We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A fun tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greentique Costa Rica Tours

Greentique Costa Rica Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Nature Park is part of a 25-acre private wildlife refuge and protected corridor with three primary nature exhibits, including Turtle Ponds, and several user-friendly“nature interpretive” trails located across from Si Como No Resort & Spa.The Nature Park features a unique Butterfly Atrium and Amphibian Botanical Gardens with guided “Jungle Night Walks”, plus one-of-kind Reptile Lagoons with Crocodiles,Caymans and Turtle habitats. The refuge includes a variety of Flora and Fauna, including a medicinal garden and natural habitats for three species of primates and variety of birdspecies.The primary mission of the project is to help conserve biodiversity by informing visitors ofthe importance of appreciating and in turn protecting our precious natural resources.The guided tours are in English and Spanish. Comfortable shoes & binoculars are recommended. Children under 6 are free with discounts for children 6 to 12. The six (6) tours offered are: 1) The Butterfly Botanical Gardens 2) Reptile Lagoons 3) The Butterfly Botanical Garden and Reptile lagoons 4) Combination Exhibitions and nature Walk 5) Nocturnal Jungle Walk and Tropical Aquatic Garden 6) Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge Birding Tour
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A fun tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We did this on our last night in Manuel Antonio and we're glad we did. We a lot of frogs, mostly Gladiator and Green tree frogs as well as some toads. The insects that were out were pretty amazing, several Walking Sticks, Katydids and even a tarantula. The crocodiles and caimans were interesting but we had seen both in the wild near Tortuguero which was much cooler. We were in a small group, 7 of us including the guide and as a result there was plenty of opportunity to interact with the guide and ask questions. It was fun and a very safe and educational way to see the jungle at night.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RLMskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    43
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not Worth the pricy fee , 10-15$ p/p would have been more reasonable. Night tour!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We arrived to be one of 3 groups moving through this rather contrived jungle setting alongside one of the busiest, noisiest road in the area. The facility ,bathrooms are not maintained very well......looks like not much had been done for 20 years.
We did see a few tree frogs, 2 small snakes in a bamboo grove and pond area.
they also have created several concrete ponds which house captive caymans, and crocodiles which are supposed to be re released to the wild. doubtful, they have been there for quite a while. We have seen much more wildlife and frogs etc during a night hike in Monteverede........or adjacent to where we are staying.

It has some educational value for those who really have never experienced nocturnal habitats at all in a tropic setting. However the $40 peer person admission was really a waste......would have rather donated the money to preserving habitat.

guide was somewhat knowledgeable about names and species....but really only had knowledge to answer the most superficial questions.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveldreamer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_QCostaRica, Manager at Greentique Costa Rica Tours, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for the wake up call! After so many positive comments over the years, we appreciate the fact that over the peak weeks of the Easter Holidays we slipped this time. Too many tours commencing at once compromised the quality and experience we normally deliver. We will make schedule changes for the next holidays accordingly to assure tour quality. We have been so busy this season that we've put off some maintenance that will commence in May. However we were surprised that you did not find the Flora and Fauna of our popular Refuge Night Tour as impressive as it's track record for matching and often exceeding similar tours. Sometimes Mother Nature, when we don't operate an exhibit with captive subjects in cages or confined areas, is on "holiday", but I can assure you the knowledge and quality of our tours has been rated #1 for so many years because we use only highly experienced Nature Interpreters as part of our philosophy of sustaining exceptional experiences in all the products we offer. We hope you will return again to "experience" what so many others have appreciated as nature lovers from around the world as our guest, compliments of the refuge.

Again our apologies,

Johnny Hernandez
Manager/Guide
The Manuel Antonio Nature Park and Wildlife Refuge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nighttime jungle tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Pretty sure this was the place where we took a nighttime jungle tour to see frogs and bugs. Not everyone's cup of tea, but super interesting with knowledgeable guides (Emilio!). It was fun to see the jungle from a different perspective.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank maggie3661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Night tour was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Loved this tour and our guide Emilio. Emilio was very informative and the sounds of all those frogs at night was awesome. You are given a flash light to hunt along the path for different frogs and snakes with your guide leading the way. We saw 9 different species of frog, a snake, spiders, lizards, a kinkajou (sp?), turtles, crocs and caimans. The latter are in large penned habitats but the reserve backs on to the National Park so the frogs, lizards - and kinkajous - can come and go as they please. A great night adventure for kids (and parents!). The staff are all very nice and will call you a cab at the end of the tour. Emilio even waited with us at the road for the cab to come.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RQH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, but not great in the rain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The butterflies were a bit sleepy due to the rain when we went, but it was interesting to see all the pupa and eggs hatching. The reptile tour was very interesting and having the guide, though a bit pricey, was worth it. I would love to go on a dry day, a few other paths were also closed due to some snakes that come out a lot in the rain. I would skip it if you only get rainy days because of the price and limited views. The price is fair though based on all the research and conservation they are working on. They did, however, say we could come back again later in they day for no charge.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mattie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greentique Costa Rica Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Greentique Costa Rica Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing