We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our own heaven in the jungle”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prana Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
marcello forte
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“our own heaven in the jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

this is a bit overdue but needed to take a moment to write a review of Prana Rainforest Retreat. i searched for hours night after night looking for what i had in mind for our trip to costa rica. we wanted our own place with privacy but we also wanted some services Then we found Prana - sounded perfect.... and it was!!!!!

the home we stayed in was beautiful. windows everywhere, views of the jungle, really no reason to leave. complete privacy.. who needs a bathing suit when you have your own pool. and amazing hosts. mark and jon provided great advise when needed, amazing daily massages at whatever time we wanted, a private yoga class and the FOOD... THE FOOD. I regret every bite we didn't finish. Breakfast was an amazing way to start each day. We had a few meals in town which were ok but when there is food like this at home why go out. we had one dinner in our house where the meal was delivered and set up in our dinning room. our last night we had a special birthday dinner for my partner where we were served each meal and our wine glass never emptied. these meals were the best of our trip. to be honest i wish we had more diners in and not wasted our time and money trying to get a good meal elsewhere. Mark also provided homemade products. Natural mouth wash that was amazing, aloe cream for my sun burn, and drops for swimmers ear when my partner needed it. want to treat yourself to your own private retreat with all the add-ons you could want.... Prana Rainforest Retreat.. look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelloforte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had such a great time at Prana Rainforest Retreat that I'm having trouble deciding where to start...seven days was not enough. I have been on vacations where I really enjoyed myself, but by the end, I was ready to go home, but at Prana, I did not want to leave. This place is Paradise.

Mark and Jon met us at the Quepos airport and gave a quick tour of town as we were taken to our private paradise. When we arrived, were were treated to a group of monkeys traveling through the edge of Manuel Antonio National Park, our first of many jaw dropping moments during our stay. We saw toucans, howler monkeys, a sloth, birds of every hue and such lush, verdant flora as we have ever seen. Mark and Jon are both quite knowledgeable about the wildlife and beautiful surroundings and are happy to answer any questions.

Our accommodations were luxurious, peaceful and very private. A wrap around view of the forest, a large relaxing shower with pool view and a bed that tops off your perfect evening.

Breakfast each morning was divine. I'm not exaggerating. The sweetest pineapple and mango I've ever eaten followed by something new and delectable each day.

We booked a couples massage and experienced what a true quality massage is like. A tranquil setting with gentle rainfall, the sound of the waterfall and nature all around. I was so relaxed I didn't want the experience to end.

And did I mention privacy? I don't know how they do it, but your needs are met without ever feeling as though your privacy and tranquility has been disturbed.

If you want to escape and experience a place where you can relax and recharge, I highly recommend Prana Rainforest Retreat.

Mark and Jon, thanks again for everything. You made our trip to Costa Rica priceless!

Tim

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The 7 days we spent at "Casa Prana" were fantastic. This is an ideal place if you and your partner are looking for something a little more private than the usual hotel options. The property is beautiful, tastefully decorated and feels incredibly secluded. Take a seat by your pool and watch the monkeys, sloths and toucans, or hop in the car and take a short drive down to the beach or one of the local restaurants, which are plentiful and cheap and never more than a few minutes away.
Mark and Jon are perfect hosts, happy to plan excursions and provide you with all the info you need, be it about local customs, flora and fauna, or great places to eat. Breakfasts were delicious, made from locally sourced ingredients, lots of them grown on site. And the massages were wonderful. Being pampered on the deck, listening to the waters running below you mixed with the rumble of an evening rainstorm - it really doesn't get any better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My partner and I just returned from a visit to Manuel Antonio. We have enjoyed the Prana Spa in Key West and were delighted to find that Mark and Jon had transplanted to Costa Rica and decided to book a massage and check out their retreat in the rainforest. We could not imagine a more beautiful setting and were very impressed by the serenity of the property. The guest property is very impressive if only for its spacious luxurious simplicity. We treated ourselves to a wonderful massage in a the most beautiful setting, surrounded by the sounds of nature typically experienced through the soundtrack at a traditional spa. Jon and Mark made us feel very welcome and could not have been more accommodating. We look forward to visiting and spending more time at their peaceful retreat on our next annual visit to beautiful Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjk16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just came back from a week stay at the Prana Rainforest Retreat. A dream come true!

Being pampered by two excellent hosts, we enjoyed customized breakfasts made from fresh and natural ingredients, some grown right on the property, daily massages in a very relaxing environment surrounded by the beauty of the Manuel Antonio National Park and its fauna and excellent restaurants and activity recommendations (our hosts have arranged for a private horse-riding and rafting day).

We stayed in the private villa in the middle of the Costa Rican jungle. The accommodation is outstanding. We've been amazed by the high quality of the décor and the attention to details. From taking a shower almost in the middle of the jungle where we could observe the monkeys playing around in the trees to a dip in our private pool at any time, our privacy was always respected. It was like living in our own place. Equipped with an alarm system, a safe, a little wet bar, microwave, coffee machine and Wi-Fi, everything is there to fulfill our needs.

The "one couple at the time" formula allows to have all the attention you need and experience really personalized service. We were asked about our personal tastes, allergies or dislikes in order to prepare the food according to our preferences always using the fresher and best ingredients available. The last night, we even asked to be served dinner at the property. It ended up being the best dinner we had over the week, having experienced the best places of Manuel Antonio. What a dinner! You must try the "Yoko Ono tuna" Not only was the food amazing, our wine glass never got empty before being refilled, the soft music in the background was of excellent taste and just at the right sound level. It was a dream dinner by the poolside.

The massages were a pure bliss! Whether we chose the Thai massage or the deep tissue one, they were perfectly executed and very soothing. It added to the relaxing mood of the jungle villa.

If you are looking for a romantic couple vacation, this is the best place you can find in Costa Rica! The catering to your ever need, the privacy of your own villa, the scenery of the jungle at your feet and the attention you get by your hosts will make this the perfect vacation for any couple. Being in the customer service industry for more than 24 years, I can assure you that this is true luxury and true customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The bungalow was fantastic. Not only were we immersed in the jungle with monkeys making nightly visits in the distance but the location is so accessible to the beach and other exciting activities. The luxury is in the details. Each inch of the house is perfected. The space is immaculate and you are wrapped in the beauty of costa rica. During our stay we had wonderful food, the most fantastic service and we were able to get the information we needed to make this a vacation of a lifetime! I would return hands down. The only downfall was leaving.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandoncardet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed at Prana Rainforest Retreat this past August and it was as much an adventure as a luxurious relaxing getaway! The accommodations are located in the middle of the Manuel Antonio National Park, which means every morning when you wake up, you not only hear the sounds of the jungle, but actually see up close monkeys, sloths, gorgeous birds and more! I'd take a swim in the infinity pool every morning, come up for a breathe of air and get caught watching monkeys jumping from trees and gathering food - VERY COOL!

Every day we went on a new activity - hiking through the rainforest and nearbye waterfalls over bridges one day to lounging on a peaceful nearby beach the next. Also make sure you have them take you to white water raft down the mountain - so much fun!

The delicious meals that were served were all created based on our diet, likes and dislikes. We loved EVERYTHING prepared! In addition, the restaurants they recommended and took us to were phenomenal!

Make sure to do yoga and massage while you are there - there is a platform near a waterfall down from the Guest House where you can practice and get treatments.

The accommodation was stunning! A guest house with its own private pool, massive shower, comfortable bed and sitting area with a day bed all surrounded by windows facing the rainforest.

Overall, this would be the perfect escape for a couple who wants to be pampered and spend time together or a great getaway for a small group of friends!

LOVED IT!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.9 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prana Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prana Rainforest Retreat

Property: Prana Rainforest Retreat
Address: 7 Colina Monito Rd., Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique and romantic Modern Bali style Bed and Breakfast Retreat. Private pools, yoga deck next to our waterfall, all surrounded by Manuel Antonio National Park. Expert massage therapy, yoga and exotic gourmet cuisine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prana Rainforest Retreat Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing