We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel San Bada(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$194
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mariposa Hotel(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Altos Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$813
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Si Como No Resort & Wildlife Refuge(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$234
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Parador Resort and Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$239
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$238
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$116
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaia Hotel & Reserve(Manuel Antonio)(Great Value!)
$302
$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenas del Mar Beachfront & Rainforest Resort(Manuel Antonio)
$360
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (837)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveler rating
567
158
61
27
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
567
158
61
27
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoontoilet areathe penthouseopen showercosta ricajacuzzi tubevery morningflower petalsfloor to ceiling windowssmall beachromantic getawaycouples massagesmall hotelnational parkplaya biesanzmaster suitebreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 837 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Issimo for 6 days for our honeymoon. The first 3 nights we stayed in room 106, which had the best view! The last 3 nights we stayed in the royal suite, which had a massive terrace with a swimming pool and a hot tub! The room and terrace was amazing! The only reason I did not rate this hotel as 5 stars is due to the bug situation. The royal suite had two glass doors with large gaps leading to the terrace. These gaps allowed for bugs to entire the room. Normally, I would not complain about this since bugs come with the price of staying in a rainforest; however, the gap in the door is obvious and can easily be rectified.

The food was good, the staff is very friendly and helpful (we, especially liked our waiter Dickson), views are incredible, and rooms are very romantic. Each room has a hot tub and you receive a bottle of sparkling wine upon arrival. Coffee is brought to the door each morning. Couple's massage is great and super relaxing. It's about a 10 minute walk to the beach. The walk is down a mountain so it feels like a mild hike. We enjoyed the walk although it was a bit steep and uphill on the way back up. We went on the ATV tour and the horseback riding tour - both were great! Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElinaIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear ElinalG,
Thank you for taking some of your time to write this nice review on our property.
We are fixing the gaps between the glass doors, so the bugs will not be an issue anymore.
We want to thank you again, and we sincerely hope to have you back!

Saludos y Mucha Suerte!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in several hours before their check in time. We were greeted with a refreshing drink. We were shocked at how large the room was. It was very clean had plenty of space. When we walked into the room there were rose petals on the bed and around the hot tub. It was very romantic. The view of the ocean was incredible. The beach just down the hill was very private and beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013
Google Translation

Dear Laura E,
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

¡¡¡Saludos y Pura Vida!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We booked 5 nights at Issimo Suites as part of a longer CR holiday. Our room on the top floor was nicely furnished, nice views (although the balcony had no cover so it want possible to sit out there for long or you baked). However several hours after our arrival we were told there was no water. Which meant no shower after a long days travelling and no possibility to flush the toilet. Not so 5 star. The water was back on by the next morning but later that day there was a power cut - which also meant no water again because they use an electric pump to get the water to the top floor rooms. We decided at this point we wanted to leave. We walked to the hotel next door to enquire about availability. On their reception desk there was a note from the local electricty authority warning of the power cut in advance, so at least the guests were forwarned. Issimo suites denied any knowledge of advance suites, clearly they did know but chose not to let the guests know in advance. We left the next day and after several weeks wrangling with the hotel we got our money refunded for the unused nights. Frankly I would have also expected a refund for the 2 nights we did stay but they would not consider that. In my book a flushing toilet and running water for a shower are a core part of offering when you rent a hotel room. Maybe I am just too demanding.......... Of course we nver got to use the beautiful hot tub in the room either since that needed both water and power.

Other issues:
- the pool is small and lacks privacy
- the restaurant food was terrible. My pasta was from a packet. The sauce was thin and watery
- cleaning ladies always left the door between room and balcony open after they cleaned. Unfortunately this meant that floor was wet and slippery when you got back in as the afternoon showers flooded the room

There was nothing I liked about this place. We moved up the road to the hotel Maripossa from the 3rd day and things recovered. We just wish we had gone there in the first place and given Issimo Suites a big miss.

Room Tip: Try a room at another hotel
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tabitha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

MR/MRS Tabitha 22,
Power cut, it happens all the time, without warning, and the local electricity company does not warn for power suspensions. Actually, since our opening date, it never happen. The only period Manuel Antonio (the entire area) had no power and/or water for more than two hours was in Nov 2010, when the tropical storm Thomas hit us.
We would like you to contact us (maday@issimosuites.com), to discuss more about this issue.

Maday Mora
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a nice little hotel in Manuel Antonio. The room we were in had a good view from the balcony.

(Positives):
- The room was spacious and good. We weren't big fans of the bathroom/toilet layout; doesn't make for a very comfortable environment when one has to use the toilet!
- The view from the balcony and restaurant is good.
- There is a nice quiet beach just down the road. There were hardly any people there and clean.

(Negatives):
These are not so much negatives as pointing out minor points.
- Location. The hotel is off the main road going to Espadilla beach. It is quite a walk to go to the main road/restaurants. There is a small quiet beach down the road but is a steep walk back. This might not be an issue if you have a car but something to consider if you want a central location.

(Others):
- The hotel is clean and the staff friendly but I wouldn't term it luxurious.
- The food is o.k. We had better food elsewhere. I will however give them kudos for making something off the menu as my wife was not feeling well.
- They have a shuttle that goes to the beach once or twice a day, that was helpful.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank TheTravellingG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear The TravellingG,
Thank you for taking time to write a review on our property.
We hope you had a wonderful vacation in our area!

¡¡¡¡Pura Vida!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for a week and I'm so sad we had to leave. :(

The drive from San Jose airport to the resort was so beautiful.
When we got there, we were greeted with a refreshing watermelon cocktail - which was a nice way to start our vacation.

The view from the resort is breathtaking, I woke up every morning at 4am just to watch the sun rise and listen to the howler monkeys - what an experience!

Breakfast was simple, fresh fruits, croissants, eggs, - just enough to start the day. The lunch and dinner menu was nice (a little overpriced) - but still good. The staff also prepared my coffee every morning and left it in front of our suite which was nice.


We stayed in the junior suite, didn't really need the upgrade since we did a lot of exploring during the week. All our basic needs were provided by the room.

The pool was wonderful to end our hot days, and honestly - I could've spend all day just staring at the scenery from the pool. We even took a little hike (there's a path you can follow by the resort), saw a few lizards and horses which was neat. The beach is also just as beautiful. Be sure to bring lots of water and go early in the morning so its not TOO hot. Monkeys hang out around the resort and it was fun to watch them from our balcony.

We traveled to Quepos occasionally to eat dinner, and walked around town. The residents of the town were friendly and helped us navigate throughout. We took a taxi to quite a few places and the taxi fare was the same all around MA ($8). Ronnie's is also a wonderful place to eat authentic Costa Rican food. I had a WHOLE red snapper to myself and it was DELICIOUS.

We did the ADR Adventure excursion, and loved every minute of it. The rainforest is just gorgeous, I really did feel like I was in Jurassic Park. It was enough to satisfy my adrenaline and took up most of our day. Be sure to bring watershoes or hiking sandals.

The MA National Park tour was nice, but our guide was late for our pick up. When we got there it was very busy, but still got to see a lot of animals. I would recommend to take the 8:30am tour, as the animals are more active during the morning.

I squished in a Spa Day for myself and my boyfriend for a good deal at Issimo. I enjoyed it but my boyfriend didn't feel like the massage was deep enough. I think it really depends on who you end up with. If you want a stronger massage - asking never hurts. I loved it and was asleep the whole time.

We ended our vacation on the catamaran tour, a great way to unwind and enjoy the sights of Costa Rica.

I really wish I could have stayed longer. Costa Rica is such a beautiful country, and already miss it so much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews