We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel still under constraction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas
Ranked #6 of 17 Manuel Antonio B&B and Inns
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel still under constraction”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The location of this hotel is not really good 10-15 drive on public bus to beach. The territory of the hotel a run down and not pleasant. The 10 rooms was renovated and good size but toilet always leaking ( we did change 2 rooms, but was the same problem with toilet). The breakfast was poor. This hotel 1-2 stars , not 3. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bredychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabulia T, General Manager at Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Bredychicago,

We would like to point out that we are not under construction as the hotel has been there for a long time. Like any other hotel, you can see hotel maintenance workers on the grounds, making sure things run smoothly. However despite all efforts, sometime things don’t turn out as wished and it takes some extra effort and time to make them work properly. In our case, that was the toilet problem. We are sincerely sorry that this issue happened during your stay, but finally we did fix the problem. We don’t understand “breakfast was poor”. For breakfast we offer different (at least four) types of seasonal fresh fruits, four types of breads, typical Gallo Pinto and eggs at your choice, coffee/tea and juice. All displayed in a buffet style, with no serving limits.

Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas – Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    31
    13
    18
See reviews for
33
56
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very large clean rooms - a bit of a climb -but it was to be expected
Excellent staff -- Gloria is extremely helpful and very good in English
Breakfast (included ) was plentiful and you could ask for cooked to order eggs and ham as well
Nice pool -- but again a bit of a climb
Ice was free at the bar - no problem getting enough for our cooler
Towels were available for the beach
Location is great for the short drives to the beach and many restaurants including El Avion and La Cantina BBQ in this area! and of course to the Manuel Antonio park

All in all --a pleasant stay for 2 nights for our group

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabulia T, General Manager at Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you!!!!

Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas – Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We arrived as part of a 30 person tour group to spend 3 nights but moved after the first night. The place is terrible! The rooms are up a very step climb (approximately 100 steps). The rooms did not have phones, clocks, towel bars, toilet paper holders, coffee makers, ice buckets, and Luke warm water. When I asked for a glass for my roon the man washed a disposable plastic glass in cold water and handed it to me wet. Do not stay here! There are plenty of other nice places in the area. The staff went out of their way to try to accommmodate. I understand there are new owners and they are renovating. But they need to remain closed until they are complete. Our experience was very similar to a review from December 2013 and a month later no progress. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabulia T, General Manager at Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Mr/Mrs NBD2014

As we stated in a prior review (not an excuse, just the way things are) we had several problems refurnishing.
However we decided to accept your group as per the difficulty to re-locate large groups at the very last moment, and because some group/clients are very accommodating and some are not (as your case).
There are a few things we would like to point out.
We are surprised that you call a polycarbonate glass, simply “disposable plastic glass”. These glasses are used in the hotel and entertainment industry to prevent accidents (they don’t brake), just as we do.
To end, we refunded one night back to your agency, understanding your disappointment.

Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas – Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio hotels

New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The first of three locations during our recent travels to Costa Rica. The hotel didn't come up on the GPS, so we had to just drive toward the national park and hope to find which we did. Part of the adventure I suppose. The staff were welcoming and accomidating. You can find a decently priced standard "tico" meal at the onsite restaurant/bar for around $6-7, but the drinks are quite pricey averaging $4-6 a beer. You can't be affraid of stairs at this place. It's the only way to get to your room. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom without kitchen or refrigerator. The main room had a tv and a/c. The second had a view of the pool, but without a/c. There was no water for the first 20-30min. There are no phones so we informed the staff on our way down to the bar. They said that they had been doing work on the grounds and will have it checked out right away or they would put us up in another room with water. It was running after we made our way back up to the room. The toilet was a little leaky and ducktape seemed to hold together the sink pipe. The shower curtain definitely needed updated, but overall gives you a slight feeling of the lifestyle. The front door could use a bottom skirt in order to block bugs from crawling through (it is next to the rain forest so some insects and animals are to be expected.) The bed was quite firm, but we still slept well. The biggest thing about the room is that the front door could use a more sufficient lock than just a push button. The pool is nice with a pretty cool, but small view of the ocean and trees. The beach was only about a 10-15min drive (Don't feel pressured to follow parking guys in the street, they will try to "order" you to park as if it is law but just wave "no" to them and keep driving, you can find free parking at the park or $6 parking down the road on some property through a gate.)
A little more entertainment at the bar would make it more enticing to stick around in the evening along with better drink prices and readily cold beer (refrigerator didn't seem to work.) It was more about a traveling trip and less pampering so the place was pretty decent for us. It seems they are still working on the place, but is still good if you don't have too high of expectations. We had a whole travel package so we weren't paying per night. All in all, the staff were friendly, and the room was comfortable for a few nights.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a high viewpoint, be willing to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabulia T, General Manager at Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Michael C,
Thank you for honest review.
We are sorry that we didn’t meet you expectation, but we will certainly do it the next time you come visit our country, if you’ll give us another chance.

Thank you again,
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas – Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I can't imagine who awarded this place 3 stars? It is billed as a new hotel. It isn't. There is simply a new owner. The buildings range from old to ancient. The best of it is a 10-room, two-story structure that some of us were assigned for our 3-night Christmas stay near Manuel Antonio Park.
I was part of a group of about 35 people on a tour. This place was supposed to be renovated in time for our arrival. It wasn't, and they didn't notify the tour company. I was placed in one of the ten "finished" rooms. Some members of the tour were placed in un-renovated rooms that didn't even have water or windows yet. Our tour guide then scrambled to find those people other hotels along the road to the Park. Fortunately, places were found, but it meant our group was unable to easily gather for meals, drinks, etc.
When we first checked in after a long day of travel, most of us asked for ice. The hotel had one small bag...for 35 people!
We then hiked up the hillside to our rooms. They were large with two uncomfortable beds and little else. No luggage racks- our suitcases sat open on the floor. Poor lighting, no dressers, no phones. Windows that wouldn't close all the way, and allowed traffic noise. Not a single clothes hanger in any of the 10 rooms. Not even a TP holder in the bathroom. Just a roll sitting on the toilet tank. The soap dish in our shower was full of water with melting soap & wrappers from the previous occupants. No view, but we did have a decent patio with rocking chairs and the occasional iguana ;-). Fortunately, we had a good A/C unit which helped drown out traffic, and noise from the ceiling fan.
There is a pool on the property, but we had to hike down 3 flights of stairs, then up a different 4-5 flights to get to it. No shade at all, so we used our rain umbrellas to get some relief from the intense sun while sitting in the water. The Jacuzzi didn't work (and probably never will).
Breakfast was included at the on-site restaurant, Bambu' Jam. Each morning they asked "what would you like". Not sure why they asked since all they ever had in the kitchen was eggs. A small buffet table also offered bread, fruit, rice/beans, and once, potatoes.
On December 26th, the water went out for hours. The hotel owner told us that it was out for the entire region. When we met the rest of our group (that had moved to other hotels) for a farewell dinner, none of them even knew about it. Hmmm!
This hotel is located close to the town of Quepos, on a hill leading to Manuel Antonio National Park. The better hotels are on the other side of the hill, closer to the park. Many of them have spectacular ocean views.
At departure, our tour guide said that this was the first and last time this hotel would be utilized, and he apologized profusely.
It's hard to imagine why the hotel owners (who were very nice Americans) would allow their reputation to be destroyed, just as they opened.
The employees were very anxious to please, and the hostess/waitress in the restaurant was very accommodating, but either they are operating without sufficient funds or simply don't know what they are doing.
Not recommended!

Note: El Avion and La Cantina BBQ are both great places to eat in this area!

Room Tip: None here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabulia T, General Manager at Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Futuremauian,
We apologize for the problems that may occurs, however we think that your comment is a little hard, and we would like to explain a few things. We are not going to start arguing with a client, but we think that the following issues should be mentioned for future clients.
To start we would like to clarify that we accomplish with the requirements to obtain our actual three stars qualification, by international standards.
We were renovating to be ready to receive your group, but things got slow and difficult around the Christmas Holidays. This is not an excuse, just the way things happen.
Our restaurant serves a good generous breakfast and our staff is – as you stated – “anxious to please, …and very accommodating”; that is precisely why they asked every morning what would you like (to be served).
Finally at your check out, we refund one night (for every room, including yours) back to your agency, to minimize your group’s unhappiness.

Thank you
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas – Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

My family and I go to Costa Rica every two years to visit with family. While in CR, we often go to Quepos to spend a night or two with just our kids. We stopped in at Hotel El Mirador and were told they had one room left for the night. My husband took a look at the villa with it's own path to the pool and negotiated a price. We got to the villa, which was nice, but the AC we paid extra $ for didn't actually do any good until the middle of the night. The next morning we discovered why this was the only room left. An army of TERMITES revealed themselves making quick use of the ceiling beams and FALLING ONTO THE BED that we were sleeping in!!! Given the number of TERMITES and their location, directly above the beds that are made daily, the staff had to be aware of them and still gave us the room. (Why else would the only room with a private entrance to the pool be the only one available?!?) When the owner and her assistant were confronted, their lack of response and turned down eyes confirmed everything. They were at a loss for words at first and unable to look into my face as I stood there with my 7-month old on my hip. Eventually, they remembered to try and save face, the owner denying any knowledge and the assistant saying they knew there were termites outside but not inside, at the same time. We weren't even asking for our money back, we could care less about that. We were just appalled that they would knowingly rent a room, to a family with an 8-year old and an infant no less, that was TERMITE INFESTED. Do not stay here, they are not to be trusted and they should be ashamed of themselves!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingcespedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

I went to this hotel 4 years ago and loved it. Love the area. Brought my husband along this time to enjoy it again with me.

Not the same- owner still very friendly and accommodating. The property is for sale and seems to have been neglected significantly since the last time I visited. The breakfast used to be outstanding- customized by your appetite by their very own French chef- now simply mediocre. The lack of air conditioning is hard to sleep with.

It's too bad- location is wonderful and everything is close by. The park is a short bus ride away for ~40 cents. And the owner is so nice!

  • Liked — Location, staff, nice pool
  • Disliked — negelcted gardens (they used to be so nice!) no internet access, no air conditioning
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oodles_jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
2.3 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
1.4 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,008 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
2.3 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas

Property: Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas
Address: Manuel Antonio Road, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entire property is covered with beautiful flowers and exotic plants from all over the country. There are plenty of places to take memorable photos with the family while being surrounded by flowers. Rooms come in several variations and categories, in order to accommodate every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing