We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Friendly and Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Reviewed November 13, 2012

You cannot beat the location and value of this quaint little family owned hotel which is literally steps from the beach and the Manuel Antonio National Rain Forest. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the ceviche in the cafe is superb. Don't waste your time on a $60 "Monkey Tour". A family of monkeys visits the cafe every day between 4:30 and 5:00. Buy them some bananas and you'll have new friends for life!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the beach side have an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetTitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 176 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great location right at the exit of the National Park. Great parking in the back, clean rooms, and reasonable prices for rooms. No swimming pool was a negative, but you are across the street from the beach/ocean. The price, parking, and location are the reasons we stay here.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicagopanicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here back in 2010 for school and I had a blast! The hotel is located right on the beach which features tiki bars and awesome surfing! The owners of the hotel were so nice and helpful. I would most def stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My friends and I stayed here recently, and it was pretty incredible to be able to step outside our rooms and practically be right on the beach everyday. We asked for rooms with ocean views, which the hotel was happy to give us on such short notice (we had literally called the morning of to escape from a horrible hotel in another city). Our rooms were clean, had hot running water, and had A/C. The rooms weren't anything particularly spectacular, but for the price and the close walk to the beach, I would definitely stay here again. There's also wi-fi in the lobby and a restaurant next door, but I wouldn't recommend eating at the restaurant--there are plenty of better places along the beach to eat at.

The guy who worked at the front desk was awesome. We were waiting for other friends who flew in a week later than us to arrive and had some difficulties communicating with them to figure out when we should check out of the hotel. However, the guy was so nice and accommodating about what day and what time we needed to check out. He even offered to look after our bags behind the lobby desk after we checked out so we wouldn't have to carry them around with us as we waited for the rest of our friends to get to Costa Rica. As we left to go meet with them, he told us not to hesitate to call if we needed anything else while we were in Manuel Antonio.

Basically, it was a great view, great service, and a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsmb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The housekeepers were friendly and seem to do the best they can with what they have to work with. The rooms are extremely overpriced for what you get. When we arrived, we asked the sheets and bedspreads be changed due a strong odor that I am still unable to put my finger on. The bathroom was in disrepair looking as if each repair was made with whatever materials were available at the time. One of the buildings doesn't even face the ocean. The building that does face the ocean only has a view on the 2nd floor. And don't even get me started on the restaurant. We went there the night we arrived and the lighting was not optimal. The next morning, when we saw the filth, we felt lucky to have lived through dinner (which we were double charged for - and had it not been for my Costa Rican husband, I never would have noticed it). My advice for families who want to visit Manuel Antonio - pick a hotel up in the hills, shuttle down to the park everyday and go to the beaches inside the park! There are beautiful, clean, hospitable hotels and restaurants up there - don't waste your time on this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Manuel Antonio Hotel 3 times and we like it because it is right across the street from the beach at the end of the road in Manuel Antonio. It is clean, safe, has wifi and is close to the entrance to the national park too.

When driving into Manuel Antonio, watch out for a guy with a florescent vest trying to wave you in to park your car as if it's the end of the road. He acts all official but he is just what they call a "watchieman" or in English, someone who helps you park wanting money in return. They are not official, they just work off tips. Everytime we have gone to Manuel Antonio and are coming close to the Manuel Antonio Hotel, they were there. Just drive by them and carry on to the end of the road where the hotel is.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, ask for a room with a good wifi signal. West second floor rooms have the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 666Diesel666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

my girlfriend and i both went in 5 minutes from each other and asked how much a room would be for one night. I was in the bathroom when she asked and didn't know she asked. when i came out i went and asked, then went looking for my girlfriend. I was quoted $15 more then she was (talked to the same person)... if you book here have your wife/girlfriend book it. other then that the place was in a great location and decent rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#26 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Prats Hotel
Villa Prats Hotel
#29 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manuel Antonio

Address: End of road, across from beach, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $74 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Manuel Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuel Antonio Hotel
Hotel Manuel Antonio Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing