We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Over the moon about Mango Moon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Moon Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mango Moon Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Over the moon about Mango Moon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Since our group of 4 did not have a car, our criteria for a hotel was walking distance to restaurants, as close to the beach as possible (most of Manuel Antonio is up on a hill above the beach), and third was a pool if possible. Mango Moon was all of this and more! The hotel has walking trails to two beaches; one-the private Mango Moon beach is a beautiful ~15 min walk to a white sand beach with gentle waves perfect for swimming. The other is the less busy northwestern end of the main Espadilla Beach, also a ~15 min walk or ~10 min taxi to the south end with access to restaurants, beach vendors, and surf school or boogey board rental.

We stayed in the Iguana Pad. Excellent AC in both bedrooms, hot water showers, and very clean. All of the rooms appeared to have ocean views so I don't think you can go wrong. The pool and open air restaurant/bar also overlooked the pool and ocean and the food was excellent. Try the Mango-tini! There was an excellent guitar player one night. The music ended at 9:00 so we did not have problems with music noise that other reviews mention. All of the staff were super friendly without exception, and spoke good English and were very helpful in arranging adventures for our group.

TIP: We flew out of Quepos Airport (~15 min taxi ride) on Sansa Airline. For $50 a person and 25 min flight to San Jose it gave us awesome views over the beaches, palm plantations and approach into San Jose and allowed us to spend a few more hours at Mango Moon. I highly recommend flying as an additional adventure!

Room Tip: The 3 second floor rooms (Iguana Pad, Sloth Shanty and the third) had two bedrooms. Be aware that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    103
    25
    21
    15
See reviews for
96
240
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This place seemed much better than most in the area. Because a better room was available we were immediately upgraded (no extra cost) upon check in.

Lovely views
Nice small pool
Good food (although rather expensive)
Amazingly friendly staff
Great trips offered.
Lovely live folk music

The only problem was the live music was very loud and even when you retired to your room you could still here it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Em_Grimwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The people who work at the Hotel Mango Moon and at the Dos Lobos Restaurant down stairs are the best. They are friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the local area. The hotel is very clean and well-maintained. It has a beautiful view of the beach, and is a quick and easy bus ride to either Quepos or the Manuel Antonio Park. This is a great little independently-owned hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 151Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Mango Moon was really the paradise. Got a nice ocean view that gives you a chance to spot whales and dolphins if you are lucky. Monkeys, sloths, and lizards are very common visitor of the hotel as well. It has got a nice small swimming pool with cozy beach chairs with nice and cool water, which was very nice to cool down our sweat after a long walk in a National Park etc.

I visited with my 5 year old daughter who made quite many friends with other guests during our 4 nights stay and the stuff here were very friendly to her as well. Food here was very nice especially we loved their juice with fresh fruits available, also Gallo Pint breakfast with eggs and fried bananas which was included in our stay.

We had reserved this place through our travel agent and they actually reserved a room with only one Queen sized bed (though it seemed smaller than queen size) and that was not big enough for two of us. I expressed the concern to one of the managers at the hotel and she nicely negotiated with our travel agent and gave us a Suite room with a Ocean view with no extra charge!

I really feel it was good that we visited during Green Season (August 2013). Less people, less price and better service. We actually loved the tropical rain that regularly started from 3pm every day that actually gave us a great downtime and rhythm and cooled down the temperature. Monkeys always visited the hotel during the rain as well.

Only thing I would warn travelers especially with kids is that the hotel has Live Band performance (playing mostly western '80s songs in English, few Spanish songs) every night from around 5 until 9pm. Since this Hotel is a 3 story building with the restaurant (Live is held) on the mid floor, you will hear lots of noise during the live music depends on the location of your room. "Sloth Shanty" room is the one we stayed and it was directly below the stage on the restaurant floor, the noise was very annoying. Luckily enough my daughter is a deep sleeper, she did not wake up from the noise. So if you want either quiet night or stay with sensitive sleepers (well since most of the traveler leaves early for jungle walk etc, I assume you go to bed early), pick the room very carefully or ask if they have a night live show.

Room Tip: Any "Ocean View" rooms, especially on a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shinya Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights while in Manuel Antonio and were very happy that we did. The hotel has happy hour from 4-6 everyday and makes really good strong drinks. Their food was also delicious, especially the omelettes at breakfast. The view is just unbelievable. If having a drink while watching the sunset isn't amazing enough, add monkeys to the picture. There is a family of monkeys that hangs around this hotel and puts on a show in the trees and on the roof for the guests multiple times daily. We got better pictures of the monkeys at the hotel than anywhere else on our trip. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and helpful. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. My only complaint would be that our matress in the Titi Tiki room was a bit uncomfortable (my family was in Howler Hangout and had no problem with their mattress) and the monkeys decided they needed to wake us up at 5 in the morning by running and dropping fruit on our tin roof. But everything else at this hotel more than made up for those minor issues. I would definitely stay here again. It is such a great value for the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Historygirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

A lovely setting where you feel more like a family residence than a hotel or B&B. Only warning would be the monkeys can be a bit noisey early in the morning on the roof, but that was a small price for the pictures we got of them.

Some of the rooms look a little small, so perhaps check on the size of your room....

If you're looking for a more formal hotel experience then look elsewhere, but that doesn't mean we didn't get great service and the food was great.

We had a great time and would definately come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZEndeavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This was booked for us and we have had an enjoyable few days. The staff were really friendly and the chef adapted the menu to cater for my wheat allergy with no issues. The food was excellent and we had breakfast, lunch and dinner during our stay. Meals and drinks were reasonably priced.

The setting is great with views of the pacific and plenty of bush to be entertained by the monkeys each day. The hotel is off the main road however the cost of taxis and buses mean this isn't a problem.

Only warning be aware of the size of the room you book. Our initial room was really tiny however we paid the extra for a bigger room.

Would return here if ever back and certainly hope to be.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fennz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#29 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.5 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Moon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Moon Villa

Property: Mango Moon Villa
Address: 100 Meters Past La Mariposa Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Moon Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a bluff overlooking the shimmering waters of the Pacific, nestled in a lush tropical rainforest with unparallel ocean and sunset views, you will find a mango kissed hotel that beckons your stay. Mango Moon Intimate Boutique Hotel is located in a pristine area of Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica where monkeys and birds awaken your mornings and the gecko's and sounds of waves lull you to sleep at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mango Moon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Moon Hotel
Mango Moon Villa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing