We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$239
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$238
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$819
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $474/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Bada(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$194
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$302
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$360
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulemar Resort(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (837)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveler rating
567
158
61
27
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
567
158
61
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoontoilet areathe penthouseopen showercosta ricajacuzzi tubevery morningflower petalsfloor to ceiling windowssmall beachromantic getawaycouples massagesmall hotelnational parkplaya biesanzmaster suitebreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 837 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stay four nights at the Issomo Suites in room 109 -- what a fantastic place to stay! It is quiet, intimate and the views are spectacular! The service here is amazing. You can sit on the deck and watch the animal and bird life all around you or watch the sunset. Nearby is a wonderful private cove that has the best swimming that I experienced in this area. The restaurant is good with wonderful food and wine. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherM816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear HeatherM816
¸¸.•*¨*•*´¨)
¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
(¸.•´ (¸.•` ¤ Thank you!

Saludos y Gracias!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Issimo. The first two nights in the Royal Suite (free upgrade) and the third night in room 103, a penthouse suite. Both rooms were really nice. The Royal Suite has lots of extras, like a private pool and outdoor jacuzzi. The views from each room were spectacular. A troop of squirrel monkeys came through the canopy while we were on our balcony. The service was outstanding. The rooms are just as shown on the website.

Dixon, our waiter, bartender was very welcoming and took really good care of us. The food is made to order and very good! fish tacos were great and the ravioli was the best ive ever had.
My husband got a stomach bug from a local restaurant while on tour and Dixon arranged some chicken soup!
Pros: rooms, service, meals, prices
Cons: need to take a taxi or walk about a mile to get to main hotel, restaurant strip

I highly recommend Issimo and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite, 103 was a very nice room. Balcony is at the edge of the canopy, so monkeys will come visit. Royal suite was fabulous
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janfrommichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear JanfromMichigan,
Thank you for you beautiful review!
We will be waiting you......

PURA VIDA!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Issimo for 6 days for our honeymoon. The first 3 nights we stayed in room 106, which had the best view! The last 3 nights we stayed in the royal suite, which had a massive terrace with a swimming pool and a hot tub! The room and terrace was amazing! The only reason I did not rate this hotel as 5 stars is due to the bug situation. The royal suite had two glass doors with large gaps leading to the terrace. These gaps allowed for bugs to entire the room. Normally, I would not complain about this since bugs come with the price of staying in a rainforest; however, the gap in the door is obvious and can easily be rectified.

The food was good, the staff is very friendly and helpful (we, especially liked our waiter Dickson), views are incredible, and rooms are very romantic. Each room has a hot tub and you receive a bottle of sparkling wine upon arrival. Coffee is brought to the door each morning. Couple's massage is great and super relaxing. It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach. The walk is down a mountain so it feels like a mild hike. We enjoyed the walk although it was a bit steep and uphill on the way back up. We went on the ATV tour and the horseback riding tour - both were great! Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElinaIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear ElinalG,
Thank you for taking some of your time to write this nice review on our property.
We are fixing the gaps between the glass doors, so the bugs will not be an issue anymore.
We want to thank you again, and we sincerely hope to have you back!

Saludos y Mucha Suerte!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in several hours before their check in time. We were greeted with a refreshing drink. We were shocked at how large the room was. It was very clean had plenty of space. When we walked into the room there were rose petals on the bed and around the hot tub. It was very romantic. The view of the ocean was incredible. The beach just down the hill was very private and beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013
Google Translation

Dear Laura E,
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

¡¡¡Saludos y Pura Vida!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We booked 5 nights at Issimo Suites as part of a longer CR holiday. Our room on the top floor was nicely furnished, nice views (although the balcony had no cover so it want possible to sit out there for long or you baked). However several hours after our arrival we were told there was no water. Which meant no shower after a long days travelling and no possibility to flush the toilet. Not so 5 star. The water was back on by the next morning but later that day there was a power cut - which also meant no water again because they use an electric pump to get the water to the top floor rooms. We decided at this point we wanted to leave. We walked to the hotel next door to enquire about availability. On their reception desk there was a note from the local electricty authority warning of the power cut in advance, so at least the guests were forwarned. Issimo suites denied any knowledge of advance suites, clearly they did know but chose not to let the guests know in advance. We left the next day and after several weeks wrangling with the hotel we got our money refunded for the unused nights. Frankly I would have also expected a refund for the 2 nights we did stay but they would not consider that. In my book a flushing toilet and running water for a shower are a core part of offering when you rent a hotel room. Maybe I am just too demanding.......... Of course we nver got to use the beautiful hot tub in the room either since that needed both water and power.

Other issues:
- the pool is small and lacks privacy
- the restaurant food was terrible. My pasta was from a packet. The sauce was thin and watery
- cleaning ladies always left the door between room and balcony open after they cleaned. Unfortunately this meant that floor was wet and slippery when you got back in as the afternoon showers flooded the room

There was nothing I liked about this place. We moved up the road to the hotel Maripossa from the 3rd day and things recovered. We just wish we had gone there in the first place and given Issimo Suites a big miss.

Room Tip: Try a room at another hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tabitha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

MR/MRS Tabitha 22,
Power cut, it happens all the time, without warning, and the local electricity company does not warn for power suspensions. Actually, since our opening date, it never happen. The only period Manuel Antonio (the entire area) had no power and/or water for more than two hours was in Nov 2010, when the tropical storm Thomas hit us.
We would like you to contact us (maday@issimosuites.com), to discuss more about this issue.

Maday Mora
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews