We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, very friendly service”
Review of El Gato Pescador - CLOSED

El Gato Pescador
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Seafood, American, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic fish & chips, all local ingredients, made fresh to order, our fish is beer battered, choose filet, fish balls or shrimp,choose tartar or chipotle sauce, combos served with cole slaw, choose fries or onion rings.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, very friendly service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was one of the most reasonably priced meals of our trip, and the staff went out of their way to help us, even giving us a natural sunburn remedy for our red skin.

The fish balls and tacos were tasty, especially with lime and the chipotle sauce. Great onion rings too!

The restaurant has great décor and is clean and welcoming.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathleenWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    56
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“GREAT FOOD!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We liked this place so much that we went back on our last night and tried it again! On our first night, we were greeted by the owner, Jarek (ya - rek). We ordered the sampler for 2 and it was delicious!! We had a good conversation with Jarek and he offered a starfruit from the tree outback and then gave me a private tour of the mango and starfruit tree! We missed the crowd on both nights. Jarek's attitude and easy going personality helps entertain the customers and his employees are locals who know the town quiet well. I would highly recommend stopping by if you are in Manuel Antonio. This is a small place so they get busy quiet easy. They also deliver!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TwoToedSloth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tasty food”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I was not in the mood for fish, but having not had fish yet in Costa Rica this place sufficed. It's fried fish and few varieties at that, tacos, filets, fish balls. It all tasted very good. The food was well prepared not over/under cooked. The price was the lowest around the 6-10 restaurants nearby. Not much for atmosphere but you aren't paying twice as much either. Very friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Thisonelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OMG awesome food!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

All I can say is Wow! We stayed at Casa Bella Vista right down the street from El Gato Pescador and were drawn in by the cute deodar and 40,s music playing. We ordered fish balls and French fries and was not disappointed. In fact we were so impressed that the next day we brought the whole family back. We enjoyed the very personable wait staff and met the sweet owner Sally. I would go back to Costa Rica tomorrow just to enjoy those darn fish balls. My mouth watering jus talking about it. They deliver!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisabeth50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“GO HERE!!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

One of the best and cheapest meals my husband and I have had while in Costa Rica. Our first stop in Manuel Antonio and it exceeded our expectations! Fishballs with chipotle sauce and onion rings were my fave but get the combo platter for two and try everything!! Am sad we might not have time to make it back!!

Helpful?
Thank skadetzfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gato Pescador also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing