We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco-Disaster” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Manuel Antonio

Playa Manuel Antonio
Book In Advance
$110*
and up
Half-Day Trip to Manuel Antonio National Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of Costa Rica's most popular beaches, Playa Manuel Antonio frequently hosts parties and festivals, and it is an ideal destination for avid surfers.
Victoria
Level Contributor
210 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Eco-Disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The town of Manuel Antonio densely developed on the hills leading to this national park is an eco-disaster with high rise hotels and illegal infill development destroying the eco-system.. the watershed is seriously compromised by untreated sewage...there is often a long line of exhaust spewing buses and traffic on the single road to the beach and the illicit parking arrangements. Every dollar spent here is fuelling corruption and eco-system destruction. Once you get into the national park its teeming with tourists, hawkers, and human-dependent wildlife. Stay away.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Ruperto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,896
    761
    245
    72
    28
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Relaxing Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Manuel Antonio Beach is extremely clean and very relaxing. There are several friendly vendors providing beach chairs and umbrellas. We had a very nice meal and cold drinks at an outdoor restaurant on the beach. We saw a couple of monkeys and a big lizard.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“beautiful beach, more lively than tranquil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Warm water, stunning ocean, so comfortable I didn't want to leave. The nice thing about this are is that it is just lively enough, great restaurants and music locally and plenty of activity. At the same time, it is not too crowded or congested.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoffia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartow, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“unforgetable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

i love this place. I am costa rican, but never visited this place before and i was happy that i visited, quiet, clean beaches, lots of things to do, people is friendly and helpful. i will love to go again. Highly recommended this place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank egland s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Gorgeous beach, pretty, warm water, great views....
I also recommend hiring a local to take you thru the Park on a tour, it is amazing, their are monkeys, sloths, ants that pick up 4' long branches and carry them, spiders..... So much beauty and wildlife! Chill on the beach, hike thru the park....spend 2 days, you won't be sorry!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fun1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Manuel Antonio also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Playa Conchal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to Playa Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing