We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Santa Juana Tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greentique Costa Rica Tours

Greentique Costa Rica Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Nature Park is part of a 25-acre private wildlife refuge and protected corridor with three primary nature exhibits, including Turtle Ponds, and several user-friendly“nature interpretive” trails located across from Si Como No Resort & Spa.The Nature Park features a unique Butterfly Atrium and Amphibian Botanical Gardens with guided “Jungle Night Walks”, plus one-of-kind Reptile Lagoons with Crocodiles,Caymans and Turtle habitats. The refuge includes a variety of Flora and Fauna, including a medicinal garden and natural habitats for three species of primates and variety of birdspecies.The primary mission of the project is to help conserve biodiversity by informing visitors ofthe importance of appreciating and in turn protecting our precious natural resources.The guided tours are in English and Spanish. Comfortable shoes & binoculars are recommended. Children under 6 are free with discounts for children 6 to 12. The six (6) tours offered are: 1) The Butterfly Botanical Gardens 2) Reptile Lagoons 3) The Butterfly Botanical Garden and Reptile lagoons 4) Combination Exhibitions and nature Walk 5) Nocturnal Jungle Walk and Tropical Aquatic Garden 6) Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge Birding Tour
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Santa Juana Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Went on this tour with my husband and 2 young sons, ages 9 & 5. It was a long and bumpy ride to get there, but lots of nice scenery and "fun" driving. The views from Santa Juana were breathtaking. We started with about 45 minutes-1 hour of horseback riding through beautiful scenery, then a demonstration of sugar cane juice extraction with oxen, then about an hour-long hike in the rainforest. After the hike, we swam in a cool pool of a waterfall for about an hour (felt really good after the hike). Then about 30 minutes of tilapia fishing in a stocked little pond (my young boys enjoyed it), then lunch. It was a fun tour and very good for young children--not too long at any one activity.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cindyp212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    45
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Looked nice but couldn't get in”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

When we went in the mid afternoon there were no tours until the night tour which was disappointing as it looked like a nice place. I wish they had more daytime tours. Our kids loved the butterfly garden which is open during all daytime hours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hinterland Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Some strenuous parts (which you can skip) followed by a swim in a natural pool. Great views of the coast line. Breakfast and lunch on top of the world!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great chance to see wildlife up close”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We booked this tour on a whim and it was great - we saw lots of different kinds of frogs and toads, weird insects, and really neat plants (ginger, lemongrass, and cinnamon I think). We even got to see a three-toed sloth, two toucans fighting in the trees, and an agouti running around while we were there!

Our only disappointment was (perhaps because we hadn't looked into it before going) that we spent part of the time in the amphibian area where some of the animals (crocodiles, caimans, turtles, snakes) were in enclosed or caged areas, so that made it seem a little less like a "nature" walk and kind of like being in a zoo at night.

But all in all we were so excited to get some photos of frogs and to see the sloth, toucans, and agoutis was a big bonus. The guides were fantastic, very knowledgable and friendly too (our guide just needed to work on holding the flashlight still instead of moving it around while we were trying to take photos, because it made the photography aspect a bit challenging :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bassgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS the night tour!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was one of our favorite activities. You need to make a reservation.

The tour starts at 5:30. You need to arrive by 5:20. You can pay by credit card. They have flashlights to borrow. I wore shorts and I did not have a problem with bugs. My daughter felt that she was being swarmed so I sprayed her but she is very sensitive. The bugs were not biting her just flying near her. My son, husband, and I did not need spray.

We had Johnny as our guide and he was excellent. He is a biologist and was so informative. We saw howler monkeys, agoutis, beautiful frogs and bugs, two small snakes, a termite nest (and tasted them!!!), crocodiles (in caged areas), and spiders. We were blown away - it was very magical. The pictures that Johnny took with my iphone look like National Geographic. I think this tour is far more worthwhile than Manuel Antonio.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Washington_DcKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greentique Costa Rica Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Greentique Costa Rica Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing