We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Cascadas The Falls
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I was traveling to Costa Rica by myself, and a little nervous, but Gary and his family took good care of me. They helped me book tours, transportation, and find good places to eat. They even gave me a ride to the dock my cruise disembarked from.

The hotel itself is pretty cute. My room was high up and I had a wonderful view. The sounds of the jungle lulled me to sleep at night and I got to hear tropical birds singing in the morning. I was also lucky enough to see some white faced monkeys hanging on the tree outside my room. The sloth on the grounds is the cutest and I snapped dome awesome pics of it.

Anyway, the customer service is what really makes this hotel worth it. I highly recommend if you are staying in Quepos or Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonbolog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    83
    28
    27
    11
See reviews for
97
199
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Three of us stayed here for 3 nights, March 23 - 25, and really enjoyed our stay.
Room - We stayed in the same room that is right off the parking area, and all of the things that the other reviewer complained about, I felt gave the room character. The room was big enough for the three of us, it was clean (no scorpions, or pests of any kind!!), and the bathroom/shower area was perfectly fine. There is a small fridge and coffee machine, not really much of a sitting area, but not sure why you need it because you can sit on the bed, or GO OUTSIDE! The bed was huge and quite comfortable. Two minor things are that the room could have used a bit more light, and a safe in the room is always good, but we were able to use the one in the office, so no problem. There are a variety of rooms if ours doesn't sound like it would meet your needs.
Staff/Owners - Very nice and friendly. Gary (owner) had lots of tips for us about restaurants and places to explore. He booked a tour for us, and helped another girl book her flight. His wife and sons are often around, and are also friendly and helpful, gives the place a nice feel. Other staff were always working hard and smiling.
Grounds - Top notch!! Lots of flowers and greenery. Great pool area, with a deep end, and nice lounge beds. Beautiful birds flying around, and best of all, a sloth, who hung out in the tree by the pool the whole time we were there. People in the rooms higher up saw monkeys as well. Nice little breakfast area by the pool with good food, a full breakfast for $7 each, reasonable.
Price - I did lots of research before choosing this place, and our room, at about $120/night is a moderate price, and totally worth it for what we got. (CR is not cheap, unless you are staying at a hostel type place.)
Location - In the town of Quepos, a 15 minute bus ride to MA Park (we did not have a car, no problem, less than 60 cents for bus each way, and so easy). The walk to town takes less than 10 minutes, you walk through a lane with Costa Rican homes on each side, sometimes kids are out playing, or dogs are out lounging, past a school where where they always seem to be playing soccer, down a short hill (a tiny bit of a climb on the way back), and go for a couple of blocks and there you are. Nice town, you get a bit of a feel for the culture when you walk around, some nice beaches, was told you can swim there, but rarely saw people in the water. Some nice restaurants.
Things to do - Manuel Antonio Park is a must , get a guide, and barter with them for a lower price (they ask $20/person), you will see lots of animals and they will put your camera on a telescope for great pictures. Villa Vanilla was worth the $50 each, good for all ages.
Restaurants - El Grande Escape for good food like home, a bit expensive, but big portions. Banana Club for an interesting Costa Rican experience, good food friendly service. El Avion for an amazing view and okay food.
If interested check review of place we stayed before this in Santa Teresa (Canaima Chill House), and place after this in San Jose (Hotel Aranjunez).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaKO12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hosts are very nice.
The hotel and the rooms are nice but it was way too expensive for what it's worth.

We had a bad experience as a scorpion came to visit our room at night.
But as the all of this area is located close to the jungle- I guess it can happen anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las-cascadas, Owner at Las Cascadas The Falls, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for the critique but since you took the time to write a review and comment on the wild life why did you not mention the cute little sloth that was living in the tree right by your bedroom window.
I also want to mention that we never were able to establish what it was you saw as your first description was a crab , then a Geco, and then a guest put the idea in your head it might have been a scorpion. What ever it was it has never been seen again. But the sloth is still here .
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
365 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were a little disappointed with this property. Located in a neighborhood tucked back above the marina which is under construction, its a bit difficult to initially find. The owners were very friendly and nicely arranged for tours for us that were top notch. The room we were in was right off the parking area. It was very dark and with only one bedside lamp, a very high overhead light and an overhead light in the bathroom. To get to the bathroom you had to climb 5 or 6 irregular steps. Got to be a pain after a day, especially at night. The bathroom had a large tub, but I wouldn't take a bath in it. (I'd rip this out and just have a nice shower.) The shower in the tub, perpendicular, wasn't the greatest.
There was one chair in the room. On the patio, 2 chairs where we read in the evening. The poolCould be a nice prper area was above us, and nicely done. Breakfast was available(good food), for an additional cost.
If you want to stay somewhere that you are in the action, this is not for you. This could be a nice property, and it probably was a few years ago, just needs a little more money invested in little fixes.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms off the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnitaS484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las-cascadas, Owner at Las Cascadas The Falls, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for your candid review. We many times take reviews to help us improve on the property and have since added new reading lights above the bed and will have a safe put in in May. Thanks for your input , it just makes us better. Sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Gary and Catalina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the condotel las cascades and it will be a must return spot on our next trip back to the Quepos/Manuel Antonio area.This place is located perfectly to enjoy the entire area a short walk to marina and Quepos and a quick taxi ride to the restaurants and beach.Our room was spotless and well looked after during our trip the hosts spoke english and looked after our every need.We had the opportunity to see a sloth up close and monkeys in the trees breakfest was great and the mohitos were better.We will return again.

Room Tip: each room has different things to offer depending on what you are looking for in your holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim013155015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great spot just outside of downtown Quepos and close to Manuel Antonio. Grounds were very relaxing for being so close to the city. Pool was great and we saw some wildlife right at our hotel. Gary and Catalina are wonderful hosts who cook up a great meal. It's a good place to relax and get advice from other guests on activities in and around the area. Highly recommend it for anyone staying in the Manuel Antonio area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I found this place after doing a lot of research on hotels in the manuel antonio area and reading other trip advisor reviews. I wouldn't normally write a review but our experience here was just so fantastic and I felt obligated to get the word out.


A 10$ cab ride to the national park and some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. Its just out side of the tourist zone in quepos. I really enjoyed quepos over manuel antonio because I felt like i got to experience the culture better. While there we were able to walk around the downtown area (like 6 square blocs, 2$ cab ride and 5 minute walk) and get to meet locals and see how they live.


The owners were great and you could tell that they really enjoyed helping the guests. They would bend over backward to make sure you were having a good time.

The hotel was built into the side of the mountain and most of the rooms have a view of the ocean. The reason the hotel is called las cascadas is because a short walk down a path you will find a waterfall. You very much feel like you are in the jungle with all of the wild life. Tons of birds, lizards, frogs, and a few times a week they get monkeys passing through. If your looking for a cookie cutter hotel experience, this is not it. But that is exactly what I loved. the people the location and the Price.

Room Tip: we origionall had the room high up int he canopy but were able to get one closer down. Its a hike t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
2.6 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
904 reviews
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
971 reviews
1.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,512 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cascadas The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cascadas The Falls

Property: Las Cascadas The Falls
Address: Zona Americana, Tipo H | Road to the Marina Pez Vela, 250 Mts West, Zona Americana, Tipo H, Manuel Antonio National Park 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Condotel Las Cascadas)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Cascadas The Falls 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Cascadas “The Falls” is family-owned Boutique Hotel located in the Town of Quepos, just minutes away from the world famous Manuel Antonio National Park and all its wonders. Our Hotel offers individually designed accommodations with options on one, two or three bedrooms, all with a tropical elegance design, we give you the ideal natural environment for family vacation, romantic getaway or business travel. The convenient location of Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls” offers an incomparable natural setting on lushly landscapes with ocean views from some of our rooms, only three hours away from Juan Santamaria International Airport in San Jose. Enjoy endless summers with near perfect weather, balmy trade winds, and blue waters on a vacation in Costa Rica – the beauty is all yours to explore and experience. Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls” is situated in one of the most popular tourist destinations in all Costa Rica, Manuel Antonio National Park, here you can experience the true essence of the area, sloths, white-faced monkeys and howler monkeys are part of the wildlife that you will get to see inside the park, this among countless tropical flora of Costa Rica. The Hotel is located within walking distance from Nahomi Bay, (perfect sunset spot), Quepos Town, where all the small shops, supermarkets, pharmacies and other facilities are situated and the famous Marina Pez Vela is where you will find the area’s best restaurants, all with different options of Food & Beverages and a gorgeous ocean views. The stunning waters of the Pacific Ocean create a wonderful setting for Tours & Activities, such as snorkeling, sailing, stand up paddle boarding, and scuba diving, for the adventurers souls, tours like canopy (zip-line), white water rafting, ATV’s are always available for our guests. Quepos is among the world’s top destinations for Sport Fishing. Home of the 2017 Offshore World Championship. If you believe the surrounding beauty of the Manuel Antonio National Park and the offshore islands are overwhelming, just imagine how you will feel catching a giant blue marlin! Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls” is perfectly integrated into the lush tropical environment and provides a comfortable and private retreat. Visit Costa Rica, Explore Manuel Antonio and stay at Condotel Las Cascadas “The Falls”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Las Cascadas The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condotel Las Cascadas Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Las Cascadas The Falls Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing