We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night tour!”

Greentique Costa Rica Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Nature Park is part of a 25-acre private wildlife refuge and protected corridor with three primary nature exhibits, including Turtle Ponds, and several user-friendly“nature interpretive” trails located across from Si Como No Resort & Spa.The Nature Park features a unique Butterfly Atrium and Amphibian Botanical Gardens with guided “Jungle Night Walks”, plus one-of-kind Reptile Lagoons with Crocodiles,Caymans and Turtle habitats. The refuge includes a variety of Flora and Fauna, including a medicinal garden and natural habitats for three species of primates and variety of birdspecies.The primary mission of the project is to help conserve biodiversity by informing visitors ofthe importance of appreciating and in turn protecting our precious natural resources.The guided tours are in English and Spanish. Comfortable shoes & binoculars are recommended. Children under 6 are free with discounts for children 6 to 12. The six (6) tours offered are: 1) The Butterfly Botanical Gardens 2) Reptile Lagoons 3) The Butterfly Botanical Garden and Reptile lagoons 4) Combination Exhibitions and nature Walk 5) Nocturnal Jungle Walk and Tropical Aquatic Garden 6) Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge Birding Tour
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great night tour!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went on the night tour of the park. Our guide was very informative and we saw tons of frogs and toads. The location can be a bit tricky to find as it is not well marked.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chicago_mom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    45
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Night Tour”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a great tour for anyone looking for nocturnal jungle inhabitants. The refuge is in a natural setting and inhabitants are not in glassed in enclosures. The crocodiles and cayman are in a fenced and locked enclosure for visitor safety. Andy was our guide on the night walk, and was very exhuberant, but it added to the tour and he had a good eye for finding things we would have never seen. Each visitor receives a flashlight for the night tour and no flash photography is permitted, however the flashlights project adequate light for photos. When we arrived, Andy was not at the refuge, but was at a hotel across from the refuge, rescuing a boa constrictor found on the hotel property. We were able to witness the release of the snake in the refuge during our tour. My goal for the tour was spotting the red-eyed leaf frog. Although this frog is pictured on postcards and much of the advertising of Costa Rica, it is not easy to find. After visiting other jungles and rainforests in Costa Rica the past 9 years with no luck, I was finally successful at Fincas Naturales. We also saw many other frog species,snakes, fireflies,Costa Rican jumping spiders, Basilisk or Jesus Christ Lizard,cayman and crocodiles. This night tour is well worth the money and includes entrance to the butterfly garden. Our group comprised eight people and would have been better if it was limited to six, so everyone had an equal chance for sightings and photos.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 5VacationLuvR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The walk that we took was a guided one and it was outstanding thanks to the guide's eagle eyes and boundless enthusiasm.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Night Hike”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have been on several night hikes and this was by far the best. Of course since it is night time you see mostly frogs but we also saw sleeping birds, sloths and the most amazing fireflys ever! They were about 1 1/2in. long and the "blink" was like a sunset color and then the "landing lights" were bright green. We've never seen that before. They have a large Croc area populated by rescued crocs. Not really natural but in a nice environment. Our guide was Michael and he was very good. The cost is high (what tourist attraction isn't?) But you do get to come back in the daylight to visit the butterfly house for no additional cost. The family had an enjoyable time there from 5yrs-65yrs old.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank joyceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Please spare us the fake enthusiasm.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Cost $70 for 2 people 8 people in the group. The walk is about an hour and a half. The guide (Andy) was really irritating shouting wow every few minutes when he found something to show the group like it was the first time he had seen something. He was also at times really ride to various members of the party. I was also not expecting to be taken into Crocodile cages not very Naturale.

Wow really expensive, wow really irritating guide, wow miss it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mint61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greentique Costa Rica Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Greentique Costa Rica Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing