We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not pretentious, all you need is here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great place for families to vacation. We went with 2 kids 6 & 9. The bungalows are around the pool. We stayed in the fisherman's bungalow (#2) which was great - right in front of the pool. Not noisy at all after sunset. Simply decorated, clean, unpretentious, just very basic but friendly and fun, and it didn't break our bank accnt. Nothing is perfect anywhere, but we feel like this was perfect for us. Jonathan & Esteban were really nice to us and gave us impeccable service. The location I feel can't be beaten. The MA park is litterally 35 steps away. Buy your tickets to the park at the bank about 35 steps (on your right side when you get out of la posada) 10$/pers, kids free, before you go to the park. The free beach is 3 minutes walk away, the way to go is to take the small dirt alley right IN FRONT of la posada. It will lead you to a small bridge, then to a small souvenirs shop market, once you get out of the souvenir market, you will be on the main road, you go straight ahead for the beach or turn right if you want to get to the restaurants, pizza place, thai food, bars, and the convenience store. If you turn right on the next street it will also take you back to la posada, and you will see more hotels, a hostel, and restaurants. That's the la posada-beach-main road/restaurants-la posada loop. I would not take the small dirt alley after sunset to get back to la posada because the road has no light, and there are less people walking that way after the park is closed.

The food at la posada was very decent and not expensive. Home made. The staff works very hard and we were very happy with their work. Free Breakfast was fruits, cereal, toast, coffee juices, and hot breakfast was different everyday but everything was very decent. Dinner 3 times a week for a small price.

People who are looking for something that is new and modern and fancy should not stay here. This place is not for divas. Ceramic tiles are not new, it does look a bit dated: everything can look little tired after some time, but it can still work well.

Other guests also seemed satisfied with their stay. Book your tours with them, it will cost you 10$ less per person. Count it: how much money saved for a few tours when you are a family of 4? We had 3 tours booked with them: that's 120$ more in our pockets. And the staff gets the same amount in commission which is great.

We did not rent a car, we had them arrange for a pickup in sjo with Carlos, he was very nice to us. He had a booster which I requested for my 6 yo.

Before going to the beach buy your water at la posada for 1000 colones. I think they also have sandwiches, pizzas with a drink for a very good price. I didnt think about it but I could have had that for lunch inside the ma park since there is nothing sold inside. Just a note, I think it took about 30 minutes to walk to the ma beach in the park. Flip flops are not an option if you are going to go on the trails to the miranar (viewpoint). Flip flops to the beach only is kinda ok, but I had my kids wear sneakers. The beach is beautiful. Really. Don't miss it.

I brought minimum clothes, but I would have taken even less if I had known that they had a laundry service. Our clothes were brought in the morning and were ready in the evening on the same day. Bring at least 3 bathing suits, they tend to take a long time to dry up because it's so humid. Our bathing suits seemed to dry better inside the bungalow than outside on the porch. You have a table, 4 dining chairs, 2 rocking chairs a coffee table and a hammock. You have a microwave, coffee machine, glasses, cups, soap, toilet paper, nice towels, a/c, good wifi allover the place, free phone to us/canada, free use of desktop computer. If it rains, there are umbrellas at reception. Kids have beach toys, boogie boards. I saw one "nemo" lifejacket for a 6 year old or younger. The pool is small but not shallow, water was to my chest when i stood up and it's like that in the whole pool, you might want to plan for floaters. Beach towels available which is great: towels will not dry in this humidity. Bring cheap ones if you have to, it will dry better and will be less heavy.

Hope this helps. We highly recommend this place. Our little family had a great time. This could be good for just anybody. When it rained, our party continued anyway in the pool. Kids loved it. We ordered pizza and ate in the restaurant. Free bonus are the monkeys, lizards, a bambi all over the place. Mosquitos are also a bonus, so bring insect repellent: the cream type works better. Recommendations from a mom to other moms.

Room Tip: Fisherman's bungalow right in front of the pool (room 2) Sit in the rocking chair on the porch w...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foreverlilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
There are newer reviews for La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 916 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in two hotels when we were in Manuel Antonio - this being the first of the two. First off, the location is great! You can't get closer to the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park (there is one more hotel close to the park but it is extremely expensive)! It seems La Posada is family owned. Two younger guys were working the front and kitchen area and were extremely nice and helpful! They make fresh pizza daily (how they do it in the heat, I dont know!) and it is very yummy and cheap! $1 for a slice and a coke.

They have a fresh breakfast every morning - fruit, yogurt, breads, sausage, and will also make eggs fresh for you if you want. The pool isnt too big, but it is deeper than it looks and is also cool, so it feels amazing to hop in after a long day in the heat and humidity. They also have a stairway up to a bar, it looked pretty cool but wasnt being used when we stayed.

Each room has it's own hammock on the rooms patio which we used often! I could tell each bungalow was decorated a bit different based off the colors I saw walking by. Our room was bright green and had a parot theme, which helped with the rainforest atmosphere. It looked like the room next to us had a sky blue color and perhaps a fish theme - either way, the rooms were bright, colorful and welcoming.

You really feel like you are in the jungle here. Especially at the pool where you will see lizards frequently and if you are lucky, some monkeys hang around the dinning area that love to eat bananas from your hand!

Overall, we had a really great experience here and we will definitly stay here again if we get the chance. Everyone that works here is so warm and welcoming and really does go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. They also will help you set up tours, such as canopy, rafting, surfing lessons, ect, and will provide a discount if you book through them, so that is great!

Another bonus to the location of these bungalows, its just a short walk (up and) down a hill to get to the beach. From there, you'll have a ton of shops, markets, and resturants to choose from (I reccomend El Sol, they have a 2 for 1 happy hour on cocktails and their food is great)!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderlust_Jill_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed our 3 nights in the Villa - location was perfect right at the park entrance. The rooms facing the street are very noisy starting early in the morning before the park opens as the workers and guides all gather there so a room away from the street would be quieter. Also, the 2 futons in the Villa are not the most comfortable and wd be fine for kids. Room was very clean, pool was small but refreshing, A/C was great, food was fine, and the employees are all very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyfromphilly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

La Posada is not luxurious by any means, but it is laid back with an awesome staff and amazing location. It is literally right next to the entrance of the park and a short 5 minute walk away from great restaurants and the beach. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. The A/C works well, there is wifi, free movies to watch in your room and an amazing breakfast buffet included with the room (fruit, pastries, eggs, sausages and a rotation of pancakes, potatoes and other things - everything is made fresh). Laundry can be done cheaply and the room cleaners even bought us candy with some of the tip money we left them.

Mike wasn't there when we visited, but his staff was very attentive and willing to help us out with anything we needed. Esteban was extremely helpful with booking tours for us, including informing us that it was whale season and set us up on an awesome whale watching tour. Jonathan offered to drive us as it was pretty far away and gave us a price that was a lot less than what we had been quoted. The ride with Jonathan was fun as he is very outgoing with a great sense of humor. After the tour, he took us by a swimming hole with a rope swing. This place was amazing! Make sure you ask him about it. We could have stayed there all day.

We didn't see very many animals around, but we were usually out the door early in the morning and didn't get back until night time. The hammocks outside the rooms were great as we used them to relax and unwind. Unless you are looking to stay at a Ritz or Four Seasons quality place, La Posada provides everything you could need with the best staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank msbbn216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

It didn't take long to feel attached to the rugged simplicity of La Posada. The vibe is very casual and unassuming.
They served excellent breakfasts with something different each of the four mornings we were there. They also prepare dinner on certain days of the week for a nominal price. We didn't join in on these, but it looked like the group who did were having a good time. Certainly a good way to meet other travelers.
The bungalows were small, but cozy, and provided a small frig, microwave and coffee maker. They were thoroughly cleaned every day.
The location is great. You are literally a few steps from the entrance to Manuel Antonio National Park and a short walk to the public beach and several restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Surfer Bungalow - small, but comfy; across from the pool.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank afreil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

My sister, her daughter, her daughter’s boyfriend and I just returned from a weeks' stay at La Posada. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there! It is by no means an elegant hotel, but rather an informal, quirky, “family-style hostel”. This place is way laid back and that is exactly what gives it its charm! If it is catering and pampering you’re looking for, look elsewhere! You would probably not fit in here anyway! Most of the guests and all the staff here are friendly and easy going…as is Mike, the owner (great guy!!!). The rooms were super clean and the breakfast was delicious! We loved the whole vibe of this place, with the rainforest right outside your door and the beach a minute walk away…And both Jonathon and Mike were helpful with booking our tours and offering advice on the area.
The rooms were plain, but clean and comfortable and the grounds lush and green. And for the price, what more can you ask for???? I’d go back in a heartbeat (and I probably will :-) We all loved, loved, loved it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The rooms are not fancy here but it felt like we had just moved in with a warm and wonderful family. They anticipate all your needs -- laundry can be done for $6, lunch can be brought in from across the way -- and bend over backwards to help you. Food was yummy, price was right and we all loved it. Location next to the park and the beach means you don't have to drive -- a big plus -- or pay for parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonaDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,477 reviews
2.6 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Address: Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $97 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing