We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Issimo Suites back in May 2012. The hotel was clean and the staff very friendly.
Our findings:
1) Hot Water - we experienced problems with the water as well (noticed a few comments on line about it). We went a full day without hot water. When we spoke to the desk they said they "had to reset" something and we would have water. Didn't work
2) Food Quality - As we arrived late at night and weren't familiar with the area, we opted to take advantage of a 2 for 1 offer in the restaurant. I had the blackened tuna (it was amazing). My travel companion had the steak...ordered it medium. It was very close to raw. It was almost inedible...thankfully he could eat it as home he sometimes orders his steak medium rare....but I could not have eaten it.
3) Bkfst is what you'd expect...nothing to get too excited about but it does the job
4) Walk to the beach.....not as bad as everyone seems to say...yes it's a hot walk back but if you're used to walking it shouldn't be an issue. However...the beach itself is nothing to get excited about ! It was a disappointment (not the hotels fault)
5) Staff are super friendly and try to get you to speak a bit of the local language. They went out of their way to make you feel welcome.
6) Monekys....saw them while we were having drinks in the restaurant.
7) Room Layout - not what you'de be used to...very open concept...toilet is in a small closet so it is private...however the rest of the room is open concept.
8) Bed was comfortable
9) Air Conditioner in room did the job...we didn't find ours noisy at all..plus it's on a remote..so you cna lie in bed and adjust it accordingly
10) No elevators so you do have to walk up to your room. However, this is not a big hotel and should not be an issue unless you have mobilty issues. There is someone to take your luggage to your room if you need assistance.
11) Maids - only saw them in the hallways...our room was always cleaned while we were gone.
12) Coffee in the morning was a nice perk...we were even given some to take home by the front desk at check out so we could have "a coffee to remind ourselves of our stay"

All in all, I've stayed at nicer places but it is good value for the money. I would stay here agin

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 780 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just stayed here for the 5th time this weekend (Sept 29 and 30, 2012). My Husband discovered this boutique hotel 5 years ago online. We stayed for 3 nights and couldn't wait to return again. Over the 5 visits we have never had one complaint. The staff are always smiling and eager to please you. Maday has been there for 6 years and always calls us by name. I even saw her on the beach on her day off and she waved me down to say hi! Dixon has been our waiter for 2 years and he's like a old friend. I told him one afternoon that we'd like a certain table saved for dinner 6pm. When we came for dinner, he had decorated our table specifically with lovely flowers and stones! Chef David made the most amazing Red Snapper with garlic that I have ever been served. My Steak Only Husband tasted it and ordered his own Red snapper the following night!

Since last year Tim, the owner, has made several nice changes. Coffee served on a tray outside your door by 5:30am! Fresh paint, new lobby furniture and new balcony furniture! There were probably other changes, but these stood out to me. We live in Costa Rica part time. So when we want a romantic weekend, we love to come here. There is no place more romantic than this! You feel like a pampered guest! No kids is a huge bonus! Nothing like kids screaming at your hotel to ruin romance! We are celebrating our 25th anniversary next month. Well - actually we've been celebrating all year! Whatever your occasion, or none at all - This is the hotel for you if you are seeking an intimate, romantic vacation!!!

Room Tip: I'd share my favorite room number but I want to make sure it's available for us next time we...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying three nights at Issimo Suites in early September 2012. We had reserved this delightful little boutique hotel through Hotels.com and we were not disappointed with the place. This was our first visit to Costa Rica, and after a 3.5 hour Interbus trip from San Jose, we were ready to collapse and rest at our new hotel. We arrived somewhat early for check-in: 1pm. But once checked in, we were ushered to our room. It was one of the cheaper suites, located in the lower floor of the building, and with a view of the jungle, but it reminded us of a delightful cave hotel we stayed in while we were vacationing on Santorini. It was beautiful and seemed pretty decadent to us, since we're pretty frugal in our non-vacationing lives. I can highly recommend this wonderful little hotel.

Now for the pros and cons:
Pros:
Boutique atmosphere = personalized service!
Friendly staff, simple but delightful breakfast buffet.
If you're caught in the rain and don't have a rental car to go to other restaurants in the Manuel Antonio area, the hotel has a wonderful restaurant (the ceviche is a must!!)
The wildlife can be noisy, but it's a wonderful wake-up!
Whirlpool bath for 2 (see Cons after this).
Circuses: red flower petals after each day's cleanup and turnover of the bedding.
Spacious and beautiful rooms.
Lovely pool in case you don't feel like venturing to the private beach or hiking/busing/driving to MA beaches.

Cons:
This is really situational: If you don't have a car, then the hike to the nearest bus stop is a challenging 2km. It's pretty intense in the mid-day heat and can be frighteningly dark and treacherous in the night after the rains have ended. My wife and I have the road rash to prove it.
On the third day there, we were finally ready to take advantage of the whirlpool bath. But there was no way to turn it on! Granted, we didn't call the front desk, but we also didn't particularly want to wait for assistance either.
WiFi in the lobby area and pool area are great. WiFi in the suite was horrendous. But when you get down to it, you're in bloody Manuel Antonio, in a boutique suite hotel, with nature and creation all around you! Why the hell do you need to be online anyway?

The next time we come to CR, we plan on renting a car. This will make the stay much more satisfying. But if you're up for the exercise and don't have a rental car, I highly recommend this gem tucked a bit away from the beaten path.

Room Tip: You do get what you pay for. The hotel is overall kind of pricey, so we went for the lower end and...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and it was beautiful. The staff is excellent and the view is pretty awesome. It was nice seeing the monkeys come right up on the property. The morning breakfast was a perfect start for our day. We used the pool a few times but would usually just leave the hotel during the day and come back in the evening. It was perfect for what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Breath taking views at any of the 12 spacious rooms. Private pools and hot tub/jacuzzi in the room. Excellent service from reception to the maids! Edgar ( waiter/bar tender) is like you person Butler but treats everyone the same.He is a super nice very well mannered guy that loves his job and it shows!! He is delighted to greet you in the am with coffee or tell you goodnight after dinner and a drink. I dont think I have ever meet a more genuine ,friendlier and passionate person in this business! He (as well as the entire staff here) make you feel like your a king or queen! They all are really great at what they do. The views are awesome! Wake up to the view of the mountains/ocean or even a monkey if your up at 5:30/6:00am. Very clean any where you go on the property. The receptionist will call a taxi or arrange a tour for you with a big smile . Free breakfast every morning.....yes free!! It's more than coffee/juice ,toast and fruit. They have a menu to order from as well at no charge! Eggs your way,hashbrowns,bacon ( yummy) ,pancakes,rice/beans, ans fried plantains to name a few items. You can have dinner watching the sunset for 1/2 price at certain times of the year. Happy our drinks are 2-1!! (1-5pm) . Once checked in the bellhop takes our bags so Edgar can hand you a welcome drink. The rooms have their own toilet room,huge showers and large hot tubs as well! The beds are so comfortable! I dont have this nice of a mattress at home!
I could go on and on!! Enjoy your stay in Costa Rica at the Issimo Suites!!!

Room Tip: Our room was very nice at $120 per day. This had a awesome view with 10feet by 30feet glass wall not...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The whole experience was excellent from the start. They were very accommodating at requests. The staff were friendly, helpful, personable and professional. The staff went out of their way to help my travel companion when she broke her foot and had to be on crutches. They even moved us to a lower floor to accommodate her temporary handicap. The views from the room are outstanding. Unlike a previous review, I loved the nearby beach as well as the walk in nature to get there. The food was delicious and the building beautiful. It was the kindness shown from the staff that really made this trip as wonderful and memorable as it was. R and C from Santa Barbara, Ca

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We just returned from Costa Rica, where we spent our entire 7 day honeymoon at Issimo Suites. All of the staff members are so nice. The front desk staff were efficient and helpful. They booked all our excursions and also made restaurant reservations and called taxis. The cleaning staff did a fantastic job as well. It was so nice to come back from our excursions to find a clean and tidy room with fresh towels waiting. The restaurant was running a special and all of the food was 50% off! The food is good with all fresh ingredients. Breakfast in the morning includes a buffet with fresh fruit, pancakes, and pastry in addition to freshly prepared dishes from the kitchen. They serve the traditional gallo pinto with eggs and also an "American breakfast" with bacon and eggs. They deliver coffee outside your room at about 6 am every morning so you can enjoy a cup there before heading upstairs for breakfast. They have a great happy hour special that runs from 12-5pm with buy 1 get 1 free drinks. We enjoyed sitting out in the patio area near the pool during this time and chatting with other couples. I really liked the fact that its an adult's only hotel since it was our honeymoon. The pool is really pretty and also very clean. My favorite part of the hotel is the amazing view of the water and also the "jungle". We only saw one monkey :( But a sloth did move into one of the trees in front of the restaurant area, so that was a consolation :) The website made it sound like our room had a private balcony, which it did not, we shared our balcony with another room. I would have most likely upgraded if I had known we did not have th private balcony. The sheets in the room were clean and of good quality and the bed is really soft and comfy however the throw pillows and duvet cover were a little dingy so we took them off the bed. The shower has very poor water pressure which was disappointing and also does not get very hot. The restaurant staff has to calculate by hand the price of your meal/drinks there is no electronic system and since they are required to give you a dollar price instead of colones the waitor made a few mistakes that my husband caught and had to have corrected. There are TV's in every room and they have a few English channels so we were able to watch the Olympics!! Some guests have complained about the noise when you are located near the stairs, but we were never disturbed. The small private Playa Biesanz is about a 10 minute walk away and the larger public Playa Espadilla is about a 15 minute walk down a steep hill, but we much preferred this beach because it was better for sunbathing and swimming (if you like the waves). We rarely took a taxi, there are many restaurants within walking distance at the top of the hill on the main road. Overall the positives outweigh the negatives by a long shot and we had a great trip. Thanks Issimo!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.3 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa

Address: | Waterfront, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $158 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel, Spa & Waterfront Reserve offers intimacy and elegance for your romantic escape. Each suite includes a Jacuzzi bath tub for relaxation and enjoyment, as well as a majestic ocean view overlooking a pristine pacific cove. A plush king size bed, sofa, and room service from our boutique restaurant await your arrival. You can also indulge yourself with a massage in our spa after a day of adventure on one of our many tours or beaches. Our romantic hideaway suites access adjacent sandy beaches with a walk to the cove or famous Manuel Antonio Park and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Issimo Hotel Boutique
Issimo Boutique Hotel
Issimo Suites Boutique Hotel And Spa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing