We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Cabinas Espadilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Espadilla
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2008

This was a great little place for the price ($64/night with tax) and access to the beach (3 min walk) and Manual Antonio National Park (10 min walk). Despite all the cons listed below, this place looked much nicer than others in the area at similar prices and I would stay here again if going to the park.

Pros:
Good AC, good price, above average cleanliness, nice grounds, nice pool, hot water, fridge, safe in room ($40 deposit), chairs on outside patios.

Cons:
Some staff were a bit difficult to work with, a little mold in bathroom but to be expected in the rain forest, no coffee in room or on grounds, extra towels cost money, laundry service very expensive ($1-3 per item- go across the street to the hostel and they will do your laundry for $7 per bag), no breakfast (again, go across the street to the hostel and get a great breakfast for $3), no phones in room, no free local calls from front desk phone.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Atrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 181 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2008

My friend and I stayed here due to great reviews on TripAdvisor, and we second those reviews! Cabinas had really lovely grounds and access to two great pools: the one at Cabinas Espadilla and the one across the street at Hotel Espadilla. The swim up bar at the hotel pool was a great plus, and the room was clean and comfortable. The people at the front desk were always very helpful, and this place was really close to the beach and national park. We walked to the beach in probably three minutes. I would stay here again without hesitation!!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights with 3 friends. The room was tiny but clean. Had hot water, AC, a fridge, and our own small outdoor patio. The lovely pool was a nice change of pace from the salt water, but if you DID want the beach, it was a 3 minute walk down a nice path. The Park entrance was a 5 minute walk with easy access to vendors, restaurants, internet, and a bakery. Very basic, but a great location if you want an escape from the main street madness. The cabs are only $4 if you want to check out the places along and up to Quepos. Busses are less and run every half hour, although they can be crowded. Although the Cabinas don't offer meals, there are a few hotels/hostels directly across the street that have great food. Didn't find the staff very helpful with tour planning, phone use, or efficiency, however.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chelone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

We stayed at this hotel in May of 2007. The main reasons we chose this hotel - location and for the great reviews it had on Trip Advisor. We traveled with our two young sons (ages 3 & 6) and we wanted to be an easy walk from Manuel Antonio Park. The walk to the park was very easy, even for the kids. We were very pleased with the staff, they were very friendly and helpful (great English). The room was very clean and everything functioned well (hot water, refrigerator, A/C, in-room safe). We felt safe at night with two guards on the property throughout the night. The pool was great and the grounds were very well kept. We had both dinner and breakfast at the sister hotel and had good service and food. We used their laundry service and we were pleased – they even did our kids’ PJs for free! The room was a tight fit with all four of us but it worked just fine (two double beds). I thought it was a great value for the money and in some ways a surprising value for the money. For those of us with an adventurous spirit and a budget it was a great fit. We had a rental car and so we were able to drive up the hill to restaurants – the street is very narrow and I was not at all comfortable with the kids walking up the side of the road. We had some great meals with great views! What an amazing park. I can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattlemomof2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

Our trip was from February 1 to February 17, 2008. We stayed at (and wrote reviews for) the following hotels (if you are interested in the others):
Hotel Vista Caribe, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Doubletree Cariari by Hilton, San Jose, Costa Rica
Cabinas Espadilla, Manuel Anotonio, Costa Rica
Garden Court Hotel, San Jose, Costa Rica
Days Hotel - Greenspoint, Houston, TX, USA

My husband and I stayed at the Espadilla from February 9 to February 15, 2008. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we LOVED it. Forget Mexico, this is where we’ll be exploring the next few years!

We rented a car in San Jose (from Dollar although I think we might try Thrifty next time, just because of their proximity to the airport) along with a GPS and drove to Manuel Antonio. The roads were not near as bad as we expected, although we’d agree with not driving at night or in a rainstorm (in the mountains). The traffic in San Jose is terrible, but you are on the edge so don’t have much to deal with. The road to Quepos is actually pretty well marked if you pay attention, however the GPS gave us an extra measure of comfort. The initial drive is very narrow and windy and there are single lane bridges and construction delays, but it’s all paved. When we headed south the roads got wider and except for one stretch were well paved. The bad stretch was paved, but patched everywhere so a little rough.

The Cabinas and the associated Hotel are down a side road which we missed the first time, but found second time by and within 5 minute walk to the beach and about 10 minutes to the park. The whole area is hotels, but it was very quiet. We were in Cabina 15 which contained two double beds, wardrobe, fridge and bathroom. It was quite small, but just fine for a couple. Might be a little crowded for two singles and no privacy if you’ve got kids – unless it’s a baby/toddler. There are bigger rooms though and the Hotel Espadilla across the road appeared to have fairly standard, two bed hotel rooms. It was extremely clean, well sealed and the A/C and fridge worked perfectly. We had hot water in the shower and you can brush your teeth with the tap water. Being our first trip, I was concerned about bugs, but it wasn’t a problem at all. I would advise against leaving any open food in the room though as the one night that I spilled some cough syrup, I did find about a dozen of these tiny little ant things eating the sugar on the outside of the bottle the next morning, but besides that – nothing. The Cabinas have a small, clean pool, but guests also have access to the restaurant, pool, bar and tennis courts of the sister Hotel across the road.

We chose the location to be close to the beach which we prefer to hanging by the pool, so this was perfect for us. We saw squirrel monkey’s daily, had a sloth come through the grounds and saw multitudes of iguanas, chameleons and other lizard like critters. There was a deer that wandered through a couple days, we could hear the howler monkeys and we saw a couple other creatures we’re not sure what they were.

We loved the beach. Having just come from Playa del Carmen, we were amazed at how much warmer the water was and at the tide activity. During the day the beach was quite big, but it would get quite small at night. The waves were big enough at times to surf on, but not as regularly rough as we’ve seen in Cancun and would come and go with the tides. All beaches are public (no hotels right on the beach) but there were entrepreneurs to rent you lounge chairs and an umbrella for the day ($10 US/day for the two of us). There were street/beach vendors but they weren’t in your face like in Mexico. They’d just go down the beach, calling their wares which mostly included fruits, food and drink, so were an asset to have around rather than being a hassle.

We ate at several different places including at the Hotel Espadilla where the food was really good. The buffet breakfast offered variety and if you’re a light eater, they cut down the cost. The backpacker’s place, Casa Linda across the street also offered breakfast until 10:30 at a good price. We had dinner at the seafood restaurant at Si Como No (great), snacks at Gato Negro (great), dinner at Agua Azul (great), dinner at El Avion (very good and what a sunset!), plus drinks at a number of locations, all of which were tasty and reasonable. We didn’t eat at either of the restaurant/bars right next to the beach, but the Blue Marlin seemed pretty busy every night when we went down for a drink after dinner.

We only did two activities as we were mostly there to relax and enjoy the sun. We did the Canopy Tours zip lines for $65 US/each and had a great time. They are extremely safe and I’d recommend them to anyone. We had hoped to see some new wildlife on that tour, but given that there are people zipping through the forest and making lots of noise, I can see why the wildlife stays away. We also hiked through Manuel Antonio Park one day which was very pretty. Take lots and lots of water! I had a cold, so we chose not to hire a guide as I wasn’t sure how long I’d last, but I would consider a guide another time as they seemed to provide lots of information and seem to be able to spot creatures most of us missed. They carry telescopes so you can get a good look. I’d definitely recommend taking binoculars with you to Costa Rica!

The only challenge some might find with the area is how spread out it is. The section near the beach shuts down by 10:30, even on the weekends. We understood that there were clubs and bars that stay open later on the hill, but walking down the narrow, unlit jungle road after dark was an adventure (not always lots of room to jump off the road when a car comes along). We walked the 1.5 km from our hotel up to the Gato Negro (where we were to meet friends for dinner) and were dripping sweat by the time we walked through the door (lovely!). There are plenty of taxis, but I think you’d want to be out of the lower beach area by 9:00 as the taxis don’t hang around down there and the hotel lobbies close around 10:00 or 10:30 as well and there are no phones in the rooms. The backpackers place across the street was open the latest until 11:00 but there’s not much ambiance in the place. If you are looking to party, I’d stay closer to Quepos. If you’re OK turning it down by 10:30 and then maybe enjoying a quiet beer or two from your own fridge, this is the place!

The service everywhere was great but we were extremely impressed with our hosts at Espadilla. The lobby staff in the Cabinas, both morning and afternoon were extremely helpful and very kind. There was discrete security on the grounds at night and after forgetting my purse on the bench outside our cabina late the first night, it was returned to the lobby and I retrieved it the next morning with all the cash, ID and cards in place!! (Thanks guys, I’m still embarrassed about that one!!) Yafet was very helpful with tours and showing us our room and the amenities. When the sloth went through the grounds, we were sitting outside and a staff member called us over and told us about them. The restaurant staff was friendly and the service was great. Keep in mind you may have to ask for another drink and the bill as they aren’t constantly there asking if you want something else – just a different atmosphere which we found everywhere in Costa Rica. We were very impressed with everyone’s English and although we attempted some Spanish (some language differences to Mexico here as well), they were quick to switch to English when we couldn’t follow…and helpful in speaking slowly in Spanish when we made our attempts in their language.

We loved Espadilla, thought it was good value at $90/night and would definitely go back. In the same area, we thought Hotel Villa Bosque and the Manuel Antonio Hotel also looked like they were well cared for. La Posada consistently gets good reviews here, and we walked by, but there is little to see from the road, so I can’t compare. We spoke to some people who said the Casitas Eclipse up on the hill was nice and we thought Si Como No was very pretty (although I’d guess pricey). We had friends at Costa Verde and they said they got bugs in their ground floor room at night, although the other couple didn’t have problems on the third floor. There are tons of places to stay around here so I couldn’t possibly remember them all, but hopefully that helps if you’re looking in the area. Happy to answer questions.

Thanks Espadilla….see you next year!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MoretaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel near Manuel Antonio Park. It's on a quiet road which is less than a 5 minute walk to the beach, and a few more to the park entrance. They have a medium size pool for swimming or sunning yourself. The room was very clean with a queen-size bed and 2 bunk beds, small kitchenette (fridge, microwave, stove-top burners), and a shared courtyard with a sink and clothesline. The bathroom had a hot shower. There is a small safe (requires cash or credit card deposit), air conditioning and ceiling fan in the main room.

We ate delicious, very filling and cheap breakfasts across the street at a hostel for about $3.00 each (includes coffee, plate of fruit, plate of gallo pinto, pancakes, bacon, etc.). There are a number of good restaurants nearby for lunch and dinner. The hotel doesn't have it's own restaurant.

We took the bus from San Jose, and it stops almost directly across from the road which leads to the hotel. The bus stop for the return trip or for the bus into Quepos is just across the street going the opposite direction.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank sodomojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

We had a cabin booked at La Posada ( GREAT place!) for a couple of nights, but they were full for the third night, so we decided to stay somewhere nearby. Cabinas Espadilla is quite a bit more expensive, and the cabin is not nearly as nice. The property does look good from the outside, though-- I will give them that.

The hospitality was so-so: the check out time was 12, but our bus to the airport didn't leave until 5, so they let us keep our stuff in the office after we had vacated the room. That was nice, but when we used the pool that afternoon, they charged us to use the towels because we were no longer technically guests.

In short, it's an ok place, but there are better places in the area for what you pay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn On The Park
Inn On The Park
#41 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#26 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Espadilla
Hotel Playa Espadilla
#21 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Prats Hotel
Villa Prats Hotel
#29 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Espadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Espadilla

Address: 300 meters before Manuel Antonio Nal. | Park entrance, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $122 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Espadilla Cabins is a beautiful little beach hotel located just one minute from the beach in Manuel Antonio. It has 16 units surrounded by beautiful gardens, a swimming pool and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Espadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Espadilla Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Cabinas Espadilla Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing