We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most beautiful beaches ever seen”

Playa Manuel Antonio
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Manuel Antonio National Park Hiking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of Costa Rica's most popular beaches, Playa Manuel Antonio frequently hosts parties and festivals, and it is an ideal destination for avid surfers.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“most beautiful beaches ever seen”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The beaches within the national park are the most beautiful beaches we have seen. White sand beach, tropical jungle, creeks, Coati Mundi and Racoons, White Faced Monkeys... PARADISE !!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vogel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,622
    2,526
    1,061
    327
    160
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimes, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved the group tour of the National Park”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Flander was an awesome guide! He was very patient, knowledgeable, and helped me take great pictures (through his telescope) that I wouldn't have otherwise been able to take! Thank you!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth a whole day”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a great time in the park. We saw a lot of wildlife from monkeys to lizards to sloths and even deer. The beaches are the best in the area so make sure to bring your beach gear. We decided to not do a tour or hire a guide and just did the park on our own. It saved us a good amount of money and we felt we got just as good of experience. We were able to move at our own pace, not having to stop to learn about every different plant species. There are enough people in the park that you are able to follow others to help find animals. Just make sure to bring your zoom lens to take pictures.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great afternoon hiking”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The park was great! We saw sloths, crabs, raccoons, spider monkeys, an agouti, and a variety of other animals. The cost to enter the park is approx $10. There are a variety of places to park for a fee. You DO NOT need a guide. The park rangers will try to sell themselves to you for a fee of approx $25-30 from the time you enter the park area. Some tried to convince us we would get lost and see nothing without their assistance because we wouldn't know where to look. The trails are marked and well-maintained. You won't get lost unless you leave the trail. Yes, the guides use binoculars, but we saw all without the use of this equipment. Inside the park, their are other hikers who share what they have seen and the best viewing areas. It is a beautiful park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank VBSmygame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Learning at its best”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The nature park is such a wonderful place to see and learn about the various plants and creatures. We saw sloths, snakes, bats and thounds of species of plants... Nature at its best.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drchask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Manuel Antonio also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing