We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greentique Costa Rica Tours

Greentique Costa Rica Tours
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2777 0850
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Nature Park is part of a 25-acre private wildlife refuge and protected corridor with three primary nature exhibits, including Turtle Ponds, and several user-friendly“nature interpretive” trails located across from Si Como No Resort & Spa.The Nature Park features a unique Butterfly Atrium and Amphibian Botanical Gardens with guided “Jungle Night Walks”, plus one-of-kind Reptile Lagoons with Crocodiles,Caymans and Turtle habitats. The refuge includes a variety of Flora and Fauna, including a medicinal garden and natural habitats for three species of primates and variety of birdspecies.The primary mission of the project is to help conserve biodiversity by informing visitors ofthe importance of appreciating and in turn protecting our precious natural resources.The guided tours are in English and Spanish. Comfortable shoes & binoculars are recommended. Children under 6 are free with discounts for children 6 to 12. The six (6) tours offered are: 1) The Butterfly Botanical Gardens 2) Reptile Lagoons 3) The Butterfly Botanical Garden and Reptile lagoons 4) Combination Exhibitions and nature Walk 5) Nocturnal Jungle Walk and Tropical Aquatic Garden 6) Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge Birding Tour
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This park has so much nature and the most beautiful, clean and pristine beaches. Go there early to see all the animals and take a guide. Also bring a camera!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseP602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    43
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Frogs and Snakes and Spiders at night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were staying across the street at Si Como no, so we decided on a whim to take the night tour -- which begins before dusk. We have taken several nature tours in several countries, so we thought we'd see a few frogs and toads at a distance and that would be that. Boy were we surprised.

The abundance of tree frogs, toads, snakes, tarantulas and other spiders was astounding. Our group consisted of our family ("kids" are 20 and 17) and another family with three kids under 12. It was a highlight for both of us. Our guide obviously loved what he does, and had a great rapport with the younger kids while still presenting an informative experience to the adults.

Truly a cool experience, and well worth the small fee for the tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCWorldVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our Boys Had A Blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our guide, Michael, really made this a fun adventure. It's so nice when you know the person who's guiding you truly loves what they're doing. Michael was sincere, sweet, patient, fun, and super knowledgeable. You could tell this is his passion and I think that added a great deal to the authenticity and fun of the tour. Our boys, ages 7 & 9, had an awesome time going through the black jungle with flashlights in hand. Michael helped them catch all kinds of frogs, from dry and rough to slick and slimy. Then, we finally got to see the famous (and adorable) red-eyed tree frog up close and personal when Michael put them on the boys' hands and noses. They even got to pull tarantulas out of little caves with sticks - scary! We saw bugs, beetles, spiders, and flowers that we'd never seen before. Michael also let us see what happens when the croc thinks he's found lunch and that was eye-opening to say the least: the snap of those jaws would have instantly cut a grown man in half. One really important note is that there were no mosquitoes or biting bugs of any kind (weird, right??) and if you are wearing any bug repellent, Michael won't let you touch the frogs. Luckily we had our spray with us but hadn't put it on yet. If you have kids, I would absolutely recommend this tour; They (and therefore, you) will have a fabulous, unforgettable time. Thanks, Michael!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank luvcitylivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great night tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went on the night tour of the park. Our guide was very informative and we saw tons of frogs and toads. The location can be a bit tricky to find as it is not well marked.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chicago_mom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Night Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a great tour for anyone looking for nocturnal jungle inhabitants. The refuge is in a natural setting and inhabitants are not in glassed in enclosures. The crocodiles and cayman are in a fenced and locked enclosure for visitor safety. Andy was our guide on the night walk, and was very exhuberant, but it added to the tour and he had a good eye for finding things we would have never seen. Each visitor receives a flashlight for the night tour and no flash photography is permitted, however the flashlights project adequate light for photos. When we arrived, Andy was not at the refuge, but was at a hotel across from the refuge, rescuing a boa constrictor found on the hotel property. We were able to witness the release of the snake in the refuge during our tour. My goal for the tour was spotting the red-eyed leaf frog. Although this frog is pictured on postcards and much of the advertising of Costa Rica, it is not easy to find. After visiting other jungles and rainforests in Costa Rica the past 9 years with no luck, I was finally successful at Fincas Naturales. We also saw many other frog species,snakes, fireflies,Costa Rican jumping spiders, Basilisk or Jesus Christ Lizard,cayman and crocodiles. This night tour is well worth the money and includes entrance to the butterfly garden. Our group comprised eight people and would have been better if it was limited to six, so everyone had an equal chance for sightings and photos.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 5VacationLuvR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greentique Costa Rica Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Greentique Costa Rica Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing