We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please spare us the fake enthusiasm.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge - Greentique Costa Rica Tours

Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge - Greentique Costa Rica Tours
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2777 0850
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nature Park is part of a 25-acre private wildlife refuge and protected corridor with three primary nature exhibits, including Turtle Ponds, and several user-friendly“nature interpretive” trails located across from Si Como No Resort & Spa.The Nature Park features a unique Butterfly Atrium and Amphibian Botanical Gardens with guided “Jungle Night Walks”, plus one-of-kind Reptile Lagoons with Crocodiles,Caymans and Turtle habitats. The refuge includes a variety of Flora and Fauna, including a medicinal garden and natural habitats for three species of primates and variety of birdspecies.The primary mission of the project is to help conserve biodiversity by informing visitors ofthe importance of appreciating and in turn protecting our precious natural resources.The guided tours are in English and Spanish. Comfortable shoes & binoculars are recommended. Children under 6 are free with discounts for children 6 to 12. The six (6) tours offered are: 1) The Butterfly Botanical Gardens 2) Reptile Lagoons 3) The Butterfly Botanical Garden and Reptile lagoons 4) Combination Exhibitions and nature Walk 5) Nocturnal Jungle Walk and Tropical Aquatic Garden 6) Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge Birding Tour
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Please spare us the fake enthusiasm.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Cost $70 for 2 people 8 people in the group. The walk is about an hour and a half. The guide (Andy) was really irritating shouting wow every few minutes when he found something to show the group like it was the first time he had seen something. He was also at times really ride to various members of the party. I was also not expecting to be taken into Crocodile cages not very Naturale.

Wow really expensive, wow really irritating guide, wow miss it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    38
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Last Minute Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The rental home we stayed in was close to Fincas Naturales Wildlife Refuge and we decided to check it out on our last day in Manuel Antonio before leaving for La Fortuna. We went to the butterfly garden, serpentarium, and amphibian refuge. They have tours every hour on the hour during the day. It was informative, fun and we got some excellent pictures!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful little place, with great environmental attitude!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place is a small 'refuge' on the way to MA Park. We had a wonderful guide, who was very knowledgeable about the animals and butterflies we saw. The turtles, crocs and alligators are all rescue animals, taken in before most of them can be put back in the wild. The refuge is all about the environment, and their attitude was wonderful!!
The butterfly enclosure was so great! We were there in the afternoon, when there are supposedly not as many butterflies. But there were plenty, and we spent over an hour just enjoying the butterflies and the flowers in the enclosures. What a wonderful little place!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jillkc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting and good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The tour was very interesting and led by a very good guide named Michael. We just wanted to burn an hour or 2 so we simply chose to tour the butterfly farm and got a bonus croc farm tour. The value was good at $15 per person for this tour which included an open ticket for a week for repeat visits. Michael explained alot and we saw butterflies at different stages of development which is one thing we would not find in a North American butterfly area. They actually ship the various butterfly Chrysalis to other butterfly farms around the world. After seeing the butterflies, and learning alot from Michael, he took us around the croc farm and saw many of the big guys along with some turtles. All in all, a good tour and a good way to spend time close by as the Refuge was in walking distance to the hotel.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnesv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayuta Lake
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Night walk is great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We took the night walk and started at dusk. The walk was a little over 2 hours and odd timing for dinner. Our guide,Roy, was able to elicit frog calls. We added several new species to our list.
Our guide, Roy, recognised my grandson, Ben, 2 days later in the National Park.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge - Greentique Costa Rica Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Si Como No Resort Spa & Wildlife Refuge - Greentique Costa Rica Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing