We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent four nights at Issimo Suites in mid March and were extremely impressed. The Hotel's location is perfect, overlooking the ocean amidst tropical foliage, and only a short walk from Biesanz beach; which we found to be the best beach in all of Manuel Antonio (unless you want surfing). We actually saw more animals around the beach near the hotel than in the entire national park.
The hotel itself is top notch. Being a boutique hotel there are not many rooms, so it has a very intimate feel. There are no noisy crowds of sun burned tourists or screaming kids. We never saw more than four or so people at one time in the public areas.
The restaurant has a spectacular view and is open air. However, other than taking advantage of the free breakfast (which was delicious), we only tried the fish tacos. We had them multiple days, and they were so good we never tried anything else!
The pool area, deck, and all the public areas were somewhat small but were always very well kept and maintained. We felt that the pool size was actually perfect for the hotel and it didn't need a huge, gaudy one.
The rooms are very impressive: great view, very clean, and beautifully appointed. Great attention was paid to the details, which I find very important in a hotel. As mentioned in a few other reviews, the bathrooms are a bit how shall we say...alfresco. But it never was really an issue for us. We never used the spa.
By far the best aspect of the hotel was the service. All of the staff were very helpful and always friendly. Our waiter, Geiner (I hope I'm not butchering his name) was particularly great! He was always there to bring us ice water, cold beers, and refill our coffees. He let me practice my terrible Spanish with him and he was always smiling. I travel for a living, staying about 100 nights a year in hotels, and I believe great staff is what makes a great hotel. Issimo Suites' staff has definitely achieved this, providing a terrific luxury hotel that I would recommend to anyone! Thanks again for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grasl1jw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

(-(-_(-_-)_-)-)

Thank you!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 790 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have a friend who has filmed almost every hotel in Central America and the Caribbean for bookit.com, and I asked where he would suggest I stay in Costa Rica; his instant reply was "Issimo Suites, no question". He is a total hotel snob because he has stayed at thousands of them, so I knew I was in for a treat.

The hotel is perfect for couples because they only have about 10 rooms, so it's very quiet and peaceful, plus if you use something like the pool, spa, or "private" beach, you'll probably be the only couple there. Also they do not allow children. Both the main public beach (Playa Publica) and the private beach are within walking distance.

I visited at the end of the rainy or "green season" so I got half off on my room plus an extra 10 or 20% just because! I stayed for 4 nights in one of the penthouse suite; it was gorgeous. It had an amazing view and one entire wall was all glass, with a balcony. They have jacuzzis in every room with rose pedals for decoration, and give you a free bottle of champagne in your mini fridge. They also give you free drinks when you check in. If you get the Royal Suite, the Monkey's will come visit you on your deck, but you can see them from all the rooms and they will usually come up to your balcony. It is awesome!

They have happy hour every day from noon until like 7 I believe, so all of their delicious drinks are 2 for 1. Also, their entire menu was half off. The food is all good, but mostly catered to American's with only a few authentic dishes. After four nights of breakfast lunch and dinner with my fiance, and raiding the mini bar in my room, my total bill wasn't even $200!

The staff are are super friendly and most speak nearly perfect english.

BOTTOM LINE:
If you are going to Manuel Antonio (which you HAVE TO if you're visiting CR), you need to stay at Issimo Suites. Best for the money!

Room Tip: Get a Penthouse Suite with a balcony or the Royal Suite with it's own private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014
Google Translation

d(^o^)b¸¸♬·¯·♩¸¸♪·¯·♫¸¸

Thank you!!!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a fairly expensive boutique hotel located near Manuel Antonio National Park. The rooms are large, spacious, with good air-conditioning and a comfy bed. The balcony we had was small and with slippery tiles so that one day after some rain, I almost slipped and fell. The view of the ocean and trees is lovely. We were put into an expensive room and when we asked for something less expensive, they said nothing else was available. However, I did plenty of snooping the next day and found at least half the hotel was empty. It wasn't very nice to lie just to make a few extra dollars from us. Breakfast was nothing special. The staff was friendly, obsequious. If you asked them for anything beyond their box of knowledge, they looked at you like deer frozen in headlights. We spent 2 nights here and I would not go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Falasafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Falasafa,
Thank you for taking some time to write this review.
First of all, we find a little offensive " If you asked them for anything beyond their box of knowledge, they looked at you like deer frozen in headlights.". Our staff is very well trained and actually very helpful. Also we understand that when your where "snooping" around you did not asked the receptionist why some rooms were empty.
We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations, and we hope that you eventually decide to give us another try.

Saludos
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our stay at the Issimo was a pleasant experience. We stayed for 8 days and enjoyed every day here.The staff was professional and catered to our needs. The rooms maybe a little old but very clean and well kept. The view from our suite facing the ocean was awesome. A very cozy romantic place for honeymooners and to rekindle your marriage relationship. .

Room Tip: Royal suites is the top of the line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvaro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

♬·¯·♩¸¸♪·¯·♫¸ Thank you!!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights, junior suite first night then the suite on the second. Both have large king size beds and lots of space. The suite is bigger.
If you like a nice clean, air conditioned room, then this hotel is for you. Personally I prefer to have doors and windows opened and use fans.
The bathroom design is unique and not for those who like privacy.
There is no internet in the rooms, however I could pick up a weak signal near the balcony of the suite which was just above the reception area.
Breakfast was good, very good omelettes.
I had read other reviews where the manager had responded to complaints about spicy food and stated that their food wasn't. Since we like our food very spicy, we were going to go somewhere else for dinner, but the restaurant area looked so good we decided to take a chance.
We ordered the fish of the day and asked if they could make it spicy. No problem. This ended up being one of the best fish dinners we've had. I guess the point of this story is just ask the waiter for the level of spice you want.
The waiter, Dixon, is amazing. Never had to wait for anything. We ate their on the second night also.
There are a fair number of stairs, but the staff are happy to carry your cases.
Our air conditioner started leaking water and soaking the furniture below. Called the front desk and a maid and a repairman were there in about 1 minute. They cleaned up the mess and fixed the problem.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Logan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Logan D,
Thank you for your review!
We always try to make our best!

Hasta pronto!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and loved every minute. Small, quiet, kid-free hotel with amazing views of the ocean. The hotel was very clean and well kept. There is a small staff of people who really made our stay as wonderful as it was. The staff made us feel welcome and had our every need handled immediately. We made several friends during our stay and we kept the poor wait staff running back and forth with all of our drink ordering! They always laughed with us and smiled and seemed genuinely happy to be there. That makes a huge difference in a place. The best hotel on Earth can be ruined by bad staff; that is not the case at Issimo.

While our stay was amazing and nothing will tarnish the memories we have, I do have to be honest and say that one of the critiques we read is true. The towels do have an odor. I don't know what is causing it, but I never felt like they were dirty, just had a different smell. Some people on here seem to be really offended, but I think they are just being a bit whiney. It wasn't THAT bad and certainly not enough to rant about.

With all of the options available in the Manuel Antonio area, we were really nervous that we wouldn't find the absolute best option, but I think we did. The National Park is definitely a cab ride away (unless you want a really long walk), but it was a nice and invigorating walk up the hill to get to some really great restaurants and bars. Walking on the roads is pretty sketchy because of the insanity of the drivers there, but that is everywhere in Costa Rica. Just be aware. We would definitely stay at Issimo again!

Room Tip: We stayed in 104 which has a nice sized balcony overlooking the ocean and the canopy. The afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmart220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

THANK YOU!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was the first stop on our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a more quiet and private setting. The small hotel only has about 13 rooms and the place feels very private even when other couples are around. The views are incredible and it's a short taxi ride to all of the popular restaurants around the area. In particular, the main staff (Geiner and Dickson) were awesome and made us feel like royalty every day. Geiner greeted us every morning with a smile and we discussed the previous day's adventures with him. Would definitely recommend for any couples looking for a quiet escape in a very lush, natural setting. The sunbathing monkeys are very willing to share the grounds with hotel guests :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

(¯`·._.·(¯`·._.·Thank you!!! ·._.·´¯)·._.·´¯)

Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.3 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.1 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
605 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,509 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#12 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: | Waterfront, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $199 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing