We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem!”
other travelers have booked this property
King bed, A/C, Kitchen, Living room area, WiFi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
King bed, A/C, Kitchen, Living room area, WiFi
Living room area of El Gekko
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
King bed, A/C, Kitchen, Living room area, WiFi
Living room area of El Gekko
Entrance steps from pool
Table under Rancho
Bathroom with large shower
White Face Monkey
Titi Monkeys hanging at the pool
Beach
Beach
Park and Main beach
Suzie, our very friendly dog
Mother and baby Sloth that lives in the trees by the pool
Front of Jungle Creek
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lesliechf
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My granddaughter and I stayed at Jungle Creek during the third week of October 2017 in the giant studio unit called El Geeko. The point of a studio is to allow you to use a kitchenette for meals or snacks. With rainy season activities being scheduled for the morning, it was convenient for preparing a light breakfast every day. They have a gas grill on the huge patio, which we utilized for cooking out one night. That was a fun and relaxing evening activity.
My granddaughter swam in the sparking pool every evening which was a refreshing end to an adventure filled day and I hung out looking for macaws, monkeys, iguanas and other interesting creatures. The giant patio is tucked right into the jungle and there was plenty of animal action!
Paula and Clark own Jungle Creek and were delightful hosts. Paula booked tours for us and recommended restaurants for local dining. She definitely had the inside edge on what and where things were happening in Manuel Antonio!
Communication with them was so easy since they are Canadians and Paula was quick with all things digital.
Their manager, Luis, was incredibly nice and spoke English very well. He was our main source of fascinsting info on Costa Rica’s history and culture.
Our studio was immaculate, and in fact, Jungle Creek was in top shape with beautiful grounds. If you wonder if the pictures in their ad are accurate, well they absolutely are. Jungle Creek is truly a hidden gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pam_redbo...
norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed February 10, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

for the most part, this property lived up to our expectations. el gekko is the smallest of four units on the site, being a studio with kitchen area, dining space, king-sized bed and a sitting area. there is plenty of hanging space and storage, including enough to store empty suitcases out of sight. the bathroom is compact, but it works for two people. it is right on the poolside.

the hosts, paula and clark, are friendly and welcoming. all the staff are pleasant and friendly. the unit and the property as a whole are kept clean and tidy. the property is a five-minute walk down an unmade road to the local bus route, which shuttles between manuel antonio and quepos, where longer-distance buses can be picked up.

we [couple, early 60's] stayed 15 nights. we had a rental vehicle. our primary purpose for the trip was bird watching.

paula met us on arrival, showed us around, then left us to it. we drove back into quepos and stocked up on food, then settled in. we were so tired, we were in bed by 8 p.m. the bed was very comfortable, and the mattress very similar to ours at home. next morning, we were up at 5 a.m. and started investigating the local bird life. the birding on the property was extremely good, over two weeks we saw a great number of species, including the local 'stars' - scarlet macaws and black-mandibled toucans - either on or from the property. we also saw all three local monkey species, though i suspect they are being fed 'treats' which i cannot approve of.

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowTopic-g291982-i813-k7012807-Ten_Reasons_Not_to_Feed_the_Monkeys-Costa_Rica.html

throughout our stay, we were up by 6 a.m. and turned in by 10p.m. this worked for us, but a lot would depend on the other guests, i feel. our nearest 'neighbours' were young families who kept similar hours. the pool terrace area 'closes' at 10 p.m.

personally, there was little to attract me to manuel antonio, and i would not have enjoyed the stay if we had not had a car. we spent more time in the little town of quepos. we found a good, clean, supermarket there called 'super jordix'. better than the mini and maxi palli branches which were dark and dismal. we ate out only a few times, at la cantina [expensive and not fabulous] and barbar roja which was very good, and recommended by paula. we also found la cocina in quepos to be excellent, clean, and good value.

we had a few little issues. when i booked - this site said smoking was allowed 'outside'. i had anticipated that this meant outside the room. but it actually means 'outside the locked property gate on a bench in the road'. i was disappointed in this - i had booked self-catering accommodation simply because the smoking laws do not apply to them. so - if you are smokers - be aware, it is out in the naughty corner for you! that said - our best birding was from that bench in the early mornings.

also, this site led me to believe there was a washer/dryer for the use of this unit. this is not the case, though paula made arrangements for me to do laundry. there is absolutely nowhere to fix a line indoors, to dry a few bits, and nowhere to hang wet swimwear. we draped ours over the pool railing, but it isn't ideal. a folding airer might help.

the plumbing is idiosyncratic - the filling of the lavatory is enough to wake the dead. occasionally the tank went on filling - to cure this you must return the flush handle to 'up' manually. so don't flush and go out - it will still be filling when you get back! the shower has good pressure, but we had to unscrew the head and empty it of sand twice during our stay. the hot water is brief, due to a small tank, not even enough to fill the kitchen sink to do dishes in one go.

the twice-weekly cleaning is good, the towel supply plentiful, but i feel bed-linen could be changed mid week too [pillow cases at least].

overall, we enjoyed our stay very much. paula was approachable and helpful both before and during our stay, arranging trips and even helping my son surprise his dad with a birthday gift. we would stay here again, the good points were plentiful and the niggles few. but best of all were the birds!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the birds
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archer376...
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING! BEST VALUE, QUALITY AND HOSPITALITY!”
Reviewed January 23, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Jungle Creek for our honeymoon. From the time we reserved the room in early October, Paula, the owner would respond to email questions within an hour or two and was soooooo incredibly helpful with setting up activities and trips for us to do while in Costa Rica. She knew all of the best people to go to for certain activities and I am sure she spent hours trying to help make our trip incredible, which it was. We were personally greeted by Paula, she had a guest basket waiting for us in our spacious 300sq ft air conditioned apartment. She continued to be helpful and so friendly throughout the trip and the little place felt like a home. The location is excellent for catching the local bus and is within 5 minutes bus ride of the beach, fishing, the park, restaurants, ect. All tour pick you up from the hotel. We would go back in a heart beat!!!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian P
Antigonish, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You couldn't ask for more!!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Costa Rica is not an idlers vacation. There is so much to do and so much to see it helps to have a super comfy place and some one to help with arrangements. Paula and Clarke moved here from the Canadian Prairie and made it their mission to provide the best, most welcoming environment available. They picked Manual Antonio because it has everything to offer. They bought this beautiful little resort just two blocks off the main road and that's made all the difference. The resort has only four suites and sleeps eighteen, so it's never over crowded. But it's actually right on the edge of the national park, in Costa Rica that means your in the jungle as the name implies. Comfy welcoming and off the main drag, good place to start. But Paula and Clarke take it one step further. They have checked out every restaurant, and every adventure product offered, they know which ones you are going to love. They even do the booking for you to alleviate any confusion around time, date, location or language. They took care of us as if we were long time friends and now we definitely are. All the best to visitors and guest at Jungle Creek and all the best to Paula and Clarke.

Love you Guys

Brian and Beth

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Host and the monkeys
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing