We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach is quite nice”

Playa Manuel Antonio
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.50*
and up
Manuel Antonio National Park Hiking Tour
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Guided Tour of Manuel Antonio National Park from Jaco
More Info
$94.99*
and up
Manuel Antonio National Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of Costa Rica's most popular beaches, Playa Manuel Antonio frequently hosts parties and festivals, and it is an ideal destination for avid surfers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beach is quite nice”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Be careful of all the vendors and hawkers. Keep a close eye on your personal belongings. Go further down the beach for privacy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,704
    2,555
    1,072
    327
    164
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lithia, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had a wonderful tour guide named Roy who was very knowledgable and had a large lens so we could see things up close and even take photos through the lens. We saw sloths, monkeys, birds, iguanas, raccoons and had a great walk on the beac too! It was worth every penny!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TAHollan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Take the bus from Quepos until it dead ends. Honestly, you won't need a tour guide (the ones that hassle you at the final bus stop). If you are okay with walking about 1/2 mile or so from the bus stop to the actual park entrance, you'll do fine. Pay your entrance fee. The walk to the beach is quite a walk. So soak up the scenery.
It sounds cliché but the beach is like a post card. Even better are the hikes on the trails off the main trail to the main beach where all the raccoons/monkeys and such attempt to steal your food. I blame the tourists. I recommend going on one of the side trails that will take you to the top (almost a mile or around 1400m) where you will have the most picturesque view of the beach. It can be treacherous so ¡caudate!. I literally gasped, I wasn't expecting it. I saw a group of monkeys near me that didn't mind me at all. Another trail from the main road leads you to a more secluded beach that is almost your own (at least during low season). There are bathrooms to change/rinse into a bathing suit (only near the main beach/trail) if you so desire. No soap/shampoos allowed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chancie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but unpredictable... Having a guide is a must!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Having an experienced and knowleageable guide is integral going through this park. We were fortunate to have Manuel Cabalceta as our guide (www.manuelstours.com). While walking down the main path without the trained eye of our guide, we would have easily missed many interesting species - including various plants, lizards and birds. Manuel has been studying for many years and shared his vast knowleadge and experience with us. Unfortunately, with all wildlife it is quite unpredictable what you will see on any given day. We saw a sloth, jesus christ lizard, racoon and various small birds. There is a lot that I feel we missed though, but was not the fault of our guide.

There is a peaceful & gorgeous beach inside of the park, but we did not know to plan for that so didn't bring our swimsuits/beach gear with us. I would definitely plan to spend some time on this beach since you are already in the park. It is much nicer than the public beach nearby.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisamarcelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try the Kyacks!!!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I love the view from this beach. I have been coming here for years but the best view is out at the twin rocks with the surf and the fish or around the side of the national park. You can get to both of these on a kyack that you can rent at the beach along with snorkle gear. Tie up by the rocks or pay a little more and have one of the guides from the park go with you on their day off! It is super fun!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Manuel Antonio also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing