We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of home in Manuel Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A piece of home in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I really have no complaints about this hotel. We browsed many TA reviews before deciding on La Posada and we are very happy with our choice. When we arrived the electricity was out so it was extremely hot, but to fix that we decided to walk to the public beach nearby, which was only a 5-minute walk max. When we returned, the power was back on the and we were able to settle in. They have a cooler in the lobby where you can get beers, soft drinks and water which they just add to your room bill to pay at the end. They were not over priced either and it was a nice convenience. As other TA reviews have noted, the staff is amazing and make you feel right at home. You can ask them anything and they are glad to give you the best options and advice. For $7 they have a dinner at the hotel every other night and they also make pizzas daily for $10, which is a good deal for Manuel Antonio. We stayed in the two-story villa and it had everything we needed, even a built in sound-system where you could hear music all around the villa. Breakfast was great every day and we were always more than satisfied. The grounds are beautiful with lush landscaping and we saw some baby iguanas and monkeys one day. They also have boogie boards and towels you can take to the beach at no charge. The location is literally next door to the park, which is a must-see and a short walk to many bars, restaurants and shops. I cannot say enough about this place and my only regret is that we were not able to stay longer. We loved La Posada!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PlayaChick86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    146
    34
    18
    13
See reviews for
346
344
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We loved La Posada!! Our bungalow was cozy but had everything we needed: a fridge, hot water, microwave, safe box, tv, a/c, porch with hammock and dining table. We felt really safe…I forgot my expensive camera one night at the porch…the next day was there…untouched.
Jonathan and Esteban are very helpful and kind, as well as the girls that prepare the food and clean the rooms. Everyone was super friendly! Breakfast was the best we had in our trip…and we did visit many places (Arenal, Monteverde, Samara). They change it every day slightly, however you will always get fruits, juices, toasts, and eggs (you can ask them to be the way you like it, scramble, sunny side, omelet). The days we were there we had sausage, pancakes, gallo pinto…again they are very creative.
We did not have dinner at the Posada, but I believe they do offer a menu every other night with salad, main dish, and dessert for about $7… a bargain in Manuel Antonio.
The location could not be better, right next to the Manuel Antonio National Park. Capuchin monkeys came one morning and we were able to feed them with bananas. You feel like sleeping in the jungle, but with all the comfort.
You will get clean beach towels every day. Computer to check your emails. Wifi in the dining area. And a phone to talk for free to the USA. We did contact our family every night.
Recommendations:
-A great place to have dinner, cheap and amazing food: Backpackers Paradise-Costa Linda. Five minutes walk from La Posada. We got casados with fish and piña coladas (yummy!)
-The beaches inside the park are beautiful, but the entrance fee per day is $10. If you want to save money one day and enjoy a beautiful beach for free…go to Biensanz Beach, between Manuel Antonio and Quepos, ask the locals. That beach is lovely; you will have the beach almost for yourself and be surrounded by tropical forest. In addition, a family of capuchin monkeys visits this beach every afternoon.
Hope you have a blessed time, if you have any other question I’ll be glad to answer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlessedFamily56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a hard review. To be honest, the property is just okay. The rooms were a fine size, small for a family of four but would be perfect for two. The beds were really really soft, which is not my preference. What made it a great place is the staff. Jonathan and his staff were super friendly, helpful, happy, engaging, and FUN. They played with the kids, kept the pool and ohter public areas clean and tidy and just made it a VERY GOOD property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We -family of 4- stayed 3 nights at La Posada. It is practically next to the park entrance and although it can get really crowded on the road, once you are on the hotel premises, you hardly notice it.
The rooms are ok, spacious enough, with a fridge, a/c and fan. Most rooms have a small terrace, but there is also a general area to sit (where breakfast is served in the morning, with a large choice: gallo pinto, eggs, bread, cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juice, coffee, milk) with a TV, a PC and internet (also wireless) and for US visitors a possibility to call home free of charge. Jonathan and Ernesto are very good hosts, laid back but accurate and Jonathan can bake the best pizza's in Costa Rica (and beyond). The girls are very nice and they thoroughly clean the rooms. We really enjoyed our stay here and thought it was good value for money (surely in comparison to other places we visited in CR and we did visit quite some places).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank famoffourparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our 3-night stay at La Posada. The location can't be beat as it's right by the park and a short walk to the beaches, with many shops and restaurants also within easy walking distance, although since it's at the bottom of the hill and at the edge of the jungle, there are no views. Being at the very end of the road by the park though, it's also very quiet with very little traffic, and lots of wildlife in the area and even on the hotel property itself. The place is very small and compact, but quiet and comfortable. Our bungalow was clean and spacious, with all the amenities - air conditioning, TV, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, and a small patio in front with a hammock and sitting area. Breakfast was simple but ample and good. The breakfast area is a social spot with quite of bit of activity during the day, and where they also have a computer and phone with free international calls for guests to use. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. A great and affordable place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas73331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I guess if you are a "gringo" then your view may be different. You may think it is cheap, as latin americans we found it overpriced. We had a different room each night. The first one was in the newer building, very spacious, but dark and without character. It included a kitchenette which was very useful having a baby. The second room was one of the bungalows,smaller, older, less spacious but with more character and a nice sitting area outside. They provide shampoo and soap. Breakfast is okay, but they ran out of coffee both days and the hotel was not even full. Not a huge selection of food, one day it was pancakes and the next sausage and potatoes, plus eggs and some fruit. The night they served dinner (they do not have dinner every night), it was priced at US$7. We went to a restaurant nearby and payed $5 for a huge Casado. The first night they had nothing and the staff was not very helpful in directing us somewhere else. The staff is nice and they try to add things like movies but as I say, I guess the target is gringos. We were going to a park and a beach not to watch TV. It is well located, and although there is one hotel closer to the park, it seemed out of place (huge building); the Posada seemed like less of a threat to the ecosystem. They provided a cot for the baby, and when we asked for his towel they also provided one without a problem. Service is definitely good but it is not a hotel, the amenities are basic and we payed less for better hotels in other places in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Even though the bungalows are older, they have a nicer ambiance than the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruixita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at La Posada for 3 nights early in December 2012. We saw a deer and small monkeys from the park coming from the park. The staff were very accomodating and helpful. Three nights of the week they provided a buffet dinner to the guests for a small fee, which added to the feeling of community with the other guests. This small hotel is located next to the park, close to the beach, with retaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,535 reviews
2.6 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows

Property: La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
Address: Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
La Posada Private Jungle Hotel
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing