to stay was booked. A local, Giovanni, from Raphael's told us about this gem. The location couldn't be better as it is located across the street from the beach and practically next door to Manual Antonio State Park. The beaches are incredible with an array of things available to do. You can choose from SUPs, surf boards and lessons, parasailing, ski jets, massages, chairs and umbrellas, and local delicacies. The cabinas we stayed in had a kitchenette, a/c, tv, two double beds and hot shower. The pool was lovely though we spent most of our time at the beach. The breakfast was by far the best complimentary breakfast we have ever had at any hotel in Costa Rica or the States. Fresh cut local fruit and made to order omelettes were so delicious that I hardly noticed the other goodies lining the table. The staff was friendly, helpful and very pleasant. We saw several monkeys swinging from the palm trees on the path back from the beach around sunset. We felt very secure staying in these cabinas. One day we accidentally left our door unlocked and ajar while at the beach. We came back to absolutely nothing missing or disturbed. Talk about save! Although we rented a car to come to Manuel Antonio, we easily could have taken a bus as everything is in walking distance from these cabinas. Would highly recommend this place and would come back just to stay here again. Leo at the front desk is a great asset!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betsy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milena C, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2015

Hello Betsy!

We are glad you enjoyed you stay at Cabinas Espadilla. And you liked so much Manuel Antonio area.

We want to thank, for the kind words you reviewed on the place.

Best regards,

Milena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel is located about half way between the entrance to the national park and a great beach with all the amenities. A very easy walk to either one. Beautiful, clean pool right outside your room with warm water (about 90 degrees) that felt wonderful after a day at the beach or the park. The cabin we had was a standard (no kitchenette) but it did have a coffee maker and a fridge with a small freezer for ice (nice for making in room drinks). Our cabin was less than $120/night including taxes! We had a porch with 2 chairs and a love seat that fronted the drive next to the pool. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was served at the adjoining hotel's restaurant which was located in a jungle setting next to the hotel's beautiful pool with a swim up bar. The breakfast was cereal, fresh watermelon, papaya, pineapple, bananas, other fresh fruits, various bread to toast, pancakes, sausage, tortillas, made to order omeletes , fried eggs, scrambled eggs, hot coffee, hot milk(for café con leche), fresh orange juice, hot teas and a lot of other things I didn't try. I've paid $18 for a breakfast buffet in the states that couldn't hold a candle to this! The entire staff was clean, professional, friendly and helpful. Especially Leo Martinez at the front desk. Wish I could be there now!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donatthelake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milena C, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2015

Hello Donatthelake2!

We are happy you liked so much our place, hope you can visit our piece of paradise very soon.


All the best and Pura vida!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Location close to park and safe and convenient parking were real pluses. Nice pool & good breakfast. Rooms a bit tired, dark and small. Kitchenette was very handy. No light over bathroom sink and no hot water in sink--apparently a CR custom. Fair hot water in shower.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank 2NCaliftravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milena C, Front Office Manager at Cabinas Espadilla, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2015

Hello and thanks for your review.
The management is been working on improvements and remodeling at all points you mentioned. Thank you very much for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great hotel for vacation on the Pacific ocean. The location is 5 minutes from the beach. Manuel Antonio national park is 5 minutes walk also.
Several cabinas located around the swimming pool. The rooms have ketchenette equipped with coffee-maker, fridge, stove, sink and all the necessary crockery. Do not leave the fook on the counter, as thre are some ants there.
Beds are comfortable with a lot of pillows. A/C work fine. TV has a lot of English-speaking channels to choose from.
Breakfast is served in the main hotel not far from the hotel. Good variety of food and drinks.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Early check-in possible.
Cleaning is amazing. They bring you flowers in the room and make different figure out of flowers. Really nice.
I'd recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serval47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Espadilla
Hotel Playa Espadilla
#21 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
562 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
924 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Prats Hotel
Villa Prats Hotel
#30 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Espadilla

Address: 300 meters before Manuel Antonio Nal. | Park entrance, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $143 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Espadilla Cabins is a beautiful little beach hotel located just one minute from the beach in Manuel Antonio. It has 16 units surrounded by beautiful gardens, a swimming pool and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Espadilla Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Cabinas Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing