We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!”

Big Ruby's La Plantacion
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Ruby's La Plantacion
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!”
Reviewed May 7, 2008

The best gay holiday we've ever had, La Plantacion is the perfect destination in Costa Rica. The property is absolutely beautiful, with immaculately manicured grounds surrounding the pool area, and the rooms themselves are superb. The staff are amazing, all of them accommodating, even though we don't speak Spanish, making our stay incredible. Leslie is so passionate and lovely, he made our stay absolutely perfect - he should definitely get a raise! I can't stop thinking about our vacation, and can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Absolutely perfect GAY destination
  • Disliked — nothing, it was perfect
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Terrible experience.
We didn`t find a place to stay.....we arrived very late at night......at the morning the "big surprise".............
Definetly....if you are not gay....simply don`t stay there !!!

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — just for gays
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank randreothegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2008

I would come back and stay here again. It was absolutely a great place to stay. Staff was friendly, helpful, and went beyond the normal for me.

  • Liked — Great gay hotel, felt very welcome
  • Disliked — No Ocean view
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldguyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

When considering booking a gay hotel near Quepos and Manuel Antonio, I was torn between the ones with ocean views, vs. the ones on the other side of the street more in the "jungle". The websites made them all seem similar. Here's what we learned when we got there: None of the hotels are on the beach in this immediate area. There are several miles between the ones with an ocean view, and the actual ocean. The ocean side hotels are on much more of a slope, so you have to deal with ALOT of stairs at those properties. The view at Casa Blanca is not worth climbing the Washington Monument to get to your room, neither was the room itself.

After one night we moved over to Big Ruby's for the rest of the week. When we walked in and saw the place, we were floored. It's gorgeous, and the website doe NOT do it justice! Yes it was more expensive, but not double as previously stated. We had a deluxe room on the first floor (so, no, their not all on the second floor). We liked the first floor better because other guests stopped to meet/say hi when you're sitting on your patio. No bug or critter problems. The staff is wonderful. Bill the manager asked everyday if everything was OK and could he get us anything. Leslie at the front desk is the most accomodating you'll ever meet. Paulo at the bar is a sweetheart, and no he doesn't make his own hours. The hotel bar closes at 9PM.

I would stay at La Plantacion before Villa Roca or Casa Blanca even if the rates got higher. It's that much nicer. My only regret is not checking the bar bill long before we checked out. No idea the bar drink prices were so high.

  • Liked — It's design, service and location are wonderful!
  • Disliked — Bar drink prices surprisingly high
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Futurecruzan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAHMike
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

I was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the hotel property was. It's not much to write home about from the street, but once you step out of the office it's paradise. Although there's no ocean view from the rooms the view of the pool and gardens are amazing. The room we had was spacious and very clean. The linens were top notch and the small touches like fresh flowers and bathrobes were nice.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. Paulo, the bartender was a hoot and makes a delicious mango margarita!
I definitely recommend the zip line tour with Jose. That was the best $65 I've ever spent. The tour lasted 5 hours including transporation to and from the canopy and the meal that is served at the end of the tour was delicious!
I highly recommend renting a car and driving to Quepos if flying into San Jose....but make sure you rent a GPS Navigation system if it's offered...the roads are not well marked so finding your way around can be difficult without one. National rents them along with their rentals for $8/day...well worth the money.
I'm already planning a group trip back to this hotel with friends. It's well worth the cost!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IAHMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2008

I had a truly wonderful time at Big Ruby's-La Plantacion. I had been to the Big Ruby's in Key West and based upon that experience, booked a room here.

The hotel is not on the beach and there are no ocean views. If you want that, go accross the street to other gay guest house.

What you have at Big Ruby's is a self contained, lush tropical garden. The property consists of a main house, with an open air salon, bar area and a lovely pool, which is clothing optional. There are about six or so bungalows and two other larger buildings with suites in them. All have private terraces. The grounds are gated and entry is restricted to guests. Once you check in, there are no worries about theft and you can drink the tap water!

When I was there, the guest mix was great. All gay men, about 70% from the US and the rest from Europe. All were friendly and there was a refreshing lack of attitude from both the guests and the staff.

I stayed in bungalow #4 which is in the back and has it's own and secluded view.

  • Liked — Location, luxury, all-gay guesthouse
  • Disliked — No ocean view
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chasmader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

from the moment we checked in we loved it! The room was perfect with our own private patio. The staff was great and knew how to answer our questions. The pool/hot tub and other guests were perfect and hot!

  • Liked — pool area and gardens
  • Disliked — had to leave too soon
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank randyjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byblos Resort & Casino
Byblos Resort & Casino
#28 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Ruby's La Plantacion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Ruby's La Plantacion

Property: Big Ruby's La Plantacion
Address: Apto 94-6350, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
La Plantacion (Big Ruby`s) Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Big Ruby's La Plantacion Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing