We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise in Manuel Antonio”
Review of El Gato Pescador - CLOSED

El Gato Pescador
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Seafood, American, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Authentic fish & chips, all local ingredients, made fresh to order, our fish is beer battered, choose filet, fish balls or shrimp,choose tartar or chipotle sauce, combos served with cole slaw, choose fries or onion rings.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A surprise in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I never would have really noticed this tiny little place had it not been right next to where we were staying. But after a long day of exploring in Costa Rica, it was the simple, delicious meal that my family & I craved. It is fried, of course, but putting that fact aside, it was amazing! Great for kids, too. Not much fancy about the place, but just good, simple fried fish. And its location right on the main road by a bus stop makes it great for people watching. Definitely 1 of those little surprises that you can find in Costa Rica when you look for them.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    56
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
“great food and staff”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just stopped in on a whim on our last night in Manuel Antonio for a simple, relaxed meal. The fish, chips and onion rings we had were all delicious. The batter was light and crispy and the service was quick and friendly. The owner, who was a friendly german gentleman, chatted with us and provided friendly advice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kahner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Light & Tasty!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Best fried fish I have ever eaten! It was so good, I ate there twice. Their beer batter is superb. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. When you see the restaurant as you walk along the street, there is really nothing that would particularly draw you in...it's a whole in the wall with virtually no curb appeal. Trust me...if you enjoy fish and chips, this will be a rare treat and a delightful find!

Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish and chips, best onion rings ever”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We went there based on the many great reviews and got three double fish filets and french fries to bring back to our villa. It was enough for 6 of us. The fish was fresh and tasty and the fries were also great. We overheard another customer complimenting the owner about his fried onion rings (great sweet taste due to the onions being grown near San Jose), so we got an order and they were also great. We will go again this week. We chatted with the owner while our take-out was being prepared. Interesting and knowledgable guy who likes silent movies (being shown on the TV).

I also saw the review "Most awkward dine" at the lowest rating, and think the reviewer is on a different planet. Fortunately the other 99 reviews turned out to be right on the money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BernardNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fish tacos!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Had 3 tacos! So fresh and great fries too! Would benefit from coleslaw in the tacos imho. But still amazing. Downside is the fumes if the traffic passing by as you eat.

Helpful?
Thank alyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gato Pescador also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing