We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Worth every penny!”
other travelers have booked this property
Villa Celaje
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Celaje
Villa Celaje Outdoor living area with spectacular ocean views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Villa Celaje
Villa Celaje
Outdoor living area with spectacular ocean views
Living room area with flat screen TV.
Large dining room with chef services per your request!
'Blue Ocean' master suite with king size bed.
Master bathroom with access to outdoor jacuzzi located on the terrace.
The 'Grand Master' suite. View over the bed and into the unique shower room.
The 'Grand Master' bathroom.
'Plum Paradise' master suite with king size bed.
Kitchen with granite countertops, Italian cabinetry, and stainless steel appliances.
Outdoor jacuzzi on the terrace.
The 'Golden' bedroom.
s
Apartment suite.
Apartment suite sleeping couch and kitchen area.
Outdoor Gourmet Kitchen
Plenty of relaxing outdoor space
Fantastic sunsets year round
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chad Z
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I just returned from a stay at Villa Celaje with a group of 14 and could not have asked for a better experience or more beautiful home to stay at. The house is gorgeous -- well laid-out, great decor, sound insulation, and more than enough room for a group of our size. Not to mention, there's not a window in the house you can't get a great view out of. The kitchen on the main level is a *little* on the small side but, considering there are two other kitchens in the home and a personal chef available, it was a non-issue.

For this trip, we opted to go with the personal chef services for our meals (breakfast and dinners only, as we were out on excursions during the day) and were not disappointed. Marlon was easy to communicate with for advance planning and the food he prepared was fantastic. He truly went above and beyond my expectations and I would definitely look to use him again on a future trip to Costa Rica.

Johan, the house concierge, was equally fantastic. He was helpful in setting up our excursions, spa appointments, etc. and was always on top of everything. After two days at the house, we quickly realized that we were a hungry and thirsty group and would probably be running out of snacks/drinks by Day Three... after a late evening call to Johan requesting a re-stocking of supplies sometime the next day, I found myself opening the front door 30 minutes later to him with a handful of groceries. It was the little things like this that made the biggest difference.

Tatiana, our housekeeper, was also wonderful. She did so much work behind the scenes in keeping the house clean and polished -- it was nice walking back in at the end of each day to such a clean space. She even did our laundry mid-week, which was a nice added bonus.

All in all, a fantastic trip at a fantastic house. I think we would have been hard-pressed to find a nicer place with a nicer staff. Well worth the money!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan s
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Living High in Quepos”
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

If you want to wake up with unobstructed views of the sunrise and settle in at night to unobstructed views of the sunset, this is the place for you. The setting is incredible and the house easily accommodated our group of 11 adults in great comfort. Johan was the house manager and was ready to answer all of our questions and arrange whatever tours or services we needed. We enjoyed the services of a private chef for three of our nights (kudos to Michael and his assistant William) and ate like royalty (this was arranged via Marlin Calderon). This was a wonderful option and very reasonable. Each time we discussed the menu and Michael came mid-afternoon to cook. We even got a few lessons and I can't wait to get home to try my hand at ceviche. . All in all, it was MORE than advertised and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the setting high on a ridge above the ocean is spectacular
Liked least: there were a few things that needed repair like the refrigerator but it was quickly serviced
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyFa...
Western Springs, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The trip of a LIFETIME!”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Wow.. Just wow. My fiancé and I stayed at Casa Anaka Jan 2014 (another house on the estate) and the whole experience was so absolutely amazing that we rented Villa Celaje just months after returning home. We returned Jan 2015 with 18 of our friends and family members. There were 3 things that made this vacation unforgettable..

1. JOHAN!!! He handled every aspect of this vacation and he did not disappoint! He arranged airport shuttles, excursions, chef services, spa services, car rentals, even bus tickets to Panama for the adventure seekers in the group. He delivered on every request and to top it off, he's a fun-loving, personable guy. Johan is a huge reason why we came back to this particular estate a second time and looking forward to going back!

2. Chef Marlin is an AMAZING cook!!!! On the first morning after our arrival, I'd arranged a Costa Rican breakfast and the spread was unbelievable! So much food and everything was delish. It was a great way to kick off the week and give our guests a taste of the yummy Costa Rican food in store. On our last afternoon at the house, we utilized the outdoor kitchen and Chef Marlin came for a huge cook out. What a way to spend our last day... pool, gorgeous ocean view, and a feast! BBQ ribs, grilled veggies, baked potatoes, an entire taco bar, margaritas, grilled fish, flan and sorbet just to name of few things! The guys had actually just come back from a deep sea fishing trip with quite a few groupers in hand. Chef Marlin and his crew grilled the fish to perfection for us - talk about fresh! I HIGHLY recommend hiring Chef Marlin.

3. The house. The pictures do not come close to capturing the magnificence of the property. The house is complete luxury all the way and our guests could not have been more impressed. High end appliances, furniture, fixtures and finishing touches are littered all throughout the home. My finance and I stayed in the grand master suite - I don't think I could ever tire waking up to beautiful ocean and mountain views peering into the floor to ceiling windows. This house is perfection. All of our guests had their own personal space (and bathrooms, huge plus) and everyone absolutely enjoyed having 24 hours access to the infinity pool outside. There is even an outdoor full bathroom! One morning we were visited by a troupe of monkeys who joined us on the pool deck, grabbed food right out of our hands, and even allowed us to take playful pictures of them. We also had a sloth 20 feet away hanging out for the night right outside our balcony. You will be completely taken aback by the view once you step foot on the property.

We love the estate and we're considering it for our possible destination wedding. Thank you to Johan for making this vacation even better than our last. Our guests are still talking about it :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The top notch concierge and chef services
Liked least: Our stay was only one week!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whoareu
Madison, WI
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW just doesn't explain this amazing place!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Pretty sure this trip is going to be one of the hardest ones to top! It was our first trip to Costa Rica and after our amazing trip, we definitely want to return. Johan, the concierge, is probably the BEST we have ever worked with and made our entire experience a 10++. If you have a chance to get Chef Marlin to cook for you, you'll never want to go home and cook for yourself. We traveled with our 2 friends (early 40's), myself and my husband (early 40's), our 2 young kids (ages 2 and 4) and my sister in law (age 26). EVERY one of us had the trip of a lifetime and there was something for everyone. (we hardly wanted to leave the house/back yard pool because it was incredible!) We've even toyed with the idea of returning again with my husband's large family (26 of us) and renting all 3 homes. Talk about feeling like Royalty!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Johan, Chef Marlin, Tatjiana's cleaning and overall this house is amazing!
Liked least: nothing! Everything was top notch!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydsweete...
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Cannot find sufficient words to describe how wonderful this property and it's staff are.”
Reviewed February 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

We rented out the entire property of Montemer Estates for my wedding in November 2014. Everyone stayed on the property and we also had the wedding on the patio of Villa Celaje.

I cannot tell you how impressed we and our guests were with not only the property itself, but the entire staff of the estate. The pictures do not do the House(s) justice!

It is in a great location is Manuel Antonio, it's super safe (in a gated community), and easy to get to (no 4wd needed).

If you are looking for a place to have a destination wedding(or a large group vacation), this is you spot! Trust me, we traveled to Costa Rica (twice) in search of the perfect place for wedding. We searched up and down the coast of Costa Rica, looked at around 20 houses and hotels and we are so please with our choice of Villa Celaje and the rest of Montemer estates. We had our group spread out among the three houses, there was plenty of space, and the daily maid service kept the place spotless!

Like I mentioned earlier, we had the wedding ceremony and reception on the patio of Villa Celaje. Johan and Ingrid (our wedding planner who we also HIGHLY recommend) made our day so easy and stress free. Everything was taken care of and so beautiful.

As mentioned in other reviews, Johan (the property concierge) will go above and beyond to make everyone's stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. He and his crew will do all the heavy lifting, all the reservations, recommendations, all the ordering, truly anything you need.

I am hoping we can get back to Montemer some day..this place is truly magical. I could not have asked for a better place to have our wedding. It was the epitome of a dream com true.

Thank you Johan and the rest of the staff of Montemer! You made our week so special!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is beautiful and the staff is stellar.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan F
Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding House and Perfect for our Large Group”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We just returned home from Villa Celaje a few days ago and can’t wait to return. We have spent a year planning this vacation with extended family. There were seventeen in our group and the house was all that we could have imagined and more. The pictures of the house that you see when planning your trip are accurate, however pictures do not do the house or the views justice…Villa Celaje is an outstanding residence! All seventeen of us fit comfortably in the house. There was so much common area that we never felt as though we were cramped. Each evening we gathered on the deck and in the pool to watch the sunset and each one got better and better. We were at the house on New Year’s Eve and it was quite a treat watching the many firework displays from the towns/resorts below.

While the house was really magnificent, what really made our trip were the incredible were the people we met at the house. Tatiana came in every morning with a smile to do the housekeeping – she was so thorough and friendly – it felt like we were staying in a hotel. Prior to the trip we had signed up for chef service for two of our dinners, after the first dinner we asked if they could come back for a third. Michael and William were excellent! Each dinner we had was absolutely delicious and it made it much easier for our group of seventeen to dine together rather than go out. Michael did a wonderful job in the kitchen and William was outstanding with service…meeting them was a highlight of our trip!!

Finally, I had the pleasure of working with Johan to coordinate all the details of our trip. We stayed during the holiday week and because of the large amount of visitors to the area most aspects of our trip had to be booked prior to our arrival. Johan handled everything from transportation to/from San Jose, groceries for the house upon arrival, car rental, excursion reservations, restaurant reservations and the private chefs. Coordinating a trip for seventeen people ranging in ages from 22-70 was quite daunting, but having Johan’s help made the trip seamless! There was not one glitch or issue that came up during our time there. Johan was extremely responsive in the planning process and every one of our excursions that he booked was perfect. Our group did whitewater rafting, surf lessons, zip-lining and a sunset sail. He even recommended a beach that was more of a local beach past Manuel Antonio and we all enjoyed the surf! Many of us opted for a park tour, but we did it on our own without a guide and that was fine. The house has great restaurant recommendations as well and the groceries stores in Quepos are accessible by car.

Villa Celaje is perfect for a large group like ours – we never would have experienced all that Manuel Antonio/Quepos had to offer without the guidance of Johan. Everything about the trip was simply outstanding! We can’t wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresane...
Edmonds, Washington
2 reviews
“Best Vacation EVER!”
Reviewed December 11, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Casa Marbella was first class accommodations. The home was exquisite down to every detail. We felt like we were living the life of the rich and famous, especially with the 5 star service. We had lovely household help and concierge service 24/7. Whatever our needs were, they were covered. We had assistance with lost luggage, medical issues, planning and organizing trips, and whatever else we needed. The location on the hilltop provided privacy and plenty of bird and animal observation. We had a lovely sloth munching in a tree, monkeys, Iguanas and beautiful birds and butterflies, right off any of our beautiful decks. Manuel Antonio has a lovely beach, great National Park and plenty of great restaurants. I hope one day to return. It was a huge memory for myself and family members.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing