We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Sumptuous Jungle Villa!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sumptuous Jungle Villa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

So glad we got to experience Issimo! My hubby and I were in Manuel Antonio in January for a wedding. We opted to stay at Issimo, and we are so happy we did! Loved the quaint, quiet, laid back atmosphere there, and all of the staff made us feel like their family.

The view is stunning, and the full complimentary breakfast is the perfect accompaniment to the vista that includes both ocean and jungle! 'Gato' pampered us with freshly made drinks and snacks by the pool, always served with a smile! All of the food we ate on site was VERY good and fresh. And of course the daily visits from the monkeys and bird life were a real treat!

I must re-iterate that ALL of the staff we encountered here were top notch and so hospitable. They exercised a fine balance between giving us personal space, yet going out of their way to make our stay even more enjoyable.

When checking in we were first taken to a downstairs room, and requested different accommodations, simply because we wanted a private balcony (some of them are shared). The staff was very nice to offer us a different room, although we did have to pay a little higher rate. Our room was perfectly romantic with the Jacuzzi tub and open shower, and daily pampering of rose petals and toweligami (yes I made that word up).

As far as location, we were a short, inexpensive cab ride from town, excursions and numerous restaurants. There is also a nice little beach area just a walk down from the property. If you’re looking for a quiet, intimate, sumptuous tree house, at a great value - I think you’ve found your spot! The only drawback is we didn't want to leave.

Thank you, Issimo and Staff, for welcoming us into your beautiful ‘home’ for the week!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriK_in_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    147
    57
    23
    20
See reviews for
34
566
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
278 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

What an amazing place to stay. Staff was super attentive and friendly, food was amazing and simply a relaxing place place. Very recommended. Spa was amazing and very reasonable in prices. No kids resort a big huge plus.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mac2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Gdiaz1010,
THANK YOU!!!!
We sincerely hope you come visit us again!!!

¡Hasta Pronto, y mucha suerte!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I would absolutely recommend Issimo hotel to anyone. That said-- I think it's relevant to understand why that is.

To be very clear, the property itself i would rate as a 4 out of 5. The room my husband and I stayed in was moderately sized, and you should not expect a huge hotel with multiple pools and restaurants and tons of amenities. The linens and towels were definitely clean, however a little worn from use. The pool was beautiful, but not overly large. I'd classify the actual building as a homey feeling boutique hotel (as opposed to a ultra luxurious resort).

That said-- the location, surroundings , views, etc make this gem an exceptional value. You are literally sleeping among monkeys, exotic birds, and other jungle animals... Not to mention within an earshot of the ocean. Words cant properly describe the incredible ambiance. On 2 occasions we saw monkeys right outside our window or just above us while we were dining. The sound of running water from the hotel's fountain does wonders for the soul. The cabana area gets just the right amount of sunlight, with plenty of shady areas.

Beyond that, the staff is exceptionally warm and helpful and the restaurant was actually very good. A special thank you to Dixon who especially accommodating. The free breakfast in the morning was extremely convenient, and included freshly made eggs and omelettes.

During our stay my husband and I did the ziplining tour and the Manuel Antonio tour-- both well priced and booked via the hotel. Another perk-- you can walk to a small private beach which is gorgeous, and a great spot for kayaking. Take your time on the path-- lots of wildlife to see along the way.

Thanks very much, Issimo Hotel! A wonderful place to spend our honeymoon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmorta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Cmorta,
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
Your detailed review says it all!
We hope you had a wonderful time in our area and country!

Waiting for your next visit...

¡¡¡¡Hasta la Próxima y Pura Vida!!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a nice little hotel, quirky, but nice. Monkeys roam the grounds, nice location. Some of the staff was great, some were disinterested. Tip early and often to get good service. Food was average, but solid.

easy to get around town from there if you are driving, but the wait for taxis can be a drag, but that is not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickphoenix11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Nickphoenix11,
Thank you for your review.
As stated on a prior response, we are surprised about your opinion on our staff.
Our staff is well and constantly trained, and we usually have great feedback on them. If you think it's the case, you can send us more info about your experience with us here: info@issimosuites.com, so we can give a follow up and see why you were disappointed.
We hope to have you here again, next time you visit our area.

Once again, thank you!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great location and spacious sweets. A little cheesy for my liking but can understand why people may like it as a honey moon location. Main issues were the staff were frankly anywhere between tolerating the guests and rude and the food was very average (however, this was a bit of a trend in Costa Rica)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akentmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Akentmm,
First, thank you for the time taken to review our property.
We are surprised about your opinion on our staff.
Our staff has been with us for a long time, and they are well and constantly trained, specially on matters related to customer service.
We understand food is subjective; customers may or may not like the way we prepare our dishes, with very mild flavors.
We're sorry that we couldn't make your vacations better, and we sincerely hope you'll give us another chance, next time you visit our county.

Thank you again

Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We didn't stay at Issimo Suites but we ate at their restaurant several times as we were staying nearby. The setting was very beautiful and especially romantic at night. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Both the young man who served us at lunch and Dickson,our evening waiter, were warm and friendly. When we returned for a second evening meal Dickson greeted us as if we were dear friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you!!!!!!
We hope next time you'll stay with us!

¡¡PURA VIDA!!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from 2/25-3/1 and were excited about all the reviews we read only to be disappointed. We had the most basic room, in the basement level of the complex. The bathroom was difficult to use with a tiny vanity and a mirror that you had to bend down to use. Everything was slightly "off." There was no alarm clock, no shampoo/conditioner, there was a decorative bag of unwrapped soaps with a hair on one, the curtains didn't fit the window so light poured in every day, the safe didn't work, a light kept flickering on during the night even when it was switched off. Some of the staff were nice and some were indifferent. There really was nothing special about this hotel except for the view from the restaurant and pool area. We still can't understand why everyone raves about this hotel, unless the higher end rooms are spectacular. I would not recommend it, nor would I return. It was probably the low point of our trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IssimoSuites, General Manager at Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Melissa T

Thank you for taking some time to write a review on our property.
We are sorry that we didn't met your expectations, however we would like respond to your complaints and at the same time clarify a few things for other future guests.
The “most basic room” at Issimo Suites has a Jacuzzi (for two people), a flat screen TV, microwave, refrigerator, safety box and a partial ocean view; also a complimentary bottle of wine is included in this room.
The bathroom curtains are enough big to cover the window, but they are open so guests can see the beautiful view. Usually customers, when they don't need natural light, pull (close) the curtains. We provide the best shampoo/conditioner (2 in 1), and it can be found on the bathroom wall, in a dispenser.
The safety boxes are new, and they work perfectly, digitally and manually. Sometimes guests don't know how to use them, and they call for assistance by dialing “0”. Besides requesting any kind of assistance, by dialing “0” you can also request a wake up call.
Our higher end rooms are – as you quote – spectacular, and we invite to stay in our Jacuzzi Royal Suite (with a fair rate), if you decide to visit us again in the future.

Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
Shana Hotel, Residence & Spa
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Property: Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
Address: Waterfront, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing