We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing visit”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Beyond the beautiful accommodations, customer service was the king. From the amazing breakfast(the rice and beans are to die for!), to amazing surf lessons with Rogelio, and everything in between. We were treated like family by everyone.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank searoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    145
    34
    17
    13
See reviews for
343
344
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights, two bungalows for 6 people including three children 10, 13, 16. It was a really enjoyable stay - very pleasant rooms and pretty surroundings. It definitely gets a 5 for price/value and a 5 for location. There were no hidden extras, we had an entire bag of laundry done for what 5 pairs of underwear would have cost at our last note, we did save several hundred of dollars on excursions, restaurant discounts, and paying cash. And there were easy extra's like they encouraged us to make free PB&J sandwiches from the breakfast supplies to take with us for lunch for the picky eater kids. The kids also loved the soda fridge and fresh made pizza 'on-demand' for very reasonable prices - they sell reasonably because they also serve a snack bar to the public and need to be competitive. For location you are right at park entrance so you can have the nicer quieter beach and guided tours for $10 a person, but you are also only 3 minutes walk to the public beach. There were loads of people walking along the roads past congested traffic to get to both and it was really nice not to deal with walking and shuttles on hot dusty roads surrounded by cars. But because it was at the end of the road, it was quiet - not like being on the other roads.

Its great that its small - there was always someone around to ask any questions including really straightforward recommendations about any restaurant or activity. It was like having a friendly expert on call. The service was excellent - when I first got there I asked the maid for a rag to wipe some lizard 'remnants' from the patio and 3 seconds later she was scrubbing the whole patio. If you will hang around the hotel then it can be relaxing - the hammocks were great - but because its small the atmosphere depends a lot on who else is there and the volume of those people. The other thing to know is that there were birds screeching or dogs barking every morning, so if you are light sleeper don't expect to sleep in at this hotel. One other comment - they have a ton of DVDs you can watch in your room for free but they were in spanish. So if you have kids to entertain you might want to bring some of your own. I did not see much wildlife there - just lizards - but our tour guide at the MA park told us the best place to see one of the rarer species of monkeys was the posada.

Room Tip: There are 4 bungalows, and number 1 is closest to road and number 4 is most secluded in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momofzimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2014

There is a tremendous variety of lodging options between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, so the best choice for you really depends on what you want. If proximity to the national park, friendly staff, and a generally comfortable atmosphere are at the top of your list, then you really can't do better than La Posada. The property backs up to the rain forest, and we became accustomed to the sounds of the jungle. The public beach is just a short walk down a convenient (if not too picturesque) path, and there are several solid restaurants in the area.

The owner was away, but it was easy to make the reservation with him by e-mail. The Costa Rican staff was very pleasant and eager to help (though they needed some reminders about requests to make tour reservations). Breakfast was plentiful and made from scratch, with abundant fresh fruit.

We stayed in the Monkey Room, which was pleasantly decorated and roomy. Everything was in working order, but the water pressure in the shower was a bit low. WiFi worked well most of the time. The pool was small but clean and refreshing after a day of hiking.

All in all, my brother and I had a great trip to Costa Rica, and staying at La Posada made our trip that much better.

Room Tip: The Monkey Room was great for up to three adults or a small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontroseMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

What a great place to stay. We took our "city" friends to Costa Rica and stayed at this hotel. The beach and park accessability are great. A little path to the beach...going by souvenir vendors is fun. It is easy to rent umbrellas, chairs, etc at the beach which is lovely.
The hotel itself is small and intimate feeling....you feel at ease talking to fellow guests. The management sees to your every need. My friend thought she had lost her beach shoes and the manager was very upset. He looked around and found them outside the door of a large family. Evidently one of the children had picked them up by accident. They pride themselves on the fact that no guest has ever had anything stolen.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious....I will definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueFieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed my last two nights in Costa Rica at La posada jungle. Staff are friendly and available to help answer questions or plan excursions. The rooms are clean and quiet. Great private pool. Monkeys are almost a guaranteed visitor in the morning for breakfast (so amazing!). The breakfast is fresh every day and of no extra charge. They have phones available to make calls to Canada or USA. At night the entire Manual Antonio area is quite quiet. The beach is a couple blocks away so you don't have to bring much more than a towel and sunscreen with you. I would stay here again!! Great place for families or couples - if traveling solo its good if you want peace and quiet but not to meet a lot of solo travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hao548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I loved staying here for alot of reasons. Cozy, clean comfy rooms with hammocks on the porch looking out over the lush grounds. Mike , the owner and all the staff are warm, friendly and very helpful with any questions or problems you have. Nice coffee pot, micro, fridge in the room. Nice sitting area by book stand with lots of tourist books to read or novels. Amazing breakfast and dinners for reasonable price. The staff really made time for us and helped us rent a car from Quepos. Just can't say enough about how cozy this place is. Thank you trip advisor forum because that's how I found this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naflick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Accepts credit cards. I paid $100/night for a single. Right next to the entrance to Manuel Antonio. (N.B.: Manuel Antonio has a couple great beaches with some trails to hike...but it is EXTREMELY touristy. This is not a real "national park" experience. Go to Corcovado for that.) Great staff, great American owner. Couldn't be nicer people, full of good advice. Bungalows are ultra-comfortable--beds were the most comfortable I experienced in Costa Rica. Great A/C, plenty of hot water in the shower. Fridges and freezers in the rooms. Microwaves in the rooms. Comfortable porches. Pool and Jacuzzi. Ice machine out by the pool. Included breakfast buffet. Free internet and international phone calls. Afternoon pizza special--two bucks for a slice of pizza and a drink. Does dinner three nights a week if enough guests reserve...

There are a trillion hotels in Manuel Antonio...and if I ever went back, I'd stay here again. Just a perfect place...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
996 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
971 reviews
2.6 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Property: La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Address: Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing