We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean, safe and right across from the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Manuel Antonio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, safe and right across from the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Manuel Antonio Hotel 3 times and we like it because it is right across the street from the beach at the end of the road in Manuel Antonio. It is clean, safe, has wifi and is close to the entrance to the national park too.

When driving into Manuel Antonio, watch out for a guy with a florescent vest trying to wave you in to park your car as if it's the end of the road. He acts all official but he is just what they call a "watchieman" or in English, someone who helps you park wanting money in return. They are not official, they just work off tips. Everytime we have gone to Manuel Antonio and are coming close to the Manuel Antonio Hotel, they were there. Just drive by them and carry on to the end of the road where the hotel is.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, ask for a room with a good wifi signal. West second floor rooms have the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 666Diesel666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    78
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
63
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

my girlfriend and i both went in 5 minutes from each other and asked how much a room would be for one night. I was in the bathroom when she asked and didn't know she asked. when i came out i went and asked, then went looking for my girlfriend. I was quoted $15 more then she was (talked to the same person)... if you book here have your wife/girlfriend book it. other then that the place was in a great location and decent rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stopped here at the very end of May on our way from Drake Bay to Monteverde. We looked around a little and this hotel was a good price and everyone was very friendly. Our patio was literally 75 yards from the beach. The next morning we were ten minutes walk from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park. When we exited the park we were 5 minutes walk across the beach back to the hotel. Could not have worked out better!

Room was nice, but not fancy. Clean, A/C (nice coming out of the jungle after after about 10 days), hot shower, nice view (even from our ground floor patio), free ice if you walk over to the restaurant. Highly recommend the hotel for it's access to the park and beach! They don't have a website yet (old one is down), but drive all the way to the end of the road along the beach at the traffic circle and there they are. Stay a while, you'll be happy you did! (If you are on the beach in the evening bring bug spray. Believe it or not there were more mosquitoes on the beach here than we saw in ten days in the jungle in the Osa Penninsula!).

Room Tip: If you can get a 2nd floor room facing the beach that's great, but even ground floor is pretty g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomK959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute through tourist information in San Jose. We were looking for basic affordable getaway and were not disappointed. For the rack rate of $90 including taxes we got a spacious room with lovely private oceanview balcony. Since this was the original hotel in Manuel Antonio, it sports the chunky dark furnishings from that era which are now showing their age. The rooms are sparse with few or no accessories. Not even an alarm clock,,. I had to borrow a blowdryer from reception. The only chairs were resin chairs (brand new) found on the balcony. AC was an asset although we only used it as needed (we're from Canada and like to feel the heat!) it was great to have though as it got uncomfortably hot at times.
There was Wifi but it there was no signal in the room. However, connection was available in the reception area or restaurant. Did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on that.
We stayed three nights, enjoyed long morning walks along the beach and breathtaking sunsets each evening. When entering the park, you will be approached by guides offering their services. We took a guided tour and found it fun and informative. The tour cost $20 each and was well worth it. These guides work very hard and only have a short earning season so do practice sustainable tourism and be generous. Tip: take a notebook and write down the names of flora and fauna if you wish to identify the pictures later on.
In short, the service, cleanliness, value all up to par but location is unbeatable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Boomer-Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattevillle, Wi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed her in March 2011 2rooms for a family of 4. Rooms were nice but bathrooms could have been more spacious and better vented. Very close to beach and National Park(less than 5 minutes) Free breakfast buffet was excellent and had many choices. Grounds were well maintained.Neach towels were provided but we did pay a small fee to have them exchanged daily. After checking out and spending the day on the beach it was very nice to have bathrooms available with showers to change before heading back to San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The girlfriend and I stayed here a few weeks ago and we were looking for an amazing beach front access and a simple hotel with a view, and boy did we find it. The front desk gentlemen were very helpful; signed us up for an "interbus", spoke great English and WIFI was available, along with a computer by the front desk. AC worked great, rooms were clean, the room safe was free, no deposit like most hotels. Room 15 has the most breathe taking sunset!! We will be going bk for sure!!

Only thing we wish it had was a bar fridge!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmn466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The hotel is right by the beach and the national park, it has a nice garden and some rooms have their balcony with an amazing ocean view! Each room has a cable tv, big shower, two double beds that were very comfortable and a/c and a private big balcony.in our room the wifi signal was only in the balcony but that was fine since it was so nice to sit there. The rooms were cleaned every day by a nice lady that always left us flowers from the garden and arranged our towels in different designs. The only downside was the price 60$ a night which is very pricey even for costa rica, and we found out that another room that stayed only 2 nights (we stayed for 3) only paid 50$.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiatR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#28 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#23 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mandarina
Hotel Mandarina
#22 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Colina
Hotel La Colina
#34 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manuel Antonio

Property: Hotel Manuel Antonio
Address: End of road, across from beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manuel Antonio Hotel
Hotel Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing