We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting twist on typical tours”
Review of KSTR Monkey Tour

KSTR Monkey Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Special Wildlife Tour is from 9 AM until 11 AM on Mondays, Weds, Fridays and Sundays. Our tour is given by the Animal Caretakers in the Wildlife Sanctuary and includes a snack at the end of the tour. (Special tours can be arranged for groups by appointment only.) You will see the following animals in the Sanctuary: • Spider monkeys • White Faced Monkeys • Squirrel Monkeys • Tamarins • Marmosets • Nocturnal Kinkajou (if he is awake) • Parrots • Porcupine • Our multi-species enclosure which is the largest in Central America where humans walk through a cage inside of the enclosure so that the monkeys climb all around you. This newly expanded tour includes our Vet Tech feeding rescue animals that are not normally seen by the public due to the fact that they will be released back into the rainforest. Our Vet Tech will also give a talk and take questions about the animal being shown (through a glass wall for the animal's protection). Animals being shown could vary, so when you book your tour feel free to ask what animal you will get to view. Suggested Donation for the tour is suggested $40 for adults, $25 for kids (under18). The person booking the tour needs to take a deposit of $5 per person to confirm the tour. The people taking the tour will give the money to the Zoo Keeper at the end of the tour, either cash or credit card (a 13% tax will be added when using a credit card). To book a tour, please call or speak to your receptionist. Please be sure to book 48 hours prior to the tour. Sometimes emails take awhile to arrive and we want to make sure we are prepared. We will confirm with you, prior to the tour. The tour meets in the lobby with the glass enclosed computer room, at 9 AM. Here are more details about this tour: You will get to watch the animals in our sanctuary plus: Learn about the monkeys in our sanctuary Learn a little history about each of them
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting twist on typical tours”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This tour is not for everyone and you have to be interesting in conservation and preservation of nature. We loved it because it is very different than anything else we have experienced. We learned a lot about their work and about the many dangers these animals encounter. It was interesting!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank perkyems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My GF and I visited in June of this year, had a very nice time. Barb was our guide and we found her friendly, affable, informative, and passionate about the work that the center does.

They have quite the variety of monkeys and birds to view--yes they are in cages but there's no mistaking you get a great close up view of marmosets, spider monkeys, squirrel monkeys, and white faced--they seemed just as interested in us, quite frankly! Really, the $40 donation per person was more than reasonable considering the great work they do, and she spent a lot of time with us not only educating us about the different species but just chatting about Costa Rica in general. We had a very nice time!

We followed the directions given on the Blue Banyon Inn website, they were very precise. We had a gps but didn't even need it. It's about 15-20 minutes outside of Quepos. A great way to spend a morning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youpiou
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good visit to see little monkeys”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Consider the price (45$ for non-residents at blue banyan inn) as a donation for their center.
Your experience will totally depend of the guide you'll get for the tour.

Explanations are quite long when you wait under the costa rican hot sun. Especially when the guide insists how much he loves to touch the monkeys, what is allowed for him, but you cannot.

We were a bit disappointed to see only animals in cages, which won't never be released, and 2 babies far behind a glass.

To conclude, if you want to make a charity donation and see some monkeys at the same time, you're at the right place.

Helpful?
2 Thank youpiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBIHostess, Manager at KSTR Monkey Tour, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Correction about pricing: It's $40/adults and $25/kids

The animals are in cages for your safety. Although the animals are quite used to the staff, they are still wild animals and we have to be careful.
The animals in the sanctuary were either illegal pets or injured and therefore can not be returned back into the wild. All of the animals in our rescue will be returned to the rainforest as soon as they are well enough to be released.

That particular tour guide has been suspended until further notice due to his comments.
Thanks for your review and visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very good - Could be even better”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and three kids went there. Those people are clearly dedicated to help the wounded animals and this is remarkable, they are also very nice.
If you are passionate of the subject, go there. If you are only "a bit" interested, you might find the explanations given by the staff a bit lengthy. I know i know ... how can i state that, all this is fascinating ... but for us the time spent on each animal was just a bit too long (add to this that it was a hot day). What we all liked at the end, back at the lodge a few hundred meters away from the refugee, is that we were able to stay a bit there - the lodge with its garden and the pool is beautiful. I wish we had arranged to stay there for the night. This place reminded me a bit the Macaw lodge (see other review).

Suggestions for improvements:
1- We were asked to pay at the linked-hotel in town a booking fee (about USD10 per person, fair). When we showed up with C Card, they said they could not take it (though they have obviously a C card at the hotel) - strange.

2- reaching the place: At the hotel in town, staff kindly gave us a map to reach the refugee (about 20 minute away). So we drove there, map was very useful ... except for the last 500 meters where no indication on the map, nor on the road. We lost 15 minutes taking wrong intersections. i kindly advise the staff to make it simpler for the next tourists.

3- Time spent on each cage / animal:
Maybe to be adapted to the audience. Could be very long for experts, or a bit shorter for others.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank afderoide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBIHostess, Manager at KSTR Monkey Tour, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
We do accept credit card but if ICE the electric company shuts off the power to coat the wires to prevent animals from getting electrocuted, we have no control over that. So I'm pretty sure that's why our credit card machine was not working at the time.

We also do ask for a $5 deposit per person to be paid in advance due to a lot of no shows who book.

Signs are going up to direct tourist towards us more clearly,

We apologize for the lengthiness since I know all of our tour guides have different styles but I will inform them of it ,so you don't get bored b/c we want you to go away with more knowledge about what we do and spread the word!

Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
160 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“These folks are doing good work and doing it well”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The KSTR Monkey tour is way out in the middle of nowhere and very hard to find. Our GPS (we had to input the name of the associated "hotel", the Blue Banyan Inn) took us the long way around and onto some unmapped and unpaved roads. We had to stop twice and ask directions of local folks. Get good directions before going and don't go through Naranjito! Once there we found it to be a very pleasant little place with lovely personable folks (all NorteAmericanos by chance) who both volunteer there and guide their visitors around. They only give tours three days a week from 9-11 and the day we were there we were the only 6 visitors. We got to see an adorable baby sloth and a baby anteater behind a pane of glass in the animal clinic. Then we saw several types of monkeys most of whom for some reason or other were not candidates to be rehabilitated and released back into the wild...the prime objective of the refuge. Our guide did get us close to the marmosets, Titi monkeys, Capuchin monkeys and Spider Monkeys as well as a couple of Kinkajous. More importantly rather than just looking at caged animals, our guide knew much of each animal's personal history and much about their personalities and likes and dislikes. The tour was most informative and educations and it held the attention of the two 7 year olds in our party. The tour ended with some lovely refreshments. We enjoyed it and could recommend it to others.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBIHostess, Manager at KSTR Monkey Tour, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Correction: Our tour is given 4 days a week not 3 days a week.

I agree that we are hard to find and some how we need to tell folks "DO NOT USE YOUR GPS" to find us because it will take you the long way and possibly lost if you do use it.

The reason why the animals are in the sanctuary is because they are not releasable due to being illegal pets or have some handicap that permits them from being returned to the wild. All of the animals in our rescue center will be returned to the wild.

Our sanctuary is about educating folks on why they are here and what people can do to help to help the animals of the rainforest.

Thank you for this review and coming to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KSTR Monkey Tour also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to KSTR Monkey Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing