We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas Mymosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas Mymosa
Rawdon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Villas Mymosa for 4 nights in December, and we had a spring villa. The hotel is located up a small hill from the road, which is a perfect location, since you don't hear the noise coming from the road, but you are only 2minutes away from the bus stop ( which is litterally in front of the hotel ). Taxi from the bus station in Quepos will cost you around 2$ which is nice. The hotel is closer to Quepos than to Manuel Antonio, so the best way to get there is by bus. Buses come every 10minutes or so and cost 50cents.

The hotel is beautiful, the pool is big and very enjoyable. A lot of the rooms have their doors opening directly to the pool area. Our villa was absolutely perfect! Big and pretty with nice paintings and lots of sitting areas. The kitchen is small and there are only a few kitchen tools which are kind of old, but all in all it was great. We had a big balcony with an outside table and a hammock, and a pretty view of palm trees and nature.

There were 2 employees at the reception at the time we were there. One of them was really helpful, even though sometimes she looked like she had enough of us asking questions. The other on the other hand, barely spoke english and always looked annoyed by our questions. In the end she wasn't really helpful.

Other thing we disliked was the wi-fi connection. It only works around the pool area, and not in the rooms, which is annoying.

If you go at this hotel, be sure to look around carefully before going up the little hill, since there is a monkey bridge not so far. You'll find those bridges across the road between Manuel Antonio and Quepos, and it's not rare to see monkeys crossing them!

All in all, it's a beautiful place, very well located and I would recommend it without a doubt.

Room Tip: We had a spring villa which was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hrvatska17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    35
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
43
24
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very beachy/tropical feel to this hotel. I especially liked the indoor/outdoor feel of the room. It was great to have a private back patio with a hammock with a little view. This hotel was a bit unique compared to others during our 10-day trip. It ended up being my favorite. It felt casual, homey, and a bit romantic with the open terrace.

I read a few reviews about bugs. Yes, there are some very small ants pretty much constantly running in the kitchen and bathroom areas. I made sure to keep all food stored away. No problems there. Also, we ran into little lizards, a few larger bugs, and flies during our 4-night stay. I tend to have a high standard for living in clean spaces, so I was a bit uneasy at first. However after the first night, I got used to it. Not a huge deal. After all, you're in the tropics. It's to be expected.

The location is a bit difficult to find. We got lost trying to find the place and one of our scheduled activity buses also got lost resulting in a 30-minute delay to our excursion. This map may help you: http://www.cupotico.com/maps/Manuel%20Antonio%20maps.html (#9).

Otherwise, it's nicely located pretty much halfway between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. That was great for us.

The service at the bar and restaurant was absolutely fantastic. Very sweet, attentive, and friendly staff. The included breakfast was excellent. The dinner menu was surprisingly delicious, affordable, and fresh. We only ate dinner there once (wanted to explore the area), but it definitely was worth it.

Finally, you can tell that there's a sense of family/regulars here. Seems like people come back time and time again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klv82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Detroit
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here for two days over Thanksgiving weekend 2012. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Staff was very, very accommodating. Restaurant staff very helpful - good food - loved the pizza! Office staff looked after our luggage our last day and even let us take showers and wash off the beach sand before taking our taxi back to Atenas. You can catch a bus to the beach every 15 minutes down on the main road - very short walk from the hotel. We fed squirrel monkeys bananas right next to the pool! Breakfast was great and included with the room fee. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: We booked this hotel from Priceline and saved a lot of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I spent 4 nights in villas Mymosa with my family (3 kids), we have a junior villas. Everything is perfect in that place and very clean. Staff are very helpful, rooms spatious and the yard is beautiful. I will definitively come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My wife and I and two other couples stayed here for a week in early February 2012. We had a "Junior" suite and the other two couples shared one of the larger units on the upper floor. We all are quite picky late 50's people who have seen a good portion of the world. Mymosa was very relaxing. The highlight for us was Janet and Junior in Mymosito's restaurant on-site. The earthquake was also intriguing --- if a little scary.

Room Tip: The junior suites facing the pool (#'s 5,6,7 and 8 -I think) are wonderful. Front and back patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCBUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

I really wanted to give this place a better rating; the breakfast was good, the pool nice and the staff helpful. It is located within walking distance (or a short bus or taxi ride) from town and Manuel Antonia Park. Unfortunately our room was pretty bad. There were holes in some of the cushions, the sheets were stained, we were visited by large cockroaches, there was no ventilation and the room smelled of mold.

Room Tip: We where located in a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bragg Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed at this place on room 10 from November 23 to November 27 2011. The place is great, a bit noisy as it's closed to the main road but over all the place is good for the price. The staff is helpful and very pleasant, always willing to help. The beach is five minutes away by bus ( bus stop is right in front of the place) you can drive and pay for parking too. Be sure to bring cash as there's no bank machine in Manuel Antonio there's one half way to the beach closed to Barba roja.
The pool is nice and the grounds are clean, the place is cleaned every day. They could use some new pillows but that's just minimals issues. It's perfect for families with kids although the pool is quite deep and you must keep an eye on little ones if they don't know how to swim.
There's many restaurants within walking distance, even one in the villas. Or you can stop in quepos and buy your food and cook in the villas full equipped kitchen.
I liked this place. It was good for the price.

Room Tip: The front room by the pool are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miuset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
Hotel Las Tres Banderas
#33 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mango Moon Villa
Mango Moon Villa
#26 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
976 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mimos
Hotel Mimos
#30 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
294 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Mymosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Mymosa

Property: Villas Mymosa
Address: | Apdo. 271-6350, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Mymosa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Villas Mymosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Mymosa Hotel Quepos
Mymosa Hotel Quepos
Villas Mymosa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing