We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Sunset View, Abundant Wildlife”

TuleCafe Restaurant
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food, Sunset View, Abundant Wildlife”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We loved this restaurant on our last trip and ate there several times. Amazing sunset views! We were even entertained by monkeys during one meal as they played all around the open-air restaurant. Great food & great service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at TuleCafe Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2017
Thanks Ray for your review and stay at the Tulemar Resort! Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
155 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Food is ok but service is inconsistent”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Tulemar recently for 6 nights. We arrived late after a long travel day. We checked in, freshened up and had dinner at Del Sol. It was dead despite its lovely views. Service was very good this night. We were offered the main menu and the lighter menu that had several Mexican type offerings. We opted for the latter. Food was great. We went back a few days later after a day of adventure and had a poor experience. We ordered a pizza which was ok but the service was a disappointment. We asked for a refill of our water 2x but never received it. We probably would have had another round of cocktails but it was not offered. After we finished our meal we waited for the bill but our waiter had gone missing. After 20 minutes we asked one of the other waitstaff for it. She told us our waiter would bring it but had gone to deliver room service so it would be 10-20 mins longer....we understand laid back service but this was such a different experience than the first night we opted not to return again. Lovely setting and if the staff were more service oriented this could be a top choice for diners in the Manuel Antonio area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tashapVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at TuleCafe Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2017
Thank you tashapVermont, I'm answering this review a considerable time after you left it I guess out of shame. Your words ring true, but much has changed in the Three years since you left your review. I hope you come and visit us again at the Tulemar Resort and eat at the reminted Tule Café. Thanks for the review and Pura Vida, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, CT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic View & Delicious Food”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

A great combination, beautiful view and excellent food with a very friendly staff. We ate dinner with several friends and we all agreed it was an excellent choice. The mahi mahi was some of the best I have eaten and the volcano cake was a killer. If you stay at Buena Vista (the best hotel in Manuel Antonio) the restaurant is a must stop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TomWarren_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena_Vista_Chris, Manager at TuleCafe Restaurant, responded to this review, February 14, 2017
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Happy hour was not happy”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We went to Tulemar restaurant for their happy hour. Drinks are two for one at this time of day.
We were given two menus, one showing margaritas were 8.00 and one showing 9.00 each.
When we got our bill we were told we had been given drinks that were doubles. (Not true) and that was why they were not in a margarita glass. The long and short of it was that two drinks cost twenty five dollars when service charges were added. Pretty steep for a third world country where a bottle of tequila is dirt cheap.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BuenaVistaLuxuryVil, Manager at TuleCafe Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our restaurant. Future guests should be aware of two items involved with this review which I will gladly address: our prices are no different from any of the other resorts in the area. We have addressed the issue of double shots and two for one is two separate drinks for one price. Thanks again! Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TuleCafe Restaurant also viewed

Parrita, Province of Puntarenas
Parrita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Parrita, Province of Puntarenas
Parrita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Parrita, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to TuleCafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing