We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and Intimate Hotel”
Review of Mango Moon Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mango Moon Villa
Ranked #23 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Herndon, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing and Intimate Hotel”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a fabulous boutique hotel where the owner welcomed us herself as we checked in. The ambiance gives you a feeling of home especially with the 2 dogs and 2 cats that welcome you. Not to mention the staff treats you like a member of the family. The owner even let us borrow a cooler so we could take a few beers with us down to the beach. The view from the rooms and the pool patio of the ocean is beautiful. The food is good with offerings of traditional Costa Rican breakfast options and some nice local freshly caught seafood selections for dinner. We got to see monkeys swinging by as we chatted comfortably over a few beers at the bar. The Mango Moon is also a short walk (15-20min) down to the beach or a short drive to the main beach (5-10min). Manuel Antonio National Park is also a short drive away (5-10min). Evenings of live music gives you the option of local entertainment without having to leave the comforts of the hotel. A must stay place if visiting Manuel Antonio.

Our rooms were very comfy, especially for 3. We had a "master" suite attached to an additional room with 2 day beds.

Cafe Aqua Azul is a fabulous place to check out for dinner that's a short walk away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnaidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    106
    26
    22
    15
See reviews for
97
250
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at a casa down the road, and learned they had live music on Tue / Thur nights, at the Mango Moon, Dos Lobos Bar and Grill.
If you play guitar and can sing, you gotta stop by on Thursday nights. Ben"jammin" Norton was gracious enough to let me play his takemine 12 string, while he provided awesome lead on his Taylor 6 string. Soon, a harmonica and bongos joined in.
Don't tell Donna that her mom buys drinks for all the brave souls who play.
My wife said I was up there, smiling ear to ear, for over an hour.

Laissez les bons temps rouler, I mean Pura Vida!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank J David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a very nice stay at Mango Moon. The rooms felt a little small at first, but the place very quickly grew on us. Everyone working there was very accommodating. We felt a little like family. And we loved that from our balcony we saw sloths, howler and capuchin monkeys. Breakfast each morning was nice, the food is pretty good, the bar is convenient, the live music is fun, the central location is great, and the unadvertised trails below the establishment are a great place to hunt privately for local fauna. We saw monkeys, sloths, and beautiful butterflies on those trails; others saw toucans too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington NC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Mango Moon is a charming "botique" hotel located very conveniently near Manual Antonio National Park and the coastal town of Quepos. The breakfasts were lovely on the patio overlooking a beautiful bay. Don't miss an evening of live music and the yummy tapas menu if it is scheduled during your stay. There is a lovely small pool for sunning, relaxation, reading, or enjoying a nice cool-off. The front desk arranged a wonderful guide (Freddie) for a tour of Manual Antonio; we would not have seen the park's bird, insect, reptile, and wildlife had it not been for our excellent spotter. I highly recommend the Mango Moon if you have a car. Without a car, it would be quite a hilly walk to/from the beach, although possible.

Room Tip: Book a room on the terrace/ocean side if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieBWilmingtonNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a return visit for us. My husband and I stayed at the Mango Moon 7 years ago and fell in love with the place. We were excited to return with our extended family. For the most part, we were not disappointed.

Our family of four stayed in the Gecko Suite. We should have asked more questions about the second room. It was located over the front door and our two adult children heard people being buzzed into the hotel late at night. My stepdaughter had difficulty sleeping on the day bed mattress. I would appreciate it if they would put a shower caddy in the shower. Our soap and shampoo had to sit on the floor.

Our relatives stayed in the Howler Hangout. Though a nice big room, their air conditioner did not work 3 out of 5 nights. The heat and humidity was insufferable, making sleep for them nearly impossible.

That being said, there were a lot of positives. Donna and her staff were most accommodating. They arranged transport to and from San Jose and one of our tours. Our meals were tasty. New this time was lunch and dinner being served. That was a plus if you didn't want to walk up the hill to another spot.

The monkeys were fabulous. We saw capuchin and howler monkeys. The last morning there was a tribe of 15 to 20 howler monkeys that spent about 5 hours frolicking in the trees for our visual pleasure. We were sorry the squirrel monkeys did not make an appearance as they were our favorite on our last visit.

The view is stupendous. This time we hiked down to the beach to view the prehistoric turtle traps Donna told us about. It is worth the hike--pretty beach, very little people.

We would recommend Iquana tours, the Hotel Mariposa for a sunset dinner and cocktails, Cafe Milagro, and Victoria's.

This is not the most luxurious hotel, but if you want to see native wildlife in their natural habitat, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuttie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel has a very attractive look, the staff are really good friendly people they made all the difference. The food menu needs to be broader as it’s limited. The drinks were really good, lots of fresh juices; don't be afraid to try the Cacique the local liquor it’s a blast! The room had a great view of the ocean and the pool, it was kept clean and the hotel felt good and safe.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffM1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel is rustic, small and a little run down, but it offers an incredible view of the Pacific and it's conveniently located within walking distance of restaurants, bars and the bus stop. We loved the fact that it was in the direct path of a pack of White-throated Capucin monkeys that made their way through the connecting mango trees up and down the hill every morning and afternoon. From our balcony we enjoyed magnificent sunsets, a variety of birds and were visited by the tiny Squirrel Monkeys. All in all it was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Toucan Terrace is on the second floor and has a great view of the Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEMiami2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.3 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
1.5 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.3 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#21 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
375 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Moon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Moon Villa

Property: Mango Moon Villa
Address: 100 Meters Past La Mariposa Hotel, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Moon Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a bluff overlooking the shimmering waters of the Pacific, nestled in a lush tropical rainforest with unparallel ocean and sunset views, you will find a mango kissed hotel that beckons your stay. Mango Moon Intimate Boutique Hotel is located in a pristine area of Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica where monkeys and birds awaken your mornings and the gecko's and sounds of waves lull you to sleep at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mango Moon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Moon Hotel
Mango Moon Villa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing