We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-Key Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Cascadas The Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Low-Key Hideaway”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

What a nice we had at Las Cascadas! We wound up reserving late, but we got a great discount and rooms and really appreciated that. Gary was very helpful in pointing us to restaurants and scheduling a very competent guide for our Manuel Antonio Park visit.

The hotel grounds were lovely and the design of the property was really terrific. We had an second-floor room (the one pictured on the website) that looks out over the pool and towards the water. We debated about the Domo room, but Gary was very honest in directing us to the room he felt we'd like the best and we appreciated his straightforward approach.

Our room had a great view with a terrific AC (a great option given the humidity during our stay). We were a bit surprised that there was no housekeeping service each day, but it was hardly a big deal for us, but we did drag in a bit of mud from the rainy day and would have appreciated a way to sweep up the floor. The room itself would benefit from a fresh coat of paint; it's starting to show a bit of wear and tear. We had a nice terrace right outside that we shared with a neighbor; there was a sink and frig out there along with a bar and lounge chairs. We felt very secure - a number of locks everywhere.

We asked about breakfast - Gary and his wife are experimenting with this service - it was great and super cheap ($2.50 per person), not huge, but we didn't want that anyway and more than enough for the money - way more than you'd get at a U.S. breakfast place for that amount..

The wireless access was intermittent and down by the office only; cellular was intermittent as well. Gary is looking into the wireless access though, so if it's important to you, then just ask. There was no public computer workstation that we saw, but I'm sure if you asked, Gary could recommend some place.

The hotel location was not as ideal as we hoped. The govt. has just started building a marina and there is a lot of construction going on down on the main road. It was probably a two-block walk down from the hotel, a short hike through the construction zone, and about two blocks beyond to get to the edge of Quepos. We walked around a bit, but there wasn't much we felt we needed to do there, so we went on to Manuel Antonio - that was about a 15 min. taxi ride from Quepos, so it was probably a total of 20 min. driving from the hotel That came to something under $6 one way, so it wasn't something we wanted to do multiple times during the day. The public bus was fine though - we rode that part way at one point. We didn't try to access any beaches around the Quepos marina construction - it wasn't clear where they were or if you were allowed to go on them. If it's straight beach time you want, then you might want to move closer to Manuel Antonio. If you're looking for something lower key off the beaten path, then Las Cascadas might be right for you. You might ask about any special prices - we got a break for a last-mnute booking and that clinched the deal for us over other MA hotels. When the marina is built, we'd bet that Las Cascadas will be in a great location.

We'd recommend Las Cascadas to folks not wedded to beach time or partying in town. For what we paid, we felt we got a good value, but other might feel differently, particularly if they had paid the full price showing on the website and weren't aware of the location/construction.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BatBoyAndBatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    83
    28
    27
    11
See reviews for
97
199
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Perhaps the coolest place I have ever stayed. Gary and his family takes you into his hidden gem in Quepos and makes you feel like you are part of the family. Las Cascadas sits on top of the hill overlooking the soon to be Marina Pez Vela and you get a nice view of everything. Rainforest, beach, and the town are all within walking distance. Occasionally you will not need to leave the grounds to see the wildlife of the rainforest, it will come to you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kydano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Perfect place for family and friends to make the most of the Quepos area. Walking distance to town, yet you feel secluded as though your accommodations are in the middle of a tropical park. The central pool area is great for evening confabs with friends and other quests and the kitchen facilities provide everything needed for do it yourself haute cuisine. Las Cascadas exudes a friendly, secure atmophere where anyone can enjoy the variety of activities and fun available along the Costa Rican Pacific coast.

Tip - Buy food at the local shops and use the handy woodfired barbecue near the pool to cook your fish and vegetables fresh from the market.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steelhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed at Las Cascadas the entire month of March and found the accommodations to be truly comfortable, relaxing, and immensely enjoyable. Gary, Catalina, their boys and staff were like extended family and wonderful next-door neighbors. We were able to immerse ourselves in the Costa Rican culture through daily/weekly forays to downtown Quepos and the surrounding country side and beaches. The villa is a bird watcher's paradise. A cocktail, a pair of binoculars, and a well read bird book provided ample etertainment as we cooled off in the pool. We enjoyed evening cookouts with freshly caught fish or steaks from the local carnerceria and the usual staple of gallo pinto. We preferred the secluded and quiet location of Las Cascadas compared to the expensive and commercial Manuel Antonio establishments. If you want to live like a Tico, this is definitely your paradise.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerzdevil2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This small, family owned condo hotel is definitely worth your consideration. We loved the fact that it is not on the busy road to Manuel Antonio - but it is a skip and a jump away from everything. The atmosphere is relaxing and quiet - the view of the area is lovely but it is not on the beach. The units are very nice - kitchens fully furnished. Swimming pool is a lovely area - well maintained. And what really makes the difference here is Gary's willingness to recommend activities and dining options. He helped arrange our driver to/from San Jose. His advice on local dining was spot on - we were interested in local ownership vs tourist traps. His recommendations on a canopy tour and a fishing outing were not the ones from the tour book - but they were fabulous. His wife also directed us to a great spa. In short, a high value place!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Overall, this place is a lot of fun. It's family run and everyone's extremely nice and always incredibly helpful. Gary, his wife and his children are a real pleasure to be around, and I think our whole group enjoyed their help a lot.

We organized a very big trip and there were a lot of details and meals at the house, and I was definitely impressed with Gary's ability to accommodate us extremely well. There were slight miscommunications about how ready the rooms were, and one of the suites is very high up on a hill. With that said, Gary was always responsive to any suggestions we had and really looked out for us.

The area is a little dodgy, as it's in Queos, not Manuel Antonio. It's easy to get to MA each day, and we managed to go out and find our way back most nights. But the neighborhood was still a little sketchy.

Overall, it was a great trip, and I'd recommend this place to most groups.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedelnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We loved visiting this area, but we are not likely to stay again at Las Cascadas. These accommodations are a little off the beaten path as advertised, but you can easily walk into Quepos (~15 min on foot). Catalina was very helpful in making quality recommendations and arrangements for nearby dining and activities. Our accommodations were clean, but surprisingly, there was no housekeeping service on the weekend. When we toured some of the other hotels in the area, we were suprised by their comparable rates and seemingly much more plush accommodations (more interesting views, higher-quality linens, newer construction, more amenitites, etc.) If you only have modest expectations, Las Cascadas won't disappoint. But if you're looking for something truly special, keep searching. (To be fair, the hosts are opening newly constructed rooms sometime soon and we had the privilege of touring them; they look very nice, albeit a steep climb is requried to reach them!)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmHersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
2.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
904 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
971 reviews
1.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,512 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cascadas The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cascadas The Falls

Property: Las Cascadas The Falls
Address: Zona Americana, Tipo H | Road to the Marina Pez Vela, 250 Mts West, Zona Americana, Tipo H, Manuel Antonio National Park 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Condotel Las Cascadas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Cascadas The Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cascadas “The Falls” is family-owned Boutique Hotel located in the Town of Quepos, just minutes away from the world famous Manuel Antonio National Park and all its wonders. Our Hotel offers individually designed accommodations with options on one, two or three bedrooms, all with a tropical elegance design, we give you the ideal natural environment for family vacation, romantic getaway or business travel. The convenient location of Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls” offers an incomparable natural setting on lushly landscapes with ocean views from some of our rooms, only three hours away from Juan Santamaria International Airport in San Jose. Enjoy endless summers with near perfect weather, balmy trade winds, and blue waters on a vacation in Costa Rica – the beauty is all yours to explore and experience. Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls” is situated in one of the most popular tourist destinations in all Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio National Park, here you can experience the true essence of the area, sloths, white-faced monkeys and howler monkeys are part of the wildlife that you will get to see inside the park, this among countless tropical flora of Costa Rica. The Hotel is located within walking distance from Nahomi Bay, (perfect sunset spot), Quepos Town, where all the small shops, supermarkets, pharmacies and other facilities are situated and the famous Marina Pez Vela is where you will find the area’s best restaurants, all with different options of Food & Beverages and a gorgeous ocean views. The stunning waters of the Pacific Ocean create a wonderful setting for Tours & Activities, such as snorkeling, sailing, stand up paddle boarding, and scuba diving, for the adventurers souls, tours like canopy (zip-line), white water rafting, ATV’s are always available for our guests. Quepos is among the world’s top destinations for Sport Fishing. Home of the 2017 Offshore World Championship. If you believe the surrounding beauty of the Manuel Antonio National Park and the offshore islands are overwhelming, just imagine how you will feel catching a giant blue marlin! Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls” is perfectly integrated into the lush tropical environment and provides a comfortable and private retreat. Visit Costa Rica, Explore Manuel Antonio and stay at Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Las Cascadas The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condotel Las Cascadas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Las Cascadas The Falls Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing